Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5 Details »
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5
Mod Version: 2.2.0, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (40 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 366
Released: 22 May 2012 Last Update: 06 Dec 2012 Downloads: 2415
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com


Version 2.2.0

The new Activity Stream for VB 4.2.0 is very nice but it feels like it is missing something- and what it is missing is a sidebar. Ideally at some point VB will release a custom sidebar built just for the Activity Stream but until then this quick mod will let you use the built in forum sidebar on the Activity Stream.

As of version 2.0 besides just working on the Activity Stream the mod can now add a sidebar to ANY vBulletin page including forums, threads, groups, albums, who's online, forum leaders, and more. In fact you can easily add the sidebar even to custom pages from custom mods.

New Features
  • Now works on ANY vBulletin Page (except blogs which have their own sidebar)
  • Option to align sidebar with page content or top of page
  • Option to Disable Sidebar Collapse Option (By Usergroup in 2.1.0)
  • Collapsed sidebar state now "remembered" on different pages
  • Option to enable Sidebar by Usergroup
  • Option to disable Sidebar by Forum (if enabled for forums/threads)
  • Option to disable Sidebar in specific styles
  • Options to disable sidebars if mobile devices detected*

NOTE: To enable mobile device detection options you must install the Mobile Browser Detector mod.

Live Demo: Qapla.com Activity Stream

You can enable or disable the Sidebar Anywhere independently of the forum sidebar but they will both display the same content (blocks.)

NEW - If you need to have different blocks on different pages check out this add-on.

You must have at least 1 block setup and active for the sidebar to show.

Unlike most of my other mods this mod is enabled by default upon installation. Be default it is setup to show only on the Activity Stream and register.php pages.

I am aware there is already a mod out there "Everywhere Sidebar" by another coder. This is completely different code and I made this because my "Staff Online Sideblock" mod did not work on Sidebar Everywhere but it does work on this mod.

This mod requires at least VB 4.2.0 to work on the Activity Stream but should work on older VB 4.x.x versions on other pages.

Full view of admin cp options: http://www.qapla.com/mods/ss/sidebar...tings_full.jpg.

The old version Zip file Sidebar for Activity Stream by BOP5 v11.zip works only on the Activity Stream.

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS INCLUDED WITH THIS MOD- THEY ANSWER MOST OF THE QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE IT.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_activity.jpg
Views:	3930
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	139528   Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_forumdisplay.jpg
Views:	3608
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	139529  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Cel Forum Sidebar: enable sidebar for IE 6, disable collapsing cellarius vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 17 25 Jan 2016 14:57
Top Activity List for Activity Modification WetWired vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 5 31 Oct 2007 22:00

  #196  
Old 01 Feb 2013, 19:45
Actualidad TMA's Avatar
Actualidad TMA Actualidad TMA is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by Vidaelectronica View Post
Hello everyone. I have a little problem:

It seems that the style of the tag cloud (bigger font if the tag is more used) is lost when the sidebar is shown in other place different from forum.php



Do anyone have experienced this and have solved it?

You can also spot the difference

here: http://www.tmas.es/foro/forum.php

and here: http://www.tmas.es/foro/otros-centro...13-cefaal.html

Thanks!
No idea of this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 15 Feb 2013, 21:49
hugh_ hugh_ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I have this mod working perfectly with all the pages I want except one. For some reason attachmentgallery|attachmentgallery isn't working with the following:

the scriptname: attachmentgallery

error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'attachmentgallery');
$phrasegroups = array('posting','attachment_image','album');
$specialtemplates = array();
$globaltemplates = array(
'attachmentgallery',
'ag_shell',
'ag_bit',
'attachmentgallery_advopt',

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=264966

Any idea why?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 03 Mar 2013, 12:22
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by hugh_ View Post
I have this mod working perfectly with all the pages I want except one. For some reason attachmentgallery|attachmentgallery isn't working with the following:

the scriptname: attachmentgallery

error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'attachmentgallery');
$phrasegroups = array('posting','attachment_image','album');
$specialtemplates = array();
$globaltemplates = array(
'attachmentgallery',
'ag_shell',
'ag_bit',
'attachmentgallery_advopt',

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=264966

Any idea why?

Thank you!
The main template name for that mod is: ag_shell not attachmentgallery.

So try:

attachmentgallery|ag_shell
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 03 Mar 2013, 12:29
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by Vidaelectronica View Post
No idea of this?

Thanks!
Looks like I left out a special CSS template if the tagcloud is used.

For now you can fix by going to Admin CP -> Products & Plugins -> Plugin Manager

Edit the template Sidebar Anywhere CSS

Erase everything in the plugin and replace it with this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The tags should now be correct sizes on all pages.

I will make sure this fix is in the next update.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 05 Mar 2013, 20:32
malmazan malmazan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I'm wondering how to make it work on tags.php, which gets lots of hits. The problem is that there seems to be no template associated with that.
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 06 Mar 2013, 08:39
hugh_ hugh_ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
The main template name for that mod is: ag_shell not attachmentgallery.

So try:

attachmentgallery|ag_shell
I tried that before I posted here, it didnt work.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 09 Mar 2013, 10:46
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Every vBulletin page has a template, otherwise nothing would work.

For tags.php the template it: tag_cloud_page

SO add this to the custom box-


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 09 Mar 2013, 10:57
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by hugh_ View Post
I tried that before I posted here, it didnt work.
Weird.... I guess it's not compatible then. Sorry.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 14 Mar 2013, 10:10
Greenwoodi Greenwoodi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Hi, everybody! Prompt, please, as it is possible to move sidebar to a template a header? Thanks for the answer.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 14 Mar 2013, 22:12
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I don't understand what you want- a sidebar in the header? Not going to happen with this mod- don't see how it would work like that.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 20 Mar 2013, 00:46
PHP FAN PHP FAN is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
In Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Forum Sidebar and Block Options you can choose Left or Right. Note this only works for the newer version of this mod- "Sidebar Anywhere" not Sidebar for Activity Stream.

The width should obey the stylevar forum_sidebar_width.
Hi

In Right to Left style:

If the HomePage sidebar show in the left, the "Sidebar Anywhere" will show in the right.
And if the HomePage sidebar show in the right, the "Sidebar Anywhere" will show in the left.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 01 Apr 2013, 00:34
simon661 simon661 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
work well in my forum

it is very nice mod, work good in my forum, thanks!

Check my forum to see how it works:
http://www.railtransit-cbtc.com/CBTCcommunity/forum.php
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 02 Apr 2013, 22:35
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Does this mod give the option to enable both left and right sidebars at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 04 Apr 2013, 13:53
tazping2000 tazping2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Weird .... this mod has been working with me for a few years. The other day I disabled and today when I enabled it it no longer works!! No sidebars. I didn't change anything!!

I tried uninstalling, etc..
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 05 Apr 2013, 22:55
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by tazping2000 View Post
Weird .... this mod has been working with me for a few years. The other day I disabled and today when I enabled it it no longer works!! No sidebars. I didn't change anything!!

I tried uninstalling, etc..
years ???????
this mod was only released May 22 2012

reinstall it..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: