Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads Details »
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads
Mod Version: 1.00, by buro9 (Member) buro9 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (33 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 272
Released: 27 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1482
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

This should work on all 4 and 3 versions of vBulletin as it's trivial.

Description:

You start a new thread, this hack makes a tweet about it on your twitter account.

This are live updates... not delayed, not based on RSS... the instant the thread is started, a tweet is made. This is how this hack differs from other hacks.

Why:

Mostly for SEO, but also as an alert system.

For SEO the idea is simply that search engines are drinking from the Twitter firehose and are indexing the links that are tweeted. Faster and increased indexing of your site benefits you by helping it be found.

For alerts it means that users are able to use whatever twitter client they wish to obtain updates. A lot of these provide filtering capabilities, so they're able to get a live filtered stream of updates that interest them. This works very well when you also use thread prefixes.

Pre-requisites:

You should have an account on bit.ly for URL shortening, and you should have an account on Twitter.

Go and register if you haven't yet:
http://bit.ly/
http://twitter.com/

Installation:

NOTE: Most problems are related to not putting your bit.ly or twitter user details in the plugin. Follow the instructions carefully!

Upload the two attached files to your forum root. These are twitter and bitly classes that enable the hack to work, you can also download these from the author:
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/bitly
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/twitter/

Go to the plugin manager and create a new plugin with the following details:
Product: vBulletin
Hook: newthread_post_complete
Title: Tweet to Twitter

PHP Code: [See below]

To configure the PHP code you need to know your bit.ly API key (go get it from bit.ly/account) and your username and password for twitter.

You also should make a list of the forumIds that are non-public as you will want to put these in the array provided.

i.e. if your admin forum is forumId = 7 and you also have a private forum for regular members which is forumid = 12, then you will want this:
$excludedForums = array(7, 12);

The PHP code should be this, with all of the relevant values for your forum inserted (replace everything bolded, including the < and > bits):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So the bit.ly line might look like this after you've put your values in:
$bitly = new Bitly('testUser', 'R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6');
NOT
$bitly = new Bitly('<testUser>', '<R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6>');
See? Remove those <> bits, they just show what to replace.

The shortUrl line might look like this:
$shortUrl = 'http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t='.$newpost[threadid];

The Twitter line might look like this:
$twitter = new Twitter('stephenfry','op1umisn1ce');

All make sense?

And that's it. Save and activate the plugin and create a test thread.

Now whenever a new thread is started, a tweet will be made to twitter instantly.

You can see this in effect here:
http://twitter.com/lfgss

That is being pushed new threads for http://www.lfgss.com/ and it's working perfectly.

Any questions?

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Q: It doesn't work!

A: That's not a question, however if it doesn't work then it's extremely likely you got your username and passwords wrong or left the < > signs in there. Double-check and do it again.

Q: I see an "INVALID_JSON" error

A: Disable bitly by setting $useBitly to false.
Q: I see an "You must be authenticated to access shorten" error

A: The credentials that you entered are either wrong, or you made a mess of the syntax. You did remove the < > when you put your values in right? Did you check the example given above?

Q: I see an error that says "Warning: curl_setopt_array() [function.curl-setopt-array]: CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION cannot be activated when in safe_mode or an open_basedir is set in [path]/bitly.php"

A: Wow, that's a good one... but easily fixable. Insert this at line 136 (just after the CURL options) in bitly.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases vBulletin 2 Twitter - Take Your News Straight To Twitter! AHealthForum vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 115 22 Feb 2013 23:02

  #121  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 05:08
TroyTrojansFan TroyTrojansFan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I've followed the instructions I believe and have installed everything, but new threads aren't being posted at Twitter. I don't get any error messages on the forums or at Twitter.

I saw that buro9 told someone they could PM him their PHP info so I'm going to do that and see if I might have messed up the syntax.

Thank you for your help, looking forward to getting this fix and running with it.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 09:59
ChopSuey ChopSuey is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alaska
Real name: Corey
Wow you are the bomb! Is there a way to get some of the words from the new thread? Just installed, http://forum.vbdiscussions.com - http://twitter.com/vbdiscussions
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 21:16
I.am I.am is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
It doesn't work with vBSEO enabled with custom URL structure, any solution?
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 23:38
TroyTrojansFan TroyTrojansFan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by I.am View Post
It doesn't work with vBSEO enabled with custom URL structure, any solution?
Seems it's not working with the new vbseo for me either.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 23:47
I.am I.am is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have tried to replace this string:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with my own custom URL string but without success, it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 01:16
TroyTrojansFan TroyTrojansFan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by I.am View Post
I have tried to replace this string:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with my own custom URL string but without success, it doesn't work.
Yeah, the "showthread.php?t=" is not what shows up in a thread listing page URL when you use vbseo 3.5, so I mentioned to buro9 that might be the problem. But I have no clue. I'm not getting any error messages when I make a thread nor do I see any on the Twitter page. It just looks like nothing is happening. I asked my host and they said that CURL and JSON were enabled as well.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 04:18
nci nci is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by TroyTrojansFan View Post
Seems it's not working with the new vbseo for me either.
That is not true,It does work with VBSEO,I use 3.5 with VB 4.01

Works like Magic.
Installed and Nominated,Simplest and Complete.
I have used Milad version before ,but this rocks !!!,Thanks a million buro 9 ,For the last one Month I have frequent here looking for this.

Last edited by nci; 05 Feb 2010 at 04:25.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 05:09
newmomsforum newmomsforum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Works great for me and I'm another new VBSEO user to - Thanks

Last edited by newmomsforum; 05 Feb 2010 at 05:28.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 05:56
Boko577's Avatar
Boko577 Boko577 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Got the authenticated error, and yes, I put in ALL the details. I've checked over and over, and it's correct. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 08:42
thisgeek thisgeek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by tenjinzan View Post
Got it working perfectly first try. I read through the comments here, but I didn't see it (I may have missed, so forgive me if I did). Is there a way to include the Poster's name in the tweet? I'm not sure what the syntax would be for the tweet line.

Basically, I just want it to say "Thread name" by "Poster" ... bit.ly/url I can see WHERE to put it, but I'm not sure of the variable that refers to the poster of a thread.

I'd also like to do this - just not sure what variable to use (if it's available).

And thanks - mod works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 09:10
I.am I.am is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Solved! And now works great

I have used Hook: newtreply_post_complete instead to use Hook: newthread_post_complete

Last edited by I.am; 05 Feb 2010 at 09:18.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 09:32
Chicken Racer Chicken Racer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
worked great , after I spent an hour trying to fine those <> bits that I could not see in front of me ..lol
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 09:34
Chicken Racer Chicken Racer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by Boko577 View Post
Got the authenticated error, and yes, I put in ALL the details. I've checked over and over, and it's correct. Any ideas?
I thought that myself but it was just a simple entry error I made... look harder.
Yes it's frustrating as hell .. instructions supplied confused me a little.
Pm your code a I fresh set of eyes might see the problem
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 14:45
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by I.am View Post
Solved! And now works great

I have used Hook: newtreply_post_complete instead to use Hook: newthread_post_complete
Can you expand on this a bit? What was solved? Is this a method of getting all the posts, not just a new thread? Where did you change this?
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 06 Feb 2010, 01:46
newmomsforum newmomsforum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
Can you expand on this a bit? What was solved? Is this a method of getting all the posts, not just a new thread? Where did you change this?

That's an option made available when originally setting up the plugin, if you edit your plugin you'll see a drop down box with hook references. You can select it from there
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: