Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
How to convert vbulletin to UTF8 charset
timhj
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4

by timhj timhj is offline 23 Jun 2009
Rating: (1 vote - 1.00 average)

We've just successfully migrated a 6m post VB forum cross server and charset and as I spent a fair amount of time working this out I thought I'd share. There are apparently third party tools to do this but I've read mixed reviews about them.

I found a good step by step on the charset changeover here (http://megaz.arbuz.com/2009/04/09/co...letin-to-utf-8) though there are some errors in what he's done.

To manually make the transition on a linux box, you'll need shell access and here's what needs to be done...
  1. Shut-off forums in admin panel.
  2. Shell into your box and dump all the mysql data minus binary image data

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  3. Dump the image data

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  4. Convert all the characters in the data dump to UTF8 via iconv

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  5. Change the import script to make sure it imports as UTF8

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  6. Create your new database on the second server *Obviously make sure your new database is setup with UTF8 as the default collation*
  7. Import your converted dump into the db you just created.

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  8. Now if you've changed domains you'll need to update the settings tables... you can get away with the following - there's two db values you need to change first one is pretty simple:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  9. The second update is stored as a serilaized value in the datastore table so you need to do a bit of work to get the right return value:
    First grab the data you need to change from the old DB

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Grab the returning value and throw it in the following php (once you've changed the your new domain bits) script.. then grab the output:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  10. Update the datastore table with the output from the above script

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  11. Load up a clean vbulletin latest release in a new vhost on second server
  12. change the /includes/config.php on the new install to reflect the new environment
  13. run through the vbulletin upgrade process at newserver.xxx/install/upgrade.php (disregard warning about wrong version)
  14. Update thread counters (admin -> maintenance -> update counters -> thread then post)
  15. Go to admin panel -> address all issues. (if any hang, log out and in again and they will be shown again for you to run)
  16. If you can't login: Upload the DO_NOT_UPLOAD folder and reset the cookie_domain using the newserver.xxx/DO_NOT_UPLOAD/tools.php script
  17. If forum not displaying use the tools (and you've updated thread counts etc in admin/maintenance) reset the caches using the tools.php page
  18. update the default character set (Admin CP -> Languages & Phrases -> Language Manager -> [Edit Settings] -> HTML Character Set) change ISO-8991 to UTF8
  19. delete the DO_NOT_UPLOAD folder from your server
  20. delete the install directory from server

Now you're be right to go with a UTF8 forum! YAY. don't you feel good.

Last edited by timhj; 25 Jun 2009 at 13:48.. Reason: missed a step. -wrong sed command :erm:
Views: 24199
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Jul 2009, 19:02
N-0p3rz's Avatar
N-0p3rz N-0p3rz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Ray
Would there be any possible way to do this without shell access?

I suppose I could get my host to do it..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Dec 2009, 16:11
bydosangel's Avatar
bydosangel bydosangel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hmmmm
Woul'd it Work on Arabic Forums?
I have a huge Arabic Site with too much threads... usernames... Data

Can I do that and Convert all of them into UTF 8 to all the Data?

Thanks for sharing though
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Mar 2010, 13:33
glcvr6 glcvr6 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
You don't need to do all that, just go to admincp > language manager > edit > and there find caracter set and change it to UTF-8 or UTF8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 May 2010, 06:22
funmasti's Avatar
funmasti funmasti is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Sandy
can i use this modification to convert my forum into Hindi (Indian) Language?
__________________
My Mastiya Forum

Last edited by funmasti; 31 May 2010 at 07:08.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Jul 2010, 18:12
Khaleal Khaleal is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
how can I create a database with utf-8 collation via SSH ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 May 2016, 18:20
charalampos's Avatar
charalampos charalampos is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Didnt work to me my friend !

And I need a solution, but didnt work!

Sad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Apr 2017, 15:33
seb5594's Avatar
seb5594 seb5594 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Real name: Sebastian
This has worked so far, but after that no plugin does work.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

... is not in my config.

Any idea?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: