Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Details »
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (8 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 72
Released: 09 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 362
Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

**vBulletin 3.x version can be found here: DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy**

Ever felt your postbit_legacy template was just too long? Or maybe you'd like to add more content to your postbit_legacy, but you don't like the cluttered look or extended length of the post, especially when most posts are only a handful of sentences? Almost every decent modification here on vB.org has the option to add a link or a display to your postbit templates, and you've likely struggled, as I have, to come up with just the info you want to display, likely excluding things you thought would look real nice, but just couldn't justify the room for.

Now I've seen several good modifications that address this problem, and all of them are pretty nice. I've seen everything from a drop-down menu that displays the content, to a box that can be opened and closed just underneath the avatar. All of them are practical in their own way, and here's one more way that I worked out using a script from Dynamic Drive's website called Tab Content Script. This cleaned up my postbit_legacy just the way I wanted, and let me add even more content then I would have originally intended. It also allowed me to organize content in whatever manner I wished. I love it and I think you will too.


Screenshots


Live Demo
Live Demo is on a vBulletin 3.x forum, but the functionality is identical for vB4. Click any of the grey dots beneath the user's avatars.


Difficulty: Intermediate
A few things you should know before moving forward. The instructions for this mod are not your standard template modification instructions. It's going to presume that you've edited your postbit_legacy template before and that you're somewhat familiar with its content, with HTML and how to wrap <if condition=""> conditionals. So it's not going to be a "look for this line of code, add this under it" kind of traditional tutorial. What I'm going to do is show you the basic code, how to implement it and then let you do with it what you want. That is, after all, the reason I came up with mod in first place, and I know everyone wont have the same postbit content and/or will want to set theirs up differently.

With that said, knowledge of how to modify your templates and basic HTML coding is something every vBulletin administrator should have. I'm not a coder. I'm a complete hack. But I know enough to take some of the wealth of code snippets available on the web and attempt to use them in new and inventive ways. Administrating a vB forum is that much more satisfying as a result.


Installation
To add this to your forum requires you to upload some files, make one edit to your headinclude template and one to your postbit_legacy template. If you don't know what postbit_legacy does, it's the template that controls the look of your posts when you've chosen to have avatars and user information appear to the left hand side of your posts. If you don't use that look for your forum, but instead use the one where avatars appear above your posts, then that means you use the postbit template, and this modification wasn't designed to look right on that template. (Though we have had a few users give it a try.)

Step 1.
First things first. After downloading the Attachment 113756 file, extract the contents and upload the postbit_tabs folder in your forum's root directory (Your forum root is the folder you have physically installed vBulletin in, which means that for some folks, this isn't the same thing as your site root.)

Step 2.
Right click and download this JavaScript file from the Dynamic Drive website: tabcontent.js (You can also download it from this page.) Upload it to the postbit_tabs folder you just added to your website.

Step 3.
Now to edit your headinclude template. Go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> headinclude.

Add the following block of code to the very bottom. Remember to keep the copyright intact for legal use.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 4.
Now to access your postbit_legacy template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> Postbit Templates >>> postbit_legacy.

From here, your going to add a basic set of code from which you can then customize it. You can pretty much add it anywhere in the template, but most likely your going to want to add it just below the avatar. If that's the case, your avatar code is most likely going to look something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add this basic set of code. This block of code will be your physical tab content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now go to your forum and see if your tabs are displaying properly and your not getting any errors. You should have five dot tabs that display five different sets of information when clicked.

Final Steps
Now comes the hard part. Now you have to decide what you want to put in those places called Tab 1 Content:Block A, etc. This is where knowledge of your postbit_legacy template comes into play. Your now going to move whatever content you want in the respective tabs from their current location into the tabs. This is entirely up to you, but you can use my forum as a starting point. The following posts also have some tips to help you along the way.

Post 2 has a Basic Breakdown of what the tabs do, a tutorial on how to add more tabs, default snippets of code that you can move into the tabs containers as well some snippets from common hacks.

Post 3 has some links to other sites that have implemented this hack to give you an idea of what can be done with it. And it has some additional images to use in place of the default dots.

Post 5 has Frequently Asked Questions for most problems you would encounter.




Known Bugs
There is one minor issue with the tabs that only occurs when using the AJAX quick reply and inline editing. Actually it's two issues, but I've only seen one or the other on my live site vs. my demo board. In one instance, the entire content of all your tabs displays all at once when posting/editing using AJAX. This is not a huge deal, as the only person who sees it do that is the person doing the posting/editing. And it will return to normal anytime he reloads or refreshes the page. The other instance is when after posting/editing through AJAX, no tab content appears, except the dot tabs. This is also not a huge deal as the same thing will happen here too; only the poster sees it and it will look normal anytime he returns or reloads the page. I think it's a minor trade off for the sleek look it gives your forum the rest of the time.

Upgrade Instructions
For those using the vBulletin 3.x version and who want to upgrade, follow the instructions I'll be including shortly in a subsequent post.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit-Tabs-Screenie.gif
Views:	7993
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	113758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit Tabs Screenie.png
Views:	7899
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	113757  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 389 19 Sep 2013 15:26

  #16  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 19:06
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
Post your postbit_legacy code, and maybe we can find the problem.
Thanks I solved the problem. It was not the hack it was me being way too tired to install stuff lol.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05 Apr 2010, 06:12
Verionia Verionia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
This is alot. I want to install but Im afraid of making a mistake. Please make this into a product, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12 Apr 2010, 14:08
skylab's Avatar
skylab skylab is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Mike
Had to do some messing around but finally got it working perfectly. Thanks!
__________________
http://www.artoftravelblogging.com - A Travel Blogging Community
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02 May 2010, 03:07
Webbstre Webbstre is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I could use some help with this. I have set it up so that the basic user info is in one tab, Downloads and some other stuff is in a second tab, and I want to put the vbActivity stuff in a third tab, but I can't figure out what to put in the code. This is everything in the plugin that contains the vbactivity postbit:

require(DIR . '/dbtech/vbactivity_pro/includes/hooks/dbtech_vbactivity_postbit.php');
I tried pasting the code from the php file, but it failed. Does anyone have a suggestion?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06 May 2010, 17:15
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Verionia View Post
This is alot. I want to install but Im afraid of making a mistake. Please make this into a product, thanks.
I don't think that will happening any time soon. As I mentioned before, even as a product, you would still be required to make template edits and be required to understand the basic code.


Originally Posted by Webbstre View Post
I could use some help with this. I have set it up so that the basic user info is in one tab, Downloads and some other stuff is in a second tab, and I want to put the vbActivity stuff in a third tab, but I can't figure out what to put in the code. This is everything in the plugin that contains the vbactivity postbit:



I tried pasting the code from the php file, but it failed. Does anyone have a suggestion?
That would depend on what the code from the PHP file is.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12 May 2010, 23:02
Trek Trek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Just found this and will be giving it a shot as soon as I can design how I want it to look on my forums. This is really nice and I felt should get a bump. =)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 13 May 2010, 18:29
Trek Trek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ok, so I found some time to play with this today and ran into a few issues. Most of them are going to be things I need to fix/figure out myself as I have many mods dumping data into the postbit... that should be fun.. ugh!

Anyway, I did run into one problem with the directions given here and it took me a bit to figure out.

The directions mention right clicking the tabcontent.js file and saving. You can't do that. Dynamic Drive prevents the hotlinking of their files and you get a file that doesn't work. Ultimately it saves as tabcontent.js.htm and just contains their "This is a no no" message in HTML.

So basically, you need to do what the second part of the directions say and go there and directly download it.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 15 May 2010, 01:47
Webbstre Webbstre is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Finally installing this to what will be my live site, but I'm coming across a problem in 4.0.3. Basically, the headinclude code breaks the side somehow, resulting in an error that flashes in the window just long enough to be visible but not long enough to copy and select. Then the thread page loads with the templates or css or something all broken. I tried disabling other add-ons but the only thing that fixed it was reverting that one template.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16 May 2010, 22:45
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Hi Jedi,
I had you install this on my site a year or so ago. It's a fantastic addition to any vb forum!!

Very professional.

As soon as I get some bucks in my paypal I'll hook up with ya to install this for me again on my vb4 site.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04 Jun 2010, 13:30
EquinoxWorld EquinoxWorld is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Hello,

I have adapted this code to work as a signature slider instead of a user info "slider". It works perfectly, I have added 5 extra signatures to a users sig placeholder. Only issue I'm having is that the buttons do not appear if using google chrome. It works perfect with IE and FF but Chrome the buttons don't show. Any ideas how I can fix this issue?

p.s.: If I can post the dynamic signature slider here let me know and I will gladly share it with you guys. (there is a signature slider mod in vbunderground but it does NOT work how they specify it there.)

EDITED:

I have come across several solutions for the issue with google chrome not displaying the buttons ; I enabled mytabs.init() and put in 10 sec intervals and the images do show rotating(but still no buttons to manually change the pic). Although we have run into another issue, we have LiveTopic installed for the forums and when in a thread that is "Live" the images do not show at all. You would have to refresh the page or edit your post to make the images viewable by you and the other users if and when they are in a "live" thread. If anyone has any feedback regarding these issues it would be greatly appreciated. Here is the modified version for signatures if anyone wants to use it go ahead, and many thanks to Digital Jedi for this very useful mod.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

PS..: I have made this so that only a certain usergroups can use the sig slider and the rest their normal signatures.

PS..: 2 We have found that the live topic issue and the button images not appearing is exclusive to Google Chrome. In IE and FF it works PERFECT! I can provide demo link if needed.

Last edited by EquinoxWorld; 05 Jun 2010 at 02:09.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06 Jun 2010, 04:19
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Hey there,
I have added the header stuff to the headerinclude, I have uploaded the files about five times have attempted the postbit template edits about five times and they are still not showing up.

Below is my postbit template can anyone help in telling me where I am going wrong?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 13 Jun 2010, 05:00
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Bump incase anyone can help but haven't seen this!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 13 Jun 2010, 06:32
Webbstre Webbstre is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Is this thread even supported anymore? It's been a month since I tried to get help.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 13 Jun 2010, 21:57
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Trek View Post
Ok, so I found some time to play with this today and ran into a few issues. Most of them are going to be things I need to fix/figure out myself as I have many mods dumping data into the postbit... that should be fun.. ugh!

Anyway, I did run into one problem with the directions given here and it took me a bit to figure out.

The directions mention right clicking the tabcontent.js file and saving. You can't do that. Dynamic Drive prevents the hotlinking of their files and you get a file that doesn't work. Ultimately it saves as tabcontent.js.htm and just contains their "This is a no no" message in HTML.

So basically, you need to do what the second part of the directions say and go there and directly download it.
Which is why I provided the alternate download. I have, on occasion, still been able to download the JS file directly.


Originally Posted by Webbstre View Post
Finally installing this to what will be my live site, but I'm coming across a problem in 4.0.3. Basically, the headinclude code breaks the side somehow, resulting in an error that flashes in the window just long enough to be visible but not long enough to copy and select. Then the thread page loads with the templates or css or something all broken. I tried disabling other add-ons but the only thing that fixed it was reverting that one template.
Could you link me an example? I haven't had a chance to see this used on a board with a side installed yet. My demo board doesn't include the suite.


Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
Hi Jedi,
I had you install this on my site a year or so ago. It's a fantastic addition to any vb forum!!

Very professional.

As soon as I get some bucks in my paypal I'll hook up with ya to install this for me again on my vb4 site.
Thanks, Gary.


Originally Posted by EquinoxWorld View Post
Hello,

I have adapted this code to work as a signature slider instead of a user info "slider". It works perfectly, I have added 5 extra signatures to a users sig placeholder. Only issue I'm having is that the buttons do not appear if using google chrome. It works perfect with IE and FF but Chrome the buttons don't show. Any ideas how I can fix this issue?

p.s.: If I can post the dynamic signature slider here let me know and I will gladly share it with you guys. (there is a signature slider mod in vbunderground but it does NOT work how they specify it there.)

EDITED:

I have come across several solutions for the issue with google chrome not displaying the buttons ; I enabled mytabs.init() and put in 10 sec intervals and the images do show rotating(but still no buttons to manually change the pic). Although we have run into another issue, we have LiveTopic installed for the forums and when in a thread that is "Live" the images do not show at all. You would have to refresh the page or edit your post to make the images viewable by you and the other users if and when they are in a "live" thread. If anyone has any feedback regarding these issues it would be greatly appreciated. Here is the modified version for signatures if anyone wants to use it go ahead, and many thanks to Digital Jedi for this very useful mod.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

PS..: I have made this so that only a certain usergroups can use the sig slider and the rest their normal signatures.

PS..: 2 We have found that the live topic issue and the button images not appearing is exclusive to Google Chrome. In IE and FF it works PERFECT! I can provide demo link if needed.
Was this only with the Singnature Slider or did you have trouble with the Dynamic Postbit as well? I know I have not had any trouble with my postbit mod, but I did run into issues whenever the init was set. That particular part of the JavaScript just didn't jibe well with vBulletin.


Originally Posted by merk_aus View Post
Hey there,
I have added the header stuff to the headerinclude, I have uploaded the files about five times have attempted the postbit template edits about five times and they are still not showing up.

Below is my postbit template can anyone help in telling me where I am going wrong?
**sinp**
I don't see anything wrong with your Legacy code, offhand. I would need to take a look at your site with the edits in place to see what the trouble is.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13 Jun 2010, 22:01
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Webbstre View Post
Is this thread even supported anymore? It's been a month since I tried to get help.
I always check back. But a month is not that unusual for me. Since my last post, my daughter was in the hospital a couple of times. Haven't had a chance to check back until now. However, my last post was in response to the problem you were having with some PHP code, which I needed to see before I could really say what was wrong. Is your last post not related to this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: