Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 16 Dec 2010, 14:13
CustomizeVB CustomizeVB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Avatar Problem In Header

My problem is it seemed like it was working at first. It displayed my avatar when I was logged in, but then I changed my avatar and it changed all over my vBulletin forum, except for the area where I customized for it.

Below is the code I have:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Can anyone help with this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16 Dec 2010, 23:10
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It's probably cached. Did you do a Force Refresh of the page?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 03:32
CustomizeVB CustomizeVB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Yes I did. Is there any way I can get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 04:15
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
And what was showing where the avatar should be after you did a Force Refresh? It shouldn't be showing the old avatar, because you replaced it in the database and old avatars are not saved.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 15:21
CustomizeVB CustomizeVB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
The old avatar is still in place for some reason. ? First time I have had this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 15:24
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Then you didn't go a Force Refresh cuz, as I said, the old avatar is NOT stored when you change it - it is replaced in the database. There is no way it can still be grabbing the old avatar from the database. The only other thing it could be is some caching on your server.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 20:59
CustomizeVB CustomizeVB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Maybe I'm not understanding what you mean by force refresh?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 21:40
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
On a mac, it's shift + refresh, not sure about on a PC. It forces the page to be rebuilt completely - grab all new scripts and images directly from the server and not use any browser cached version.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 22:10
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
The browser caches images (as Lynne pointed out) and when you load a page with an image the browser already has, it sends a request asking to resend only if that image has changed since the last time it was loaded. But image.php doesn't do a check for when the avatar last changed (probably to avoid doing db queries), instead it always responds to say that it hasn't changed (which is probably why your image never changed).

To handle image changes, other places in vB (like the postbit) make the url different if the image has been updated, so it looks like a different image to the browser. For avatars, it adds "&dateline=" then the value of "dateline" from the customavatar table of the db. So you could figure out how to add that to the url in your image src, or maybe you could add something else which you know will be unique to force it to load every time (like maybe the value of TIMENOW).

Looking at the code in image.php, it also looks like adding "&type=regcheck" would force it to reload the image, but I don't know what that's really for.

Last edited by kh99; 17 Dec 2010 at 22:18.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Avatar in Header Seven Skins vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 139 20 Jun 2016 06:52



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: