Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[CM] FaceBook SlideBox (LikeBox) Details »
[CM] FaceBook SlideBox (LikeBox)
Mod Version: 1.00, by ChiNa (Coder/Designer) ChiNa is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.0 Rating: (5 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 39
Released: 05 Aug 2012 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations External Content  

This was brought to you by ChiNa-Man


First of all I am a free soul, So if one of you guys decided to post this on another forum or a website, I would be appreciated if you give some CREDITs to the Developer simply typing his name: Credits to: ChiNa-Man, and do not CHANGE or DELETE the ORIGINAL CONTENT! Thank you!

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Get this as Twitter SlideBox. CLICK HERE (NEW)

Get this for vBulletin 3.8.x. CLICK HERE!
Credits to Leandro M.

Hey Everyone, This is my first modification for vBulletin ever! Its very small and simple! I hope you will like it.. And what you will achieve with this tutorial is that when mouse over the image, it will shift / slide your facebook page.




The modification may look a bit scary or confusing, but its very easy and after 1 time, you will install it without any help the next time!


Now there I will show you guys 2 METHODS in this TUTORIA, and I START WITH METHOD 1! Both METHTODS WILL WORK, but I prefer method 1, because it has 1 TEMPLATE EDIT! But it also depends on your template, if you use other JQUERY and or JAVASCRIPT then go for method 1.

Example 1:




Example 2:



==================== METHOD 1 - STARTS =====================

Step 1: Go to your ADMINCP, and then Styles & Templates. Find your Template, and in most cases the "HEADER" is the best place to add your Javascript or Jquery codes. And thats whats what we are going to do! Scroll all the way down, and to add the code below everything else...

BUT DO NOT SAVE IT, ONLY HAVE ADDED, AND READY:


Add This Code:


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.5.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
jQuery.noConflict();
jQuery(function (){
jQuery(".s_likebox").hover(function(){
jQuery(".s_likebox").stop(true, false).animate({right:"0"},"medium");
},function(){
jQuery(".s_likebox").stop(true, false).animate({right:"-250"},"medium");
},500);
return false;
});
</script><style type="text/css">
.s_likebox {
float:right;
width:288px;
height:345px;
background: url(images/fbslide.png) no-repeat !important;
display:block;
right:-250px;
padding:0;
position:fixed;
top: 130px;
z-index:1002;
border-radius:10px;
-moz-border-radius:10px;
-webkit-border-radius:10px;
}
div.likeboxwrap {
margin-top:2px;
margin-left:-5px;
background: #fff;
width:238px;
height:325px;
overflow:hidden;
border-radius:10px;
-moz-border-radius:10px;
-webkit-border-radius:10px;
}
div.likeboxwrap iframe {margin:-1px}

</style><div class="s_likebox"><div style="color: rgb(255, 255, 255); padding: 8px 5px 0pt 50px;"><span><div class='likeboxwrap'>PUT YOUR IFRAME CODE HERE</div> </span></div></div>



Now look look on the code on top, If you take a look you will see the BLUE text saying PUT YOUR IFRAME CODE HERE, Which is below everythign else ! This is where you should PLACE your FACEBOOK PAGE (IFRAME) CODE! Now without saving your header, Go to STEP 2 and get your IFRAME CODE from FACEBOOK.

Notice: You will be asked for your Facebook Page URL and choose the HEIGHT and WIDTH, here is what you choose for HEIGHT AND WIDTH:
Remember Width = 260, Height = 600!


Step 2: Go to facebook http://developers.facebook.com/docs/plugins/
or http://developers.facebook.com and make a like box. Make sure when your choosing your box, type 260 in "WIDTH" and 600 for "HEIGHT", click on GET CODE, and now you will see many options on top, BUT WE NEED the IFRAME for vBulletin! So on top you click on the IFRAME CODE for vBulletin!


Step 3: Now when you get the
IFRAME code, GO BACK to your HEADER, and put the IFRAM code INSTEAD of the BLUE TEXT, right in between the symbyls > < INSTEAD OF THE BLUE TEXT.

Replace This Text --> PUT YOUR IFRAME CODE HERE <-- with your IFRAME CODE from facebook that you just got.

After Replace this --> "PUT YOUR IFRAME CODE HERE"
, Your code in HEADER should be ready! Now after you added the IFRAME CODE, SAVE your HEADER,

That was easy right...AFTER HIT SAV, The last step is to upload your slide BOX image.

STEP 4:
Now copy the "fbslide.png" image from the attachment below, or below this text. And upload it in your "images" folder in the root of your ftp!



We are DONE, Please its very important that you click INSTALLED after Installing, for future support! Thank you!


WE ARE DONE WITH METHOD 1 - END


If you look below, this is how my FULL code looks like on my website..

EXAMPLE OF MY CODE:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

===================== METHOD 2 - STARTS =====================

Step 1: Go to your ADMINCP, and then Styles & Templates. Find your Template, and in most cases the "headinclude" is the best place to add your Javascript or Jquery codes. And thats whats what we are going to do! Scroll all the way down, and to add the code below everything else...

Code to add:
PHP Code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




Step 2: Now we have to add the CSS,
Go back to your Styles & Templates in (ADMINCP) and in your Templates Dropdown choose "Edit Templates"!

Now scroll down till you find the "additional.css" section! Add the following code below all the other codes: (If its empty, just add it in the front)

Code to add:

PHP Code:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Step 3:
Go to facebook http://developers.facebook.com/docs/plugins/
or http://developers.facebook.com and make a like box. Make sure when your done choosing your box, click on GET CODE, and you need the IFRAME CODE for vBulletin!

Step 4:
Add the IFRAME code inside the the code showen like below. Instead of the BLUE TEXT. After you have added the code, your code should be ready!

Look for the BLUE TEXT in the code below:

Code to add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


The BLUE text should be replaced with the IFRAME code:


Replace this --> "PUT YOUR IFRAME CODE HERE" <-- with the IFRAME CODE.

STEP 5:
When your are done putting the IFRAME code inside the real code, now put the full code in your Header or Forumhome Template, Put the code below everything else in the tempplate. And you are DONE!


STEP 6:
Now copy the "fbslide.png" image from the attachment below, or below this text. and upload it in your "images" folder in the root of your ftp!



We are DONE, Please its very important that you click INSTALLED after Installing, for future support! Thank you!

I would Get very happy if you nominate this as (MOTN) Mod of the Month

===================== METHOD 2 - FINISHED =====================

Extra Troubleshoots & Info


Below you see example of the full code used in my forum China-Cheats.com
. The code in BLUE color is the facebook IFRAME code:

Example of my Code:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




Slide Issues & Troubleshoots


If you have issues and your button will not SLIDE in or out, then try ADD the code from the HEADINCLUDE in another spot, Try add right below the stylesheet!

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



And add code in you "headinclude" template, right below the CSS Stylesheet! Its because the code can make conflict with other jquery / Javascripts! So keep changing spot, and you will see that it will work!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	fbslide.png
Views:	62
Size:	10.7 KB
ID:	140343  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks [CM] FaceBook SlideBox (LikeBox) ChiNa vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 20 06 Feb 2013 04:10
vBulletin CMS Widgets Facebook LikeBox Plug-In [1.1.0] (CMS Widget) ChriDevelop vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 7 25 Apr 2012 09:26

  #31  
Old 03 Sep 2012, 03:41
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Originally Posted by simonhind View Post
hi developer this suites my website perfectly but i have a question
Get it as Twitter SlideBox. Click HERE! (NEW)

^
the link doesn't work, and found it another way, but when using both together it only fb like box works


Here you go, *I will fix tha*

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=286359


IF YOU NEEDED ANY HELP ELSE THAN THAT, LET ME KNOW
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02 Nov 2012, 05:28
jeffand77 jeffand77 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I tried multiple ways to get the fb and twitter slider to work together but it constantly created an issue with the forumdisplay template. I was unable to reply or create a new thread. The text box would not load. So I had to reload the original template. Any thoughts of HOW to make these two slider co-exist? It doesnt seem right to have 1 without the other. I did edit the height of the facebook feed (iframe) from 600 to 260 to fit within a typical laptop screen. Could this be the cause?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03 Nov 2012, 23:03
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Originally Posted by jeffand77 View Post
I tried multiple ways to get the fb and twitter slider to work together but it constantly created an issue with the forumdisplay template. I was unable to reply or create a new thread. The text box would not load. So I had to reload the original template. Any thoughts of HOW to make these two slider co-exist? It doesnt seem right to have 1 without the other. I did edit the height of the facebook feed (iframe) from 600 to 260 to fit within a typical laptop screen. Could this be the cause?
Hi Mate, I think you are doing something wrong! I have used both on my site many many times, and I have helped many others too! If you look on the PAGE befor this, you can see the user "qpurser" installed 3 Of my addons on same side!

Here is the code for having both in same side, give this a try, If note then I will try make another code for you,,

Both Codes Add Below: (Twitter and Faceboo)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And below if you take a loo I have attached an image posted by qpurser.. And he installed also my SIDE BAR addon, now he has 3 Different Mods on the same side! If you keep having problems you can send me an Admin Login and a Pass, then I will try to fix it for you!
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-08-09 at 1.31.13 PM.png (30.6 KB, 28 views)
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 19 Nov 2012, 06:15
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Great.. Installed and slightly tweaked to suit my forum style

to the left to the left....lol

I have added conditionals to the code also in that only members see the facebook slidebox plus it only displays on forumhome.

I could post the code and image if anyone is interested



Attached Images
File Type: jpg left1.jpg (15.1 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg left2.jpg (134.5 KB, 27 views)

Last edited by AURFSCAN; 19 Nov 2012 at 06:40. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19 Nov 2012, 23:16
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
I have added conditionals to the code also in that only members see the facebook slidebox plus it only displays on forumhome.

I could post the code and image if anyone is interested
Well done mate, We need more users like you ! As you can see everyone has been very supportive especially on this addon! Thanks a lot mate. appreciate it
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 22 Nov 2012, 18:48
Marcin1 Marcin1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Real name: Marcin
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Great.. Installed and slightly tweaked to suit my forum style

to the left to the left....lol

I have added conditionals to the code also in that only members see the facebook slidebox plus it only displays on forumhome.

I could post the code and image if anyone is interested



I'd be grateful. I've been struggling on this for few hours... Slidebox situated on left side.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 24 Nov 2012, 11:44
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Originally Posted by Marcin1 View Post
I'd be grateful. I've been struggling on this for few hours... Slidebox situated on left side.
I havent included the viewing conditionals and this code with the fbslide3 displays as I posted previously.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Attached Images
File Type: png fbslide3.png (6.0 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 28 Nov 2012, 11:11
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
I havent included the viewing conditionals and this code
@AURFSCAN Good job mate, Thanks for the help and support on my mods! I saw some of your work and I wish you all the best, and congurats with your Designer Rank.. Keep up your great work mate and if you ever needed some help with any coding or designings, let me know!
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10 Dec 2012, 17:26
patrick91 patrick91 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
My facebook shows duplicate people in the box! What the hack is wrong with mine:P

Lol i see that are currently friends!

Thanks
__________________
YamahaForumBenelux

Last edited by patrick91; 11 Dec 2012 at 17:28.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 31 Oct 2013, 12:12
U-Fig U-Fig is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thank you China-Man! very good one and got them both on my forum home, left side
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 06 Feb 2016, 07:50
itilm's Avatar
itilm itilm is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Karachi
Real name: smartyounus
App Not Setup: This app is still in development mode, and you don't have access to it. Switch to a registered test user or ask an app admin for permissions.

Error Help...
__________________
Pakistan's It education Forum
Come and join us
www.itilm.com
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04 Aug 2019, 00:39
MentorBR MentorBR is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
How do I make the slidebox appear only when I position the cursor over the facebook button?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: