Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay Details »
Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay
Mod Version: 1.1, by Lynne (Coder/Designer) Lynne is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (58 votes - 4.95 average) Installs: 503
Released: 23 Dec 2009 Last Update: 05 Mar 2013 Downloads: 1785
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

This is another modification which should be standard vbulletin. I wrote a template modification, but have now written one that is just a plugin. This template modification will make your thread prefixes clickable. If you click on the prefix, then the forumdisplay will only show threads with that prefix in that forum. Then, if you click on the prefix again, it will show all the threads.

Click to Filter Forum by this Prefixid:


Click to Show All Threads:


Version History:
1.0 2009-12-22: - initial release by Lynne at vbulletin.org
1.1 2010-01-05 - fixed issue of bad link showing up in search results - clickable prefixes will only show on forumdisplay as they are supposed to now.

To Install:

1. Import product-lynne_click_prefix.xml

To Uninstall:

1. Uninstall "Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter Forumdisplay"

Translations:
Thank you to Luca_ITA for the Italian phrase translations.
Thank you to yjeanrenaud for the German phrase translations.
Thank you to eTiKeT™ for the Turkish phrase translations.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_all.png
Views:	7993
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	107969   Click image for larger version

Name:	lynne_prefix_filter.png
Views:	7912
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	107970  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
[Add-on] Thread Prefixes: Quick Prefix Filter gavinzac vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 37 02 Aug 2012 02:56
Forum Display Enhancements Clickable, Sortable Prefixes Magnumutz vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 72 11 Jul 2011 09:01
Forum Display Enhancements Make Prefixes Clickable to Filter forumdisplay by Prefix Lynne Modification Graveyard 29 04 Jan 2010 22:02

  #61  
Old 10 Apr 2010, 07:17
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
gonna install it on 4.0.2pl4
I have images as thread prefix. hope it will work
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10 Apr 2010, 08:30
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
works fine
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10 Apr 2010, 16:23
tidus78's Avatar
tidus78 tidus78 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Don't work for me.....only install xmlIs there a control panel for the product?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10 Apr 2010, 18:15
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by tidus78 View Post
Don't work for me.....only install xmlIs there a control panel for the product?
no. there is no acp options for this.

import XML. done!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10 Apr 2010, 18:29
tidus78's Avatar
tidus78 tidus78 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
mmm strange...perhaps conflict with other product?

P.S. Exscuse me for the errors...i'm italian i don't write very well in english.....
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11 Apr 2010, 00:39
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Are you using prefix rich prefixes? If you only entered a Plain Text prefix, then this won't work.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 28 Apr 2010, 21:45
baghdad4ever baghdad4ever is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: husam
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 06 May 2010, 15:32
Xencored Xencored is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Mike
Thanks alot lynne <3
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07 May 2010, 12:57
gorman gorman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
Would it be possible for this to work as the prefix navigation works here on vb.org?

When one clicks on a prefix, the only way to go back to the unfiltered view is to reclick the prefix or abandon the forum and go elsewhere. Here on vB.org you have the prefix becoming a clickable entry when reading a thread, and the prefix becoming the title of the "forum" when reading all threads with a certain prefix.

I'm referring to the navbit portion, to be clearer.
Having asked two months ago, and back then the developer didn't have the time to implement it, I humbly ask again.

A PayPal donation would be possible, as I'd really like for this to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07 May 2010, 16:59
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
Having asked two months ago, and back then the developer didn't have the time to implement it, I humbly ask again.

A PayPal donation would be possible, as I'd really like for this to happen.
this would require significant about of coding.
If you noticed how this product works, you'd have known that it is an extremely "light" product.
It just adds a built-in search query to an element. that's it.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08 May 2010, 10:45
gorman gorman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
CvP, what I ask is already working here on vbulletin.org. Would that be so hard to port to 4.x?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08 May 2010, 15:59
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
CvP, what I ask is already working here on vbulletin.org. Would that be so hard to port to 4.x?
If you look at what they do here, these 'prefixes' are actually different forums. This 'prefix', Forum Enhancement forums, is forumid 245. So, they are just using the regular navbits to show the 'prefix'. This mod is using real prefixes, which do not link to a forum.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08 May 2010, 18:08
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
CvP, what I ask is already working here on vbulletin.org. Would that be so hard to port to 4.x?
afaik, they are working on switching vb.org to 4.x.
when that is done, they might consider releasing some of the "in-house" addons.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 18 Jul 2010, 06:03
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Hey Lynne.
I like to have as few forums as possible. On the other hand, merging forums such as "Movies", "Musics" etc in to one "Entertainment" forum discourages some people from posting.

With the help of prefixes (and this mod of yours), this can be solved. I have just one problem.
When filtering a certain prefix, I want the "new thread" button to open a new thread form where the certain prefix is already selected. kinda like a pseudo forum.

so if you are viewing only movie prefix in a forum, clicking the new thread button will pre-select movie prefix.

Is there any easy way to accomplish this?
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 18 Jul 2010, 15:36
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I would guess you could pass the prefixid in the New Thread URL and then use it to set the prefixid for the thread. I can't test that our however since I'm stuck on dialup.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: