Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AdminFuel - Thread Starter Details »
AdminFuel - Thread Starter
Mod Version: 1.1, by rockinaway (Member) rockinaway is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.4 Rating: (5 votes - 4.20 average) Installs: 23
Released: 26 Sep 2009 Last Update: 26 Sep 2009 Downloads: 97
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Thread Starter v1.1

Simple modification that adds an image next to the thread starter's username.

This is my first modification, as I am not too sure with the vBulletin code. Please give me your feedback as it is a simple modification but I am sure it can be improved. Sorry for any code issues

Image thanks to FamFamFam

Installtion:

- Upload image provided to images/misc
- Upload threadstarter.xml folder to install product
- APPLY THE FOLLOWING TEMPLATE EDIT
In the postbit template you are using (default is 'postbit') add $thread_starter_img at the location you wish the image to be displayed.

Example
In the postbit template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Demo and Support: http://www.adminfuel.com

Thanks
rockinaway

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 12:12
Sador's Avatar
Sador Sador is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Congrats on your first mod.

Just tried to install this to be able to give you some feedback. It isn't too clear where you should add $thread_starter_img in the navbar template. Not everybody knows where they have to put the code to make it work, and if you put it at the wrong place, you'll get an annoying error when you want to view a topic.

Maybe you could add to your instructions where you have to place the code so the image will show up where you meant it to be?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 12:58
4nawadir.com's Avatar
4nawadir.com 4nawadir.com is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Real name: Abdallah
Nice mod , thanks ...
Installed ...
__________________
لا اله الا الله محمد رسول الله
Facebook Me!
Université Abdelhamid Ibn Badis Mostaganem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:03
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Thanks for the feedback. It's intended for the postbit, I have updated the instructions here for a guide as to where to add it
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:17
Sador's Avatar
Sador Sador is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fatal error: Call to a member function query_first() on a non-object in forum/includes/class_postbit.php(265) : eval()'d code on line 3

This is the error I get when enabling your product and visit one of my forums. First I thought it was because of the wrong place for the code, but it disappears when I disable your product.

But thanks for adding the example.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:20
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Have you updated your vBulletin version? I was getting this error on my test board for some strange reason. As you can see, it works fine on the demo board.

Are there any other modifications you have installed?
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:25
Sador's Avatar
Sador Sador is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Originally Posted by rockinaway View Post
Have you updated your vBulletin version? I was getting this error on my test board for some strange reason. As you can see, it works fine on the demo board.

Are there any other modifications you have installed?
It's the most recent version of vBulletin.

Yep, I do, a few. I've disabled all of them now to check if something is conflicting. I can now see my the forums again, but upon clicking a thread or trying to make a thread, I get that error message again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:29
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
I am slightly confused with this, since I don't have that much experience with vBulletin I can't give you a solution right away using vBulletin code. I can give you one that should work in normal PHP code.

I will have to look into this as to why it won't work on certain boards.
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:31
Sador's Avatar
Sador Sador is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Don't worry about it, it's a testboard anyway. Hope you'll figure it out, it seems like a nice mod.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 13:33
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Okays, I have posted a thread in the programming area for some help. I will post here as soon as I do get some information.

Thanks again

You can also go to my forum if you wish to get some other resources and help
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 14:03
erel34's Avatar
erel34 erel34 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 17:27
yahoooh yahoooh is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
demo plz
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 17:43
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Demo is at http://www.adminfuel.com
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 17:50
rockinaway rockinaway is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Updated with less code. Much simpler and should now work anywhere. I am sorry about this, I am just not familiar with all the variables yet.

Thanks
__________________
AdminFuel - Discussion and Resources for Forum Admins
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 Sep 2009, 18:10
Sador's Avatar
Sador Sador is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Originally Posted by rockinaway View Post
Updated with less code. Much simpler and should now work anywhere. I am sorry about this, I am just not familiar with all the variables yet.

Thanks
It works now, nice job.

And don't worry about it, everybody has got to learn. Hope you'll continue to make nice mods.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: