Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
FORM to THREAD/ FORUM/ POLL/ PM/ EMAIL - CUSTOMIZABLE FORMS - Mod Apps, Orders, News. Details »
FORM to THREAD/ FORUM/ POLL/ PM/ EMAIL - CUSTOMIZABLE FORMS - Mod Apps, Orders, News.
Mod Version: 1.00, by Erwin (Member) Erwin is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.3 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 214
Released: 12 Jun 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 163
Not Supported  

FORM to THREAD/ FORUM/ POLL/ PM/ EMAIL - Totally CUSTOMIZABLE FORMS
Version 1.6 for vBulletin 3.x.x by Dr Erwin Loh

Features:

Ever wanted an online form that a user can fill out, which when submitted gets:

1. Posted into a new thread in a forum of your choice
2. Create a new poll in the new thread with options of your choice
3. Posted as a reply in an existing thread of your choice
4. PMed to you or someone else
5. Emailed to an email address you specify
6. Choose to redirect to the post, thread or forum, or a custom thank you message
7. Choose to redirect to editpost to upload attachments

Or any combination or all of the above?

Well, this is the hack for you!

You can use this for:

1) Moderator Applications
2) Quiz Submit Form which gets PMed to a moderator
3) Contact Form that goes to PM, email or thread
4) Guests to apply to be members
5) Report a Moderator form that goes as a PM to you
6) Guests can PM you for whatever reason
7) Order form to buy things
8) Donation form
9) News or Articles submissions that can go straight to a thread


Or anything you like - this hack is totally customizable via the PHP file.
Basically, this hack involves modifying 1 PHP file form.php (you add questions, options etc. in the PHP file itself), uploading it, and then adding 2 templates.

The beauty of this hack is that once you have added the 2 templates, to make a new form, all you need to do is copy the form.php and rename it to form2.php, edit the variables in the PHP file, and you have a totally new form!!! You do not need to touch the templates again.

Format of the form:

1. One main input question
2. 2 Radio buttons Choice questions
3. 3 Normal text input questions
4. 1 Long answer question

This is customizable via the PHP file.

Also:
- You can set the usergroups you want access to this form.
- Depending on your forum permissions, if the new thread is in a public forum, members can reply to it. This hack allows a form to submit the new thread or post wherever you want it to go.
- Force the user to answer all questions.


INSTALLATION


Easy - takes only a few minutes:

1. Add the 2 templates.

2. Edit form.php - the instructions are all inside the PHP file itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!

3. Upload form.php

Just link to form1.php eg. http://www.yourforum.com/forums/form.php

Done!

Use this hack to make as many forms as you like!

Enjoy!


Updates:

Version 1.1 - Option to force user to answer all questions.
Version 1.2 - Thread count and lastposter information now updated if form is sent to existing thread.
Version 1.3 - ADDED CREATE POLL OPTION!
Version 1.4 - Fixed bug with Form-to-thread code
Version 1.5 - Major update:
- fixed bug where thread count not updated when form to forum
- fixed default posting to allow smilies and sigs when reply to thread
- added templates to cache (saves 2 queries)
- added option to change thank you message
- added options to redirect to post, thread or forum when submit
Version 1.6 - Choose to redirect to editpost to upload attachments

Screenshot is an example of a form - the form title and questions are customizable:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	formthreadpmemail.JPG
Views:	5267
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	19134  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forms Hack - goto form when making new thread per forum flup vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 3 22 Jun 2010 14:42
FORM TO FORUM/ THREAD/ PM/ EMAIL - CUSTOMIZABLE FORMS for Mod Apps, Orders, News Erwin vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 218 15 Mar 2007 08:01

  #436  
Old 16 Jun 2005, 13:12
jeepinaround jeepinaround is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Shane
It was easy, just some code to change. It is posted in this thread some where.
__________________
Shane
www.coloradofourwheelers.org
Reply With Quote
  #437  
Old 17 Jun 2005, 03:05
GiJoe GiJoe is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by paul41598
I have figured out a way to do dropdowns if anyone is interested
Yes :nervous:
Reply With Quote
  #438  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 17:47
MrTchMan MrTchMan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
I am having a problem. I have set up the form to require all information to be filled in. I was testing it out and if I complete the form it would give me a error message. When I hot the back button the error message stays up and I have to refresh the form before it will come back up and I loose all the information. Any Ideas???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #439  
Old 20 Jun 2005, 18:06
jeepinaround jeepinaround is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Shane
Can no one help me out? After filling out the form I get a blank thread. No errors or anything.
__________________
Shane
www.coloradofourwheelers.org
Reply With Quote
  #440  
Old 20 Jun 2005, 20:49
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Please double check edits/templates.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #441  
Old 20 Jun 2005, 22:14
midnightz midnightz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Hello

I also believe in theory it would be easy to add a browse feature and then it could upload a file (lets say banner) into a directory in forums (ie forums/banners/)

Thank you - this is the last tweak I need for this to be perfect!

Last edited by midnightz; 21 Jun 2005 at 14:38.
Reply With Quote
  #442  
Old 21 Jun 2005, 00:07
jeepinaround jeepinaround is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Shane
Unhappy

Yeah I triple checked everything and no luck so I had to take it off. I didn't really want to as when it was working it was exactly what I needed. To me it seems as though it quit working when I upgraded to 3.0.7. No way to prove it and I am moderate at coding php. I can get around it and see things that I wouldn't have just 1 year ago but still no luck with this mod. Still if anyone has any suggestions please post them as I would love for this to work again. I just needed to make the forum so people could at least post in it.
__________________
Shane
www.coloradofourwheelers.org
Reply With Quote
  #443  
Old 21 Jun 2005, 14:15
MrTchMan MrTchMan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by MrTchMan
I am having a problem. I have set up the form to require all information to be filled in. I was testing it out and if I complete the form it would give me a error message. When I hot the back button the error message stays up and I have to refresh the form before it will come back up and I loose all the information. Any Ideas???

Thanks

Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #444  
Old 21 Jun 2005, 14:42
midnightz midnightz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by MrTchMan
Anyone have any ideas?
On line 137



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change 0 to variable 1.

and make sure you have all created fields (lets say answer 9) in form / form answers / and inside the php file and bottom code on line 234 to 235

where it says:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

etc....

Last edited by midnightz; 21 Jun 2005 at 14:44.
Reply With Quote
  #445  
Old 21 Jun 2005, 15:00
MrTchMan MrTchMan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by midnightz
On line 137



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change 0 to variable 1.

and make sure you have all created fields (lets say answer 9) in form / form answers / and inside the php file and bottom code on line 234 to 235

where it says:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

etc....
Here is my form.php I have that option checked. It does requre me to fill out all info but when a user doesn't it gives them the error message and when they hit back it doesn't go back. Maybe I am over looking something. THanks in advance


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #446  
Old 21 Jun 2005, 16:15
paul41598's Avatar
paul41598 paul41598 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Wink

Here is a documentation I wrote up for anyone who wants dropdowns as well, in their forms.


Good luck, and enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: txt form_dropdowns_paul41598.txt (4.8 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #447  
Old 22 Jun 2005, 22:39
bluesteel bluesteel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Real name: Alan
Hi Erwin,

Great hack! Very flexible and just what I was looking for. Thanks!

I have a question for either your good self, or anyone else who might like to reply.

Is there a line of code or something that I can add to the form.php file that puts the new thread in the ACP Thread Moderation queue? I have the specific forum that the new thread is created in set for new Threads to be Moderated, but the form.php ignores this and posts.
If you know what I mean! :squareeyed:

Thanks in advance for any help that may be forthcoming guys.

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #448  
Old 24 Jun 2005, 22:06
jaredvolkl jaredvolkl is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by bluesteel
Hi Erwin,

Great hack! Very flexible and just what I was looking for. Thanks!

I have a question for either your good self, or anyone else who might like to reply.

Is there a line of code or something that I can add to the form.php file that puts the new thread in the ACP Thread Moderation queue? I have the specific forum that the new thread is created in set for new Threads to be Moderated, but the form.php ignores this and posts.
If you know what I mean! :squareeyed:

Thanks in advance for any help that may be forthcoming guys.

Alan
This is exactly what I need to do. I have a forum that I'd like new threads posted to go into moderation when they are posted through this form. I've tried setting the visible value to 0 which gets pushed to both post and thread, but that was no help.
Reply With Quote
  #449  
Old 27 Jun 2005, 13:57
Marcus Lau Marcus Lau is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Erwin ... nin bei dan sibei gu liao! Thanks Erwin and God Bless You Richly!
__________________
Super Duper Extreme Estactic Owner of Incredible Awesome vBulletin.com and vBulletin.org of Vbulletin licence Software.
Reply With Quote
  #450  
Old 28 Jun 2005, 00:59
MrTchMan MrTchMan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Anyone? Please?


Originally Posted by MrTchMan
Here is my form.php I have that option checked. It does requre me to fill out all info but when a user doesn't it gives them the error message and when they hit back it doesn't go back. Maybe I am over looking something. THanks in advance


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: