Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Panic Button 1.0.1 Details »
Panic Button 1.0.1
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by dsboyce8624 (Member) dsboyce8624 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2006 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 14
Released: 08 Jul 2005 Last Update: 12 Jul 2005 Downloads: 14
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  

This is a Panic Button (Should work in IE and FF) in case a member is worried about being on your site at a particular time, for example, at work.

The button defaults to staying glued to the lower right hand corner, but this can be changed in the CSS settings stated below.

The button can also be turned off by each member if they don't want to use it.

This is a hybrid of my Boss Button and yinyangs work to make the java right.

If you have the Custom Error Pages hack installed on a Windows server, you need to edit the settings to use URLs and not files or this will conflict.

The image I use is can obviously be substituted with anything else you like. Just be sure to name your image "panicbutton.gif".

This may be copied, reproduced or published anywhere without my permission.

vB 3.5 Beta Version

Demo Please do not register.

Details
-------
2 Files to upload (1 Javascript File and 1 Panic Button image)
2 New Profile Field entries (Remember the Field ID# !!)
1 New CSS definition
1 Template Edit

You can change the placement of the image anywhere on the screen by editing the .panicbutton CSS.

dsboyce8624/yinyang

Changes:

7/8/5 - Updated instructions with note about case sensitivty of user field options and conditional code.

7/12/5 - Updated URLs for vBadvanced compatibility.


.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenie.JPG
Views:	793
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	31770  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options Panic Button Mosh vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 65 09 Jan 2009 03:40
End-User Options Panic Button Mosh vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 70 03 Sep 2008 05:20
End-User Options Panic Button (TMS compatible) Mosh Modification Graveyard 29 02 Jun 2008 04:02
Panic Button 1.01 yinyang vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 26 25 Apr 2007 03:56

Comments
  #2  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 22:47
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
That's great! Thanks! Could this possibly be toggled on/off by the user?

Last edited by yoyoyoyo; 08 Jul 2005 at 22:51.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 22:49
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by yoyoyoyo
That's great! Thanks! Could this possibly be toggled on/off by the user?
Yes there is an option in the install for that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 22:50
yinyang's Avatar
yinyang yinyang is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by yoyoyoyo
That's great! Thanks! Could this possibly be toggled on/off by the user?
yup. the 2 new profile field entries allow the following 2 options:

1. Turn the Panic Button On/Off with On being the default
2. Allows each user to specify which URL for the panic button to send them to.

If someone wants, you can also add two more profile fields that controls a) top or bottom of screen and b) left or right. you would just substitute the corresponding profile field in the Panic Button CSS definitions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 22:51
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by yinyang
yup. the 2 new profile field entries allow the following 2 options:

1. Turn the Panic Button On/Off with On being the default
2. Allows each user to specify which URL for the panic button to send them to.

If someone wants, you can also add two more profile fields that controls a) top or bottom of screen and b) left or right. you would just substitute the corresponding profile field in the Panic Button CSS definitions.
Awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 22:52
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by yinyang
If someone wants, you can also add two more profile fields that controls a) top or bottom of screen and b) left or right. you would just substitute the corresponding profile field in the Panic Button CSS definitions.
Never thought of that. Cool idea.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 23:38
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
This seems more like a "Misc. Option" Than a profile field :cross-eyed:

I hate to be a pain, but I installed this on a 3.0.7 forum, and it doesn't seem to be working for me. I triple-checked the edits, and css and also checked the proflile field ID in PHPMyAdmin to make sure that they were correct, but it still doesn't work. Yes, I also uploaded the javascript and image as mentioned in the read me. There are only a few steps, so I am at a loss to see what I did wrong.

Last edited by yoyoyoyo; 08 Jul 2005 at 23:40.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08 Jul 2005, 23:42
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
I suppose you could put the fields anywhere you like.

Open your site and do a veiw source. Search the source for panic.

Is everything there correct?

Look for the CSS entry first. Then look at the URL for the script, the destination URL for the button and the image file.

You may want to edit the code to show a full URL if they are not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:03
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
I suppose you could put the fields anywhere you like.

Open your site and do a veiw source. Search the source for panic.

Is everything there correct?

Look for the CSS entry first. Then look at the URL for the script, the destination URL for the button and the image file.

You may want to edit the code to show a full URL if they are not correct.
here is what I get when I view source, from the end of the CSS, where the location is defined, to right after the end of the panic button:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It doesn't seem to be pulling the javascript in from the script. Here is a screen shot of the file uploaded to my ftp:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen.jpg (168.0 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:05
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Show me the code you have in the header, it seems to be missing.

Give me a few lines after as well.

Mine shows this in view source:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by dsboyce8624; 09 Jul 2005 at 00:07.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:09
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
Show me the code you have in the header, it seems to be missing.

Give me a few lines after as well.
here goes from the top of the header template:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:13
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
What are your field numbers?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:20
Guest190829
Guest
 
Doesn't:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

need a } after all the properties are defined? That's probably what's causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:20
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
What are your field numbers?
The same ones listed in the Read me:
Panic Button URL Redirect: ID 5
Turn "Panic Button" on?: ID 6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 00:21
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by Danny.VBT
Doesn't:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

need a } after all the properties are defined? That's probably what's causing the problem.
Yeah, got missed in the cut and paste. Try putting that in.

Although I don't see how that makes the code disappear. I assumed he failed the conditional by not editing the field numbers.

I guess you got lucky with the field numbers, mine are different.

Thought you forgot to change them.

Last edited by dsboyce8624; 09 Jul 2005 at 00:24.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: