Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Page Output Compression - Whitespace stripper. Details »
Page Output Compression - Whitespace stripper.
Mod Version: 1.00, by buro9 (Member) buro9 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.0.6 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 70
Released: 23 Sep 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 7
Not Supported  

No longer supported by the author.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 17:11
nexialys
Guest
 
this have been done in another hack related to templates compression...

most of the time, it's not good to have such a feature because html is not written well, or is not xhtml relevent...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 17:18
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by nexialys
this have been done in another hack related to templates compression...
I did search, maybe you could point to where this is.

Originally Posted by nexialys
most of the time, it's not good to have such a feature because html is not written well, or is not xhtml relevent...
The hack doesn't break things, it doesn't affect JavaScript, etc... it merely collapses white space.

As both HTML and XHTML renderers ignore white space the hack can't possibly do anything that the HTML or XHTML wasn't already doing.

I've tested it on my forum and been sure to not upset anything anywhere... I only replace multiple white spaces with a single space... there is no chance a renderering engine will alter what it does because of this.

If I didn't put back 1 white space for the many taken out, then I would agree that I might be affecting the page display or something... as someone might've relied on spacing. However, I leave a single space in there for that reason.

Please show me how my hack does what you imply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 21:14
Red Blaze's Avatar
Red Blaze Red Blaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Frank E.
I'm using 3.0.0, and I had to do something else, and still worked.

You see, I didn't find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But I did find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I just put:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

AFTER what I had to find and it works just as you said. Now my forums are running faster. ^^;;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 21:48
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by Sonikku
I'm using 3.0.0, and I had to do something else, and still worked.

You see, I didn't find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But I did find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Strange indeed.

I've just checked the default file from Jelsoft for vBulletin 3.0.3 and the code as I've pasted it is on line 1852. So it is there when shipped.

You must've removed it at some point, maybe for another hack?

Well... no worries. If it didn't have the if (DB_QUERIES) block then you would be best to place the hack code BEFORE the $pageendtime variable. Otherwise the stat you get telling you how long the page took to load will not reflect the inclusion of the hack, as the $pageendtime is literally the timestamp of the page as it finishes being generated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 21:49
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Hehe... I just noticed you said 3.0.0. Well, the hack version does say 3.0.3

It works anyway... just place the hack BEFORE the $pageendtime variable is set
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 22:13
58sniper 58sniper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
That won't work if someone uses the <pre> tag, which utilizes whitespace for formatting.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Sep 2004, 23:24
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by 58sniper
That won't work if someone uses the <pre> tag, which utilizes whitespace for formatting.
A fine point... added a 'lite' version to the first post that leaves white space at the beginning of lines alone.

However if you have a tech site in which you paste lots of HTML, etc... and you want to preserve space within that. Then you'd be best not using this hack at all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24 Sep 2004, 02:40
Ghostsuit's Avatar
Ghostsuit Ghostsuit is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Simple and effective. Oh and anyone that has VB3 MicroStats hack installed will not be able to find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

so place it before


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats should do the job.
__________________
Face Your Fears, Live Your Dreams
www.altnation.com

Last edited by Ghostsuit; 30 Sep 2004 at 11:53.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 Sep 2004, 23:17
mrboz's Avatar
mrboz mrboz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
wow - this makes every page load much faster

thanks very much, great hack.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Sep 2004, 00:47
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by mrboz
wow - this makes every page load much faster

thanks very much, great hack.
Your site will be even quicker if you let vBulletin store your CSS as external files. Then they can cache in the browser and you send less with each page request
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Sep 2004, 01:09
turbidblue's Avatar
turbidblue turbidblue is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: John
Originally Posted by buro9
Your site will be even quicker if you let vBulletin store your CSS as external files. Then they can cache in the browser and you send less with each page request

how?

/me is interested
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 Sep 2004, 13:31
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by turbidblue
how?

* turbidblue is interested
Check your AdminCP options:

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Style & Language Settings > Store CSS Stylesheets as Files? = Yes

Note that vBulletin needs to be able to write the files to the folder:
If you would like to store the CSS stylesheet for each style as a file, you must ensure that you have a directory called 'vbulletin_css' inside the 'clientscript' folder, and that the web server has permission to write and delete files within that directory.
So you will need to create the directory is it doesn't exist, and then CHMOD the directory in question to have permissions something like 755 or 775 depending on how your Apache is configured. You don't want to CHMOD it 777... you never want to do that.

You can usually set permissions via FTP programs or SFTP... but it can always be done from SSH or Telnet
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26 Sep 2004, 13:35
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by buro9
Check your AdminCP options:

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Style & Language Settings > Store CSS Stylesheets as Files? = Yes

Note that vBulletin needs to be able to write the files to the folder:


So you will need to create the directory is it doesn't exist, and then CHMOD the directory in question to have permissions something like 755 or 775 depending on how your Apache is configured. You don't want to CHMOD it 777... you never want to do that.

You can usually set permissions via FTP programs or SFTP... but it can always be done from SSH or Telnet
And yes, I realise that 664 is probably a better chmod... but you know... some servers I've been on are just lovely and hardened and prevent writing withour very specific chmod values... 755 and 775 being the most common two... so I was being lazy in giving execute too as this prevents people bugging me about something unrelated to the hack
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 Sep 2004, 15:58
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
The full version screws up nicely formatted posts when you edit them, so I have used the "lite" version which doesn't do this.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: