Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay Details »
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay
Mod Version: 1.1, by Lynne (Coder/Designer) Lynne is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (58 votes - 4.95 average) Installs: 503
Released: 23 Dec 2009 Last Update: 05 Mar 2013 Downloads: 1785
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

This is another modification which should be standard vbulletin. I wrote a template modification, but have now written one that is just a plugin. This template modification will make your thread prefixes clickable. If you click on the prefix, then the forumdisplay will only show threads with that prefix in that forum. Then, if you click on the prefix again, it will show all the threads.

Click to Filter Forum by this Prefixid:


Click to Show All Threads:


Version History:
1.0 2009-12-22: - initial release by Lynne at vbulletin.org
1.1 2010-01-05 - fixed issue of bad link showing up in search results - clickable prefixes will only show on forumdisplay as they are supposed to now.

To Install:

1. Import product-lynne_click_prefix.xml

To Uninstall:

1. Uninstall "Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay"

Translations:
Thank you to Luca_ITA for the Italian phrase translations.
Thank you to yjeanrenaud for the German phrase translations.
Thank you to eTiKeT™ for the Turkish phrase translations.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_all.png
Views:	7993
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	107969   Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_filter.png
Views:	7912
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	107970  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
[Add-on] Thread Prefixes: Quick Prefix Filter gavinzac vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 37 02 Aug 2012 02:56
Forum Display Enhancements Clickable, Sortable Prefixes Magnumutz vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 72 11 Jul 2011 09:01
Forum Display Enhancements Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter forumdisplay by Prefix Lynne Modification Graveyard 29 04 Jan 2010 22:02

  #46  
Old 20 Feb 2010, 03:56
MXjunk127 MXjunk127 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Keith
Great! I've been waiting for something like this, Not smart enough to code it myself...

Is it possible to filter tag results from outside the forum?

Say I am on my forum home, could I, instead of having VB subforms, have links to the filtersed tags?

Essentially making each tag its own subforum? While having all the treads with diffrent tags still remain in that one original forum?

Does that make any sense?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 16:33
Wseries Wseries is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
This works great, thank you. However, I've been trying to figure out a way to prevent thread prefixes inheriting my linktextDecoration StyleVar setting and not become underlined when this mod is enabled. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 21:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Add a class to your prefixes and define the class to have text-decoration:none. Or, just do it inline.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 21:57
Wseries Wseries is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hi Lynne,

The css was the obvious part. I did experiment a bit using Firebug but I'm just not to sure where to add a class to my prefixes in vBulletin 4. Would really appreciate your advice on this?
__________________
http://www.twitter.com/Wseries
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 23:10
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I think the easiest thing to do would be modify the plugin for this mod and in both <a> tags, add in:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I think that should work. (In fact, I just tested it and it does work.)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 23:34
Wseries Wseries is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
That indeed works a treat! Awesome. Thank you very much Lynne.
__________________
http://www.twitter.com/Wseries
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 24 Feb 2010, 23:52
HolyKiller HolyKiller is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
love it! thx !
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Mar 2010, 03:36
fourat's Avatar
fourat fourat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Is there a mod like this for 3.8. ?
__________________
لا إله إلا الله .... محمد رسول الله
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 15 Mar 2010, 05:17
oldford's Avatar
oldford oldford is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Originally Posted by fourat View Post
Is there a mod like this for 3.8. ?
Threadbit Prefix Clickable
__________________
~oldford
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 17 Mar 2010, 16:00
gorman gorman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Would it be possible for this to work as the prefix navigation works here on vb.org?

When one clicks on a prefix, the only way to go back to the unfiltered view is to reclick the prefix or abandon the forum and go elsewhere. Here on vB.org you have the prefix becoming a clickable entry when reading a thread, and the prefix becoming the title of the "forum" when reading all threads with a certain prefix.

I'm referring to the navbit portion, to be clearer.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 24 Mar 2010, 14:33
gorman gorman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 24 Mar 2010, 20:10
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Would it be possible to do that? Sure. Feel free to modify this code for use on your site however you want.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 25 Mar 2010, 17:35
gorman gorman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Would it be possible to do that? Sure. Feel free to modify this code for use on your site however you want.
Well, it was more of a request. Just to understand whether it's something we can expect from the developer or if it's too complicated. In case the original developer could use a small donation, please, do PM me.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 26 Mar 2010, 03:26
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Unfortunately, I have absolutely no time right now to make any changes to my mods. I don't imagine it would be hard to add the prefix into the breadcrumbs since it is passed in the url.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 30 Mar 2010, 21:47
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Works perfectly, thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: