Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login Details »
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 136
Released: 24 Nov 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1433
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

***Attention: This product is currently UNSUPPORTED***

We would like to release an Alpha version of the vBulletin4 Cerberus product. This product allows you to create one vBulletin4 installation which can power unlimited number of domains and sub-domains; while allowing to customize each domain differently to make it look like different sites or sections. Domains will have one universal admincp and user login information.

***Example***
www.supercoolautoforum.com - main site, all forums
ferarri.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
bmw.supercoolautoforum.com- custom style and forums, same login
honda.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
supercoolmotorcycleforum.com - custom style and forums, same login

*** Why are you releasing this, I want more features?! ***

This is a very simple product; we believe that the basic functionality provided in this product will satisfy a lot of communities - and since the product is simple - it will be easy to extend it and modify it to work for your custom community requirements.

Overview of Current Features:
  • One shared installation of vBulletin 4
  • One shared user account on all domains
  • Custom Style for each domain
  • Custom Forum listing for each domain
Known Issues:
  • CMS and Blogs are currently not configured to have special domain-specific categories and sections. CMS is shared across all sites although the appearance will be different for each domain.


Project Contributors: s.lauderdale;m.biddle;a.ahn; anders

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:04
kayobrussy kayobrussy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I cant understand how is works.

Any tutorial?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:09
Nephalim Nephalim is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Bootsy Colins
Originally Posted by kayobrussy View Post
I cant understand how is works.

Any tutorial?
You can have two different domain names like:
kayobrussyTRUCKS.com
and
kayobrussyCARS.com
They both go to one VBulletin forum, but when a User clicks either it will have a different style / skin / forum. But it's just ONE VBulletin forum. I think.

We're looking for something like this last week as using two domains currently with two different styles in Our one forum. Is not working.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:15
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thanks for releasing this. Some questions:

- if a user logs in on domain 1, will the user be visible on who's online on domain 2?
- can a vb3 and a vb4 installation be combined? i.e. domain 1 runs vb3, while domain 2 runs vb4.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:30
Overbr Overbr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
please help in instalation

hello, thanks for sharing the mod.
But please, you need a tutorial on how to make it work, install the vb 4.0.8 and it did absolutely nothing, even configuring the cpanel.
We have 4 domains

What to do. Htacess usage?
How do the targeting?

What is the correct installation process?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:45
Nephalim Nephalim is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Bootsy Colins
Just tried it on a test site and it did nothing. Threw 404 errors and a few DB errors. So we uninstalled. Hope you get it sorted out because this sounds really promising!!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 00:56
COBRAws's Avatar
COBRAws COBRAws is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Real name: Jack
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
Thanks for releasing this. Some questions:

- if a user logs in on domain 1, will the user be visible on who's online on domain 2?
- can a vb3 and a vb4 installation be combined? i.e. domain 1 runs vb3, while domain 2 runs vb4.
Having one forum running on vb3 and another on vb4 wont be possible since this hack only allows a single installation to "operate" on several domains and/or subdomains.

-

I would like to know if lastonline cookie affects all forums or just the one visited.
__________________
cobraws
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 01:30
War.Frog's Avatar
War.Frog War.Frog is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 View Post
See hacks like this would be awesome, but it is beyond stupid to have a valid vbulletin license for each subdomain like sub.maindomain.com. It is still on the maindomain.com domain, so there should be no need for licenses for each subdomain.
Agree 100%. Running a thousand different sites from one domain and using multiple subdomains appears to be completely within the licensing terms of vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 09:46
SocialNetworkBuzz SocialNetworkBuzz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Will this work with 4.1.0 Beta 1?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 11:21
SocialNetworkBuzz SocialNetworkBuzz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by Nephalim View Post
Just tried it on a test site and it did nothing. Threw 404 errors and a few DB errors. So we uninstalled. Hope you get it sorted out because this sounds really promising!!
Working great for me. I was getting ready to start 2 new forums, so used them as a test..

http://www.worldofcataclysm.net/ and http://www.hoosierforums.com/

I must say well done! I like how each domain can even use it's own facebook connection API. A helpful feature for someone like me as my two sites would have nothing in common would be able to tie Admin accounts to select which username to post under. Also custom profile fields based on domain would be amazing.

Originally Posted by COBRAws View Post
I would like to know if lastonline cookie affects all forums or just the one visited.
I'm gonna guess based on the "cookiedomain=.domain-1.com" in the config for each domain, that stuff based on domains don't share same cookies, but things like user profile do since it is a unique global.

Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
if a user logs in on domain 1, will the user be visible on who's online on domain 2?
Yes, all domains share same WoL and account profile.
__________________

Last edited by SocialNetworkBuzz; 26 Nov 2010 at 11:34.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 11:32
Overbr Overbr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Stabatha View Post
Working great for me. I was getting ready to start 2 new forums, so used them as a test..

http://www.worldofcataclysm.net/ and http://www.hoosierforums.com/

I must say well done! I like how each domain can even use it's own facebook connection API. A helpful feature for someone like me as my two sites would have nothing in common would be able to tie Admin accounts to select which username to post under. Also custom profile fields based on domain would be amazing.
which procedure you did for installation?
You can say step by step?

tks
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 11:48
SocialNetworkBuzz SocialNetworkBuzz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Sure, was easy, first I just imported the product.xml then once it completed I went into setting --> options and scrolled down all the way to the bottom and selected vB Cerberus and then just filled in the box in the top right corner based on the example in the left side.

Like this..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 12:05
SocialNetworkBuzz SocialNetworkBuzz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Cookies per domain don't seem to work. I logged into worldofcataclysm.net using my admin account name. Then logged in in another browser tab to hoosierforums.com using the admin account I made for it. Afterwards going to a new page on my 1st domain I was now logged in as second domains Admin instead of the 1st domains.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 14:07
Overbr Overbr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Stabatha View Post
Sure, was easy, first I just imported the product.xml then once it completed I went into setting --> options and scrolled down all the way to the bottom and selected vB Cerberus and then just filled in the box in the top right corner based on the example in the left side.

Like this..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
in their domain are configured as host? Park or in vps and domains in differentiated services?
Why did the installation, but when I try to access www.xxxx.com he does absolutely nothing.
I have a forum in the same subdomain http://forum.xxxx.com directing and pointing at him with http://www.XXX1.com http://www.XXX2.com or no directions.

The problem here is not to be directing the pointing to the domain .. do not know if this term is well
If I could pass the config used on your VPS / HOST thank
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 14:14
Santori Santori is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Each forum can have his own style, this is an vb native option.

I only see usable this mod for acumulate domains.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 26 Nov 2010, 14:30
SocialNetworkBuzz SocialNetworkBuzz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by Overbr View Post
in their domain are configured as host? Park or in vps and domains in differentiated services?
Why did the installation, but when I try to access www.xxxx.com he does absolutely nothing.
I have a forum in the same subdomain http://forum.xxxx.com directing and pointing at him with http://www.XXX1.com http://www.XXX2.com or no directions.

The problem here is not to be directing the pointing to the domain .. do not know if this term is well
If I could pass the config used on your VPS / HOST thank
I use cPanel. I first created domain 1 in WHM and gave it a static IP. I then went into cPanel -> AddOn Domains and added Domain2 as a addon domain. For Document Root: I used just public_html so it shares same directory as domain one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:10.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: