Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
[How to] Install Plug-ins/Hooks
Brad
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,765

Washington
by Brad Brad is offline 07 Jun 2005

This is a basic guide to installing plug-in's via the admin cp written for newbies

What you should have

All plug-in's require one thing, a .xml that contains the plug-in name, php code, and hook location. In most cases this file will be named plugin_name.xml but some authors may not change the file name and use the default vbulletin-plugins.xml filename.

Some plug-in's may require you to run SQL queries on the database before you can use them, you can find instructions on how to do this in Logician's "How to install a vBulletin Hack" thread found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=39142

Installing the Plug-in

This is a very simple process, browse to the download/upload plug-in's page in your admin cp (located at http://www.yoururl.com/forum/admincp...n.php?do=files)

See the first attachment for a picture of the page I'm talking about

In the "Import Plugin Definitions XML File" table locate the "EITHER upload the XML file from your computer" columns and click on the browse button. A new window will pop up, locate the plug-in.xml file on your hard-drive and select it. Click the 'Import' button. Your plug-in is now active.

If the .xml file is large and you are worried about php time outs you can upload it to the /xml/ folder in your forum root, then insert the correct filename/path in the "OR import the XML file from your server" column.

Next thing you will want to do is browse to the plug-in manager page (located at http://www.yoururl.com/forum/admincp....php?do=modify) and make sure your newly added plug-in's are active.

See second attachment for a pic.

I almost forgot, if your plug-in's are set up correctly but not working make sure you have the global vBoption for the plug-in system set to enabled. You can find this option in the admin cp by browsing to vBoptions -> Select Plugin/Hook System from menu -> Set Enable Plugin/Hook System to yes.

That is all it is to it!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ht_plugdown.JPG (51.2 KB, 1044 views)
File Type: jpg ht_manage.JPG (26.4 KB, 619 views)

Last edited by Brad.loo; 07 Jun 2005 at 10:30..
Views: 21200
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Jun 2005, 05:49
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
If you ever face major problems with your plugins and can't get into AdminCP to disable them:

Place

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

in config.php.

This will disable the whole plugins system, no matter what the ACP setting is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Jun 2005, 05:52
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
This actually exists ? - only it appeared as a suggestion on vb.com a few minutes ago ???
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Jun 2005, 05:54
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Yeah, that was my fault - I didn't read the files carefully enough
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Jun 2005, 19:24
southernlady's Avatar
southernlady southernlady is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
What about the Hook Location part? Where does that fit in? Liz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 15:59
Borimikan Borimikan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: James
I was trying to find the Pluging/hook on my AdminCP, but I do notr have it.. Im running 3.0.7.. Do i need to do something?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09 Jul 2005, 19:41
xxskullxx xxskullxx is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
It only exists in 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Jul 2005, 11:00
TitanKing TitanKing is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Yea this is one of the major changes VB 3.5.0 offers...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 00:32
WNxWakko's Avatar
WNxWakko WNxWakko is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I am wondering, do upgrades partially wipeout plugins or are plugins pretty much safe from having to fix it to work on the next upgrade?
__________________
WNxWakko
http://warriornation.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 00:33
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
As long as Hooks aren't removed/necessary Objects/Variables for the Plugins changed they will continue to work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 00:36
WNxWakko's Avatar
WNxWakko WNxWakko is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
ok so basically when 3.5 final is out and I begin installing all kinds of plugins and then they release 3.5.1 I can upgrade with no worries that my plugin will stop working.
__________________
WNxWakko
http://warriornation.net
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 00:40
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Well ... could happen, but chances shouldn't be that high.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 23:21
BANDiT600's Avatar
BANDiT600 BANDiT600 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Nikolay
Brad, what they doing, I mean plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 05:22
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I am not Brad, but will still try to answer:
Plugins are small pieces of custom code, that get executed on a hook location. You can see it as putting extra code in a script without modifying the file.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 14:38
lefthome's Avatar
lefthome lefthome is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
This is absolutely amazing. I’m installing new “hacks” that took hours before in a matter of minutes, if not seconds.

Thank god and the creators of 3.5

I love it!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: