Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!) Details »
Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!)
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by Gio~Logist (Coder) Gio~Logist is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (17 votes - 4.41 average) Installs: 337
Released: 25 Feb 2006 Last Update: 28 Mar 2006 Downloads: 945
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  


Brought To You By
Gio~Logist - Vbulletin Solutions & Services
http://www.giologist.com/vb


Premium Version:
http://www.giologist.com/vb/index.ph...fo&productid=1

Premium Admin Demo:
http://www.giologist.com/vb/demo/ext...ields_demo.php
Premium Demo:
http://www.giologist.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=33


**Before Making An Add on **
Please consult with me before making an add on to this hack. As it is my work and such, the add ons that you are trying to make for it may be in the next release and/or premium version.

What does this do?
This hack allows you to add more fields to your threads besides just the title and message. This is extremely usefull in order to specify certain things in a thread in a way that people are more aware of it and such. There are several types of fields you can add and several features for the hack.

What features does this hack provide?
  • Add extra fields to threads. These include:
    • Text fields
    • Select Drop Down Fields
    • Radio Fields
    • Checkbox Fields
  • Enhanced extra threadfields manager - Premium Only *new
  • Search through fields within forums (forumdisplay.php) - Premium Only *new
  • Search through fields in search.php - Premium Only
  • Control order in which fields are displayed
  • Edit thread fields via the "edit thread" page
  • Edit thread fields via the "edit post" page - Premium Only *new
  • Set the forums in which you want fields to appear in - Premium Only (light version may set forumid's, but are a tad more limited as to how many)
  • Show fields automatically in thread
  • Show fields automatically in forumdisplay
  • Make a field required - Premium Only
  • Control what forums the field is shown in
  • Enable/Disable system
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in thread
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in forum
  • Make the field only editable by staff - Premium Only
  • Control what usergroups can edit staff-only editable fields - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in subscriptions - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in forum index - Premium Only
  • Show extra fields in search results - Premium Only
  • Control what fields are searchable - Premium Only
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in forum index - Premium Only
  • Enable/Disable automatic showing fields in search results - Premium Only
  • Style how your extra fields appear in threads (using html) directly from your admincp! - Premium Only *new
  • No template edits required! - Premium Only *new
What does this hack require?
Template Edits: 4
Products Imported: 1

5 Easy Steps
Step 1. Import the following product: product-extra_threadfields.xml
Step 2. Upload the files in the upload folder.
Step 3. Do the edits located below
Step 4. Edit the newly added options in admincp as you please
Step 5. Enjoy the hack.

F.A.Q
Q. How do i get extra fields to show in the "edit post" page?
A. This is only available in the premium version.

Q. If i do not want the fields to be shown automatically, can i do it manually?
A. You can manually show fields in threads or posts by using $thread[fieldx] in the postbit or showthread template. Replace x with the ID of the field you want. To find the ID of the field go to admincp >> Extra Threadfields >> Extra Fields Manager, and hover over a field. The number after fieldid = will be the id of your field.

Q. I updated all of the options, i installed it perfectly, i did all edits, and still the options are not showing when i go to add a new thread. What do i do?
A. It is believed that you have a hack interfering with this one. Take away the edit that you did for putting $extrathreadfields inside the newthread template, and do this instead:

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Enjoy the hack.

Credits:
CMX_CMGSCCC - Big thanks! Could not have done it without you!

Don't forget to click INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions Extra Threadfields Lite(Add Text, Radio, Drop Down, & Checkbox Fields To Threads!) Gio~Logist vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 77 30 Mar 2015 12:45

  #541  
Old 19 Sep 2007, 20:24
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Great hack but I have a few questions.

1. When I use the threadadmin function I can also change the extrafields but this
does not work when I click on EDIT in the first thread. Can this be implemented?

2. Currently in postbit all extrafields are in one line. Can I somehow include a <br /> after each theadfield to have each field in a single row?

3. When I copy a thread from a source forum where the hack is enabled, can I somehow get the postbit extrafields in the target forum thread even if the hack is not active there?

Example: I have an application forum where I want to use this hack.
After the user filled out everything I make a copy to my internal forum so that the staff can talk about it. Now the copied thread does not contain the extrathreadfields anymore which means important info is lost.

4. How can I include a textfield and not only a single line?

5. Can you please add the extra fields to the preview function? Currently they're not displayed if someone clicks on preview

[Feature Request]
I am running a multilingual board so it would be nice to be able to enter Custom Fields based on the language. Some kind of Fieldsets.
Example:
Create a forum two times. Once in language A, other time in language B.
If guest, show default language, otherwise check users language and use the corresponding fieldset.

Kind regards
jluerken
__________________
Ciao jluerken

Last edited by jluerken; 20 Sep 2007 at 10:07.
Reply With Quote
  #542  
Old 21 Sep 2007, 22:04
Mad Woman Mad Woman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I think I'm having the same problem as Bashy and Dodge. If anyone else has solved this problem, can you please contact me and tell me what to do? Thank you!

My problem is that I can not get the extra fields to display when I view the post. Ideally I'd like to view the extra field in the forumdisplay section.

The fields are there and they're working. They just don't display for me when I go back to view the post.
Reply With Quote
  #543  
Old 22 Sep 2007, 11:04
BigJimTheLug BigJimTheLug is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Does this work with vb 3.6.8?
Reply With Quote
  #544  
Old 23 Sep 2007, 02:31
0ptima 0ptima is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by MARKETPROFITS View Post
Does this work with vb 3.6.8?
yes
Reply With Quote
  #545  
Old 28 Sep 2007, 23:40
Defkalion Defkalion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Guys, has anyone figured out how to edit the search.php page so that it can include the extra fields in its default forum search?
Reply With Quote
  #546  
Old 29 Sep 2007, 09:28
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
Planned Features
Additional option to make a field required
When will we see this ?
Reply With Quote
  #547  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 05:37
periphrastic periphrastic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
thanks, installed

simple question,
everything is uploaded / installed / edited

however, when i click on any of the links in the 'extra thread field' options (add / manage), i am directed to a 'page not found.' could you advise? everything looks good besides that functionality issue. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #548  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 15:59
momo2 momo2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
1 Q ? when i want to edit someone's post, i don't have an option to add or correct, his or hers field.. can u add this to editing option ??
Reply With Quote
  #549  
Old 03 Oct 2007, 08:32
The-Ensemble's Avatar
The-Ensemble The-Ensemble is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Jaymes
Great hack, Question: Is it easy to add new fields to new post & edit post too?
Reply With Quote
  #550  
Old 03 Oct 2007, 15:49
wolfe wolfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
is it possible for the poster to edit the extra fields when they click edit post go advanced instead of only the thread admin edit. i want the poster to be able to update the contents of there own post.
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #551  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 06:41
bchertov's Avatar
bchertov bchertov is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Real name: Barry
Originally Posted by wolfe View Post
is it possible for the poster to edit the extra fields when they click edit post go advanced instead of only the thread admin edit. i want the poster to be able to update the contents of there own post.
I just made this mod (editing first post edits the thread fields). I plan to offer this here if its OK with Gio.

Yo, Gio, I made a bunch of changes to your mod:
  1. Editing first post edits threadfields
  2. Separate label for editing and displaying
  3. Option to add threadfield to title of thread
  4. Contols on each thread field to display on forumdisplay and thread display
  5. and probably a few more!
How would you like me to handle distributing this? As my own mod while crediting you for the original design and implementation? As an add-on (but it's really a replacement)? Other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #552  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 07:58
Defkalion Defkalion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Guys, has anyone of you that has the premium version managed to include the extra fields in the forums index default search?

What I mean is this;

This is a topic, with the extra field "director". This specific topic has director "george lucas".




If we do THIS :





search comes up with NO results.


Instead, we have to click "Advanced Search", and do THIS search to get the result:





So the problem is that the default search from forums index ONLY searches topic title and content, and not the extra fields too. You have to go to the advanced search page, and search by the specific extra field to get your results.

Isn't there any way to just make the default search function to look through the extra fields as well? The author of the hack says this is not a part of his hack...

Please, if anyone has done this or thinks that this is easy to fix help me out.

Thanks,
Defkalion.

Last edited by Defkalion; 06 Oct 2007 at 19:11.
Reply With Quote
  #553  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 20:25
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Originally Posted by bchertov View Post
I just made this mod (editing first post edits the thread fields). I plan to offer this here if its OK with Gio.

Yo, Gio, I made a bunch of changes to your mod:
  1. Editing first post edits threadfields
  2. Separate label for editing and displaying
  3. Option to add threadfield to title of thread
  4. Contols on each thread field to display on forumdisplay and thread display
  5. and probably a few more!
How would you like me to handle distributing this? As my own mod while crediting you for the original design and implementation? As an add-on (but it's really a replacement)? Other ideas?
Big need to this one
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #554  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 20:44
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by bchertov View Post
I just made this mod (editing first post edits the thread fields). I plan to offer this here if its OK with Gio.

Yo, Gio, I made a bunch of changes to your mod:
  1. Editing first post edits threadfields
  2. Separate label for editing and displaying
  3. Option to add threadfield to title of thread
  4. Contols on each thread field to display on forumdisplay and thread display
  5. and probably a few more!
How would you like me to handle distributing this? As my own mod while crediting you for the original design and implementation? As an add-on (but it's really a replacement)? Other ideas?
looking forward to this also
Reply With Quote
  #555  
Old 07 Oct 2007, 11:46
m3rl1n m3rl1n is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I agree looking for this too. be available for 3.5.4?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: