Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #16  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 12:33
MadKad's Avatar
MadKad MadKad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Mad Kad
Is there a way to set a permission on these pages so that I can only allow serton usergroups into the serton custom section page?

Like make some sort of code so I can add it to the page I want a serton group to access only and leave the others like sitemap so that any one can see them?

Last edited by MadKad; 19 Jul 2006 at 13:25.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 15:29
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
you can use is_member_of() function...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 21:31
MadKad's Avatar
MadKad MadKad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Mad Kad
Nice one mate, do i add this to the body of the template or to one of your php files like the goto.php

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 21:39
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
that's up to you ... you can add it to the templates or the file
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 21:46
MadKad's Avatar
MadKad MadKad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Mad Kad
OK thanks, sorry one more question as I am a little confused on this

what code am I using with this then? I only want to allow 3 usergroups to serton pages so i would be adding it to the body of the template code

so it would be is_member_of($user, 1, 3, 4) what would go with that :s sorry is it an if or something?

Last edited by MadKad; 20 Jul 2006 at 12:35.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 23 Jul 2006, 14:58
Oddjob Oddjob is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Does anyone know if this works for 3.6?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10 Oct 2006, 03:38
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
Hi PRINCETON - Fabulous Fabulous vB hack. I am soooo loving this one - I do have a question/issue about the layout. I think in vBadvanced there's an option to either Use Module Shell Template or NO!

My choice would be to not have the page in a "box" - so to speak - I would like to have the custom page aligned in the middle of the page, rather than in the Module shell - Is there anyway to accomplish this?

I am building an Amazon store for my forum - the link url is: http://www.jpicforum.info/goto.php?section=shop

You'll notice how the alignment of the store is off a bit... The inline frame code is from Amazon directly (also the html for my gtcustom_shop phrase) and is as follows:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'm not really sure if I can tweek that html at all. But I have managed to tweek the CUSTOM_SHELL template as follows:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Can you please help me to fix this code to where the the custom-shell-like box is removed and the Amazon store can sit right in the middle of the http://www.jpicforum.info/goto.php?section=shop page ------> I will surely appreciate your help!

ALSO thanx for providing this nice piece of mod/hack work - Very nice indeed

Jacquii.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 17 Oct 2006, 12:20
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
hi PoetJA-1975,

I'm guessing that you want to remove the "box" enclosing the Amazon script. If so ...
REPLACE:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

WITH:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If not the above template, you may have to edit the other template ... keep in mind that any changes you do to it may reflect on other custom pages.

If that's not what you are referring to can you be more specific?

Sorry for the delayed response ...
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!

Last edited by Princeton; 17 Oct 2006 at 12:24.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 17 Oct 2006, 19:05
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
Hey PRINCETON - Exactly... I'm trying to remove the box enclosing the Amazon script...

I tried the CUSTOM_SHELL template edit you suggested above - And it didn't work.

What do you mean by "other" template? I've looked at all GTCUSTOM PAGES Templates and the code you suggested is only on the CUSTOM_SHELL...

Jacquii.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 17 Oct 2006, 22:04
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
the template you need to edit is "gtcustom_mypage"

however, if you edit that template other custom pages will have the same look (eg. no 'wrapper')
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 10:21
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
hey PRINCETON - just threwup a gallon of tainted beer - so trust me - I totally used to "no wrapper" :P ------ OK OK OK - more than enough info etcetera...

custom_mypage template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

What do I edit?

Jacquii.

btw - thank you everso kindly for helping me out with this issue. Perhaps I'll sleep for 24hrs and get over the throwup spree LOL :lick:
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 12:15
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
remove everything except ... $vbphrase[content]
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 02:45
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
GREAT - thanx PRINCETON! Much appreciation

Jacquii.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08 Nov 2006, 05:38
texasf1racer's Avatar
texasf1racer texasf1racer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Great mod! One brief question..

If I wanted one of my custom pages to "act" as the home page (like a portal) when someone visits my site url as usual, how would I do this?

Many thx!
__________________
Best Regards,
Tex


Last edited by texasf1racer; 08 Nov 2006 at 09:14.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08 Nov 2006, 12:27
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
Originally Posted by texasf1racer
Great mod! One brief question..

If I wanted one of my custom pages to "act" as the home page (like a portal) when someone visits my site url as usual, how would I do this?

Many thx!
rename your forum index page (option can be found in admincp) to forum.php ...

now, rename the custom page to index.php


NOTE: This hasn't been tested.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
GTCustom Pages - Create Custom Pages With Ease Princeton vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 160 17 Jun 2010 23:40



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: