Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 00:34
vbfan4life vbfan4life is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Wink Version number

I'm having a bit of a difficult time figuring this problem out, and I'm sorry if it's been asked and answered before.

What I'm trying to do is remove this from the header, when people access the source:

<!-- CSS Stylesheet -->
<style type="text/css" id="vbulletin_css">
/**
* vBulletin 3.7.3 CSS
* Style: 'DarkVB'; Style ID: 2


Ideally, I'd like to remove the whole CSS code, as it's really not neccessary to kick that out in the header. But my main goal is to suppress the version number. Now, I tried to modify this code in the adminfunctions_template.php file in the includes folder:

$fullcsstext = "<style type=\"text/css\" id=\"vbulletin_css\">\r\n" .
"/**\r\n* vBulletin " . $vbulletin->options['(C) Copyright, 2000-2008 JelSoft Software'] . " CSS\r\n* Style: 'Available Upon Request'" .
"$css\r\n</style>\r\n" .
"<link rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\" href=\"clientscript/vbulletin_important.css?v=" . $vbulletin->options['simpleversion'] . "\" />"

But it appears to have made absolutely no impact at all.

Plus, I'd like to remove this from the header, as it's a potential security risk:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/vbulletin_important.css?v=373" />


<!-- / CSS Stylesheet -->

<!--
var SESSIONURL = "";
var SECURITYTOKEN = "REMOVED";
var IMGDIR_MISC = "images/dark_vb/misc";
var vb_disable_ajax = parseInt("0", 10);
// -->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_global.js?v=373"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_menu.js?v=373"></script>




Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by vbfan4life; 31 Aug 2008 at 00:51.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 03:40
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'm the person who mentioned the file to look in for the fullcsstext. Did you remember to go and save a style after you changed it?

I really have no clue about changing the other lines. I'm also wondering if it will really make a difference securitywise if you do remove those lines.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 04:03
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
security by obscurity never works if thats the goal.

If your looking to remove that code, check the regular function.php files and not the ones prefixed with adminfunctions
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 04:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
The adminfunctions script I was referencing for him was (I thought) the one to actually write the css to a file in your admin cp (when you edit the Main CSS for the style and then hit Save). He wanted to remove those couple of lines at the top of the css file that says the version number. I did a search through the files for "Style:" and came up with those lines in that file. I don't really know if changing the lines there will work since I didn't try it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 13:34
vbfan4life vbfan4life is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Cool Hi

@Lynne:

Yeah, what's really surprising is that I found the exact text for the output in the adminfunctions file, and it made absolutely no difference. vB even appears to run if I delete the entire file.

Here's what I've changed that code to, uploading it to the includes folder:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

it makes absolutely no difference, because it continues to run on as if I made no change.

I know that obscurity doesn't prevent anything; after all, all one needs to do is scroll down, and they'll learn what theme I use, and what version I use when they see what stylesheet is called up, but I just don't want it to be obvious. As soon as you open the source, there it is. I guess I'm just paranoid is all.

I'll look into the functions.php file, but again, ideally I want to eliminate these two things:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and, if possible, this, which is right before the title:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Does anyone know what needs to be edited in the functions.php? All I can find for the version is the code for the footer, and I obviously don't want to modify that, since I've already set it to show the copyright minus the actual version number.

Last edited by vbfan4life; 31 Aug 2008 at 13:41.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 16:30
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'm not sure why changing that file had no effect for you. I just made a small change in that line (added an "x" in there), uploaded that file, saved the Main CSS in my style, refresh my vb page, looked at the source code and it showed up for me. I then tried deleting the file and I could not save my css. I'm not sure at all why it is having no effect for you.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 18:05
vbfan4life vbfan4life is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I'm not sure why changing that file had no effect for you. I just made a small change in that line (added an "x" in there), uploaded that file, saved the Main CSS in my style, refresh my vb page, looked at the source code and it showed up for me. I then tried deleting the file and I could not save my css. I'm not sure at all why it is having no effect for you.
It's puzzling, to say the least. I've tried clearing my cache, and refreshing, yet it doesn't "take" the changes in the adminfunctions file. I guess I just have to live with it; it seems to be a lost cause.

EDIT: I got it!! I had to go back and resave the CSS file. D'oh.

Last edited by vbfan4life; 31 Aug 2008 at 18:15.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 06:35
MoT3rror MoT3rror is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Set $vbulletin->options['simpleversion'] to nothing in global_start or another plugin around then should take a away the 373.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Oct 2013, 05:10
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
if you still want to delete it remove the line in adminfunctions_template.php and after that rebuild the styles
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 Oct 2013, 05:31
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Doh! 2008.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: