Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #151  
Old 29 Apr 2012, 05:17
tommythejoat's Avatar
tommythejoat tommythejoat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tom McIntyre
It is possible that something else got altered in our customized styles but this part seemed so simple that I don't really see how.

Here is a link to the site to see what it looks like. http://mb.nawcc.org you do not need to be logged in the see the irregular formatting.
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 29 Apr 2012, 17:15
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
The only page I see the subforums listed in columns is on the main page. None of the forumdisplay pages have that, so I am not seeing any problem at all.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 29 Apr 2012, 18:42
tommythejoat's Avatar
tommythejoat tommythejoat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tom McIntyre
I thought we were talking about the listing of subforums on the main page. That is what I was using your css for.

Since the upgrade the right hand columns do not align between categories. Before the upgrade all the right hand columns started on the same column position. I had thought that the ol 100% list followed by the 1i 50% width would control the alignment.

The person who set up the styles for that display is no longer available, so maybe I just need to study it some more if you say it is unrelated to this css discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 30 Apr 2012, 00:39
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Ah, I see what you mean. You said it differed from forum to forum and I thought you meant looking at one forum page (forumdisplay) versus another (cuz if you have subforums on those pages, then the code will align them on those pages also).

If you look at the page using firebug, you'll see that the width given to each of the <li> is different. You need to do something to set those to 100%. You'll have to play with it a bit cuz lists are a bit odd with CSS.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 29 May 2012, 19:28
nextdayonline nextdayonline is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks, just used this in one of our forums. Great help!
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 14 Jul 2012, 02:39
slinky slinky is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I'm not sure what you mean. I just tested that on my default 4.1.12 site and it looks the same on the forum.php page as on the forumdisplay.php page.
Lynne - this is perhaps one of the most useful articles in the 10+ years I have been around. I can't tell you how much work it saves so many people trying to accomplish the same and used to do with awful plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 14 Jul 2012, 03:00
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'm glad you found it useful.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 21 Jul 2012, 05:48
Dr Aj642's Avatar
Dr Aj642 Dr Aj642 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hi Lynne,

Thanks for putting this code up. So i managed to split a specific category. This category has 30 forums in it. So i was thinking this code would split 15 on the left and 15 on the right. Instead it has done 12 on the left and 18 on the right. Any ideas on how to fix this? I've tried fiddling with some percentages, but i'm lost.

Help would be appreciated thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 21 Jul 2012, 18:21
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Dr Aj642 View Post
Hi Lynne,

Thanks for putting this code up. So i managed to split a specific category. This category has 30 forums in it. So i was thinking this code would split 15 on the left and 15 on the right. Instead it has done 12 on the left and 18 on the right. Any ideas on how to fix this? I've tried fiddling with some percentages, but i'm lost.

Help would be appreciated thanks.
How about a link to view the problem? (If a forum name is really long, then it may 'push' another forum to be listed underneath it instead of beside it.)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 22 Jul 2012, 06:45
Dr Aj642's Avatar
Dr Aj642 Dr Aj642 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
How about a link to view the problem? (If a forum name is really long, then it may 'push' another forum to be listed underneath it instead of beside it.)
Here is what it looks like http://abasketballjones.com/wp-conte...rum-column.png

The above image is only half of it. But still you see whats happened.

This is the code i put in:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 05:53
Dr Aj642's Avatar
Dr Aj642 Dr Aj642 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
any ideas lynne?
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 17:37
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
As I said, I need a link to the site/style in order to view the problem. I like to use firebug for CSS issues and I can't do that without a link to the site/style.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 30 Jul 2012, 19:40
tommythejoat's Avatar
tommythejoat tommythejoat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tom McIntyre
Question

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Ah, I see what you mean. You said it differed from forum to forum and I thought you meant looking at one forum page (forumdisplay) versus another (cuz if you have subforums on those pages, then the code will align them on those pages also).

If you look at the page using firebug, you'll see that the width given to each of the <li> is different. You need to do something to set those to 100%. You'll have to play with it a bit cuz lists are a bit odd with CSS.
This response sf from a while ago, but I had some time today to look at it again and I remain confused about what is going on. I examined several of the li tags with FireBug and they all are pretty much the same. Where would I find the width you are referring to above?

Here is what the code looks like.

html:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

css:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The css looks just like your example to me but there does not seem to be any width control. I suppose it is possible that the containers have different widths, but visibly they are the same for each of the categories.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 06 Aug 2012, 09:54
Dr Aj642's Avatar
Dr Aj642 Dr Aj642 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
As I said, I need a link to the site/style in order to view the problem. I like to use firebug for CSS issues and I can't do that without a link to the site/style.
Ok, here it is.

http://abasketballjones.com/forum/forum.php?styleid=3

Hope that helps.

Cheers Lynne
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 06 Aug 2012, 18:03
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Dr Aj642 View Post
Ok, here it is.

http://abasketballjones.com/forum/forum.php?styleid=3

Hope that helps.

Cheers Lynne
You should increase the min-height for ".forumbit_nopost .forumbit_nopost .forumrow, .forumbit_post .forumrow" to something like 100px or so and see if that fixes it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: