Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MySpace type User Profile Link Details »
MySpace type User Profile Link
Mod Version: 1.00, by MiahBeSmokin420 (Member) MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 12 Feb 2008 Last Update: 12 Feb 2008 Downloads: 133
Not Supported Additional Files  

Tested with vb 3.6.7 and 3.6.8
Tested on IE7 and FF2

Ok lets say your site is:

http://Example.com/Forums/


And the path to members profiles is even longer:

http://Example.com/Forums/member.php...xampleUserName


Well lets give your members a smaller and easy link to remember.


How about:

http://Example.com/Username

Oh ya thats alot better huh?

Ok well this is how you do it.


Add this to the .htaccess in root of example.com



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace this:

http://Example.com/Forums/


With the link to your forums.


All members and guests will be able to go to:

http://Example.com/ThereUserName

And automatically be forwarded to the profile of the user name they entered after the site link.


Thats it just one easy .htaccess file edit and your done.


NOTE:
Want to use a diffrent domain like:

http://ExampleTwo.com/UserName

Just add the .htaccess file to that domain instead

just make sure that whats in red below links to your site

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://Example.com/Forums/member.php?username=$1



Enjoy and click install if you use this mod.

Also Some Credit to Eikinskjaldi for pointing me in the right way to get this working.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Adding MySpace ID To User Profile dougeetx vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 22 21 Aug 2007 17:17

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 10:02
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Extra little things you can do with this:

Find in navbar template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Directly Above or if you have a top nav bar then add above that:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Which will add:

My Url: Example.com/UserName

Note: this will only be view able to members.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In Register template find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add above:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Changing Example.com to the domain you are going to use to shorten profile links with.

Which will add a small note during registration letting soon to be new members know that there user name will also be used as part of the link to there profile.

Hope that this info is useful to you and remember to click install if you use this mod.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen1.JPG (12.6 KB, 263 views)
File Type: jpg screen2.jpg (17.4 KB, 143 views)

Last edited by MiahBeSmokin420; 13 Feb 2008 at 03:14.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 12:45
sheryjutt's Avatar
sheryjutt sheryjutt is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: iTALY( In Heaven )
Real name: Sheraz Shahid
Any ScreenShot Please
__________________
www.paki-gang.com
Just ViSiT My WeB SiTe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 12:50
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
how are you going to have a screen shot for a link???

the closest your are going to get to a screen shot is look at my signature on here and you will see that it says my profile link

and then once you click on the it will redirect you to my profile

but my site is closed right now while we are updating alot of things

but its a link you ready dont need a screen shot

just upload the .httaccess to your public_html after you put replace the link with your forum link like it says and then just go to that domain /yourusersname
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 12:51
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
also if your user name has a space make sure you type the space in the url when you try to go to it or else it will say some dumb stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 14:47
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Originally Posted by sheryjutt View Post
Any ScreenShot Please
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 17:52
CallieJo's Avatar
CallieJo CallieJo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
What is the difference with this and this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=165986
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 17:53
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Originally Posted by CallieJo2 View Post
What is the difference with this and this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=165986
Thanks
Different author

That other one will not allow usernames with special characters, only numbers and letters.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 19:46
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by Gryphon View Post
Different author

That other one will not allow usernames with special characters, only numbers and letters.
bingo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 20:10
CallieJo's Avatar
CallieJo CallieJo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by Gryphon View Post
Different author

That other one will not allow usernames with special characters, only numbers and letters.
I see...very clever

Originally Posted by MiahBeSmokin420 View Post
bingo
Good work!

Does this also change the url noted in the profile to reflect the new url?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 23:17
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I have one site, but with multiple url's pointing to it:
mymainurl.com
mysecondurl.com

I want to display mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?=member.php?username=ExampleUserName
as
mysecondurl.com/username

Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13 Feb 2008, 00:10
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Josh Arcadia
Bulletproof?
__________________
. █│║▌│█│║▌║│█║▌│║║█║
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Feb 2008, 00:42
mystic10 mystic10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
what if i want the same thing but for admincp...and put their ip so when then log on with their id it must match the ip for them to log on to admin cp or mod cp can u kindly help
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Feb 2008, 02:44
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by CallieJo2 View Post
I see...very clever


Good work!

Does this also change the url noted in the profile to reflect the new url?
it dose not change any of the urls its just a basic redirect type deal

the link that you enter http://example.com/username is not even a real link it just redirects you to http://example.com/forums/member.php?=username

which would be the profile of the members name you entered after http://Example.com/

also please make sure you click install if you are using this

Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
I have one site, but with multiple url's pointing to it:
mymainurl.com
mysecondurl.com

I want to display mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?=member.php?username=ExampleUserName
as
mysecondurl.com/username

Is this possible?
yes thats the way i have mine set up

just add the .httaccess file in the other domain you have and set it to go to the domain you want it to



Originally Posted by iogames View Post
Bulletproof?
not really sure what that means

Originally Posted by mystic10 View Post
what if i want the same thing but for admincp...and put their ip so when then log on with their id it must match the ip for them to log on to admin cp or mod cp can u kindly help

i dont know you would have to ask someone else im not sure that would most likely need a totaly diffrent mod

Last edited by MiahBeSmokin420; 13 Feb 2008 at 19:04.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Feb 2008, 02:48
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
**Updated** Added info the my reserved post.

Last edited by MiahBeSmokin420; 13 Feb 2008 at 03:21.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: