Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:27
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
500 Internal Server Error - Every single page

Not sure what the heck happened here, but my vB instance seems to be completely fubared. I was installing DB's gallery, fiddling with some innocuous settings, and now every single php flle (even phpinfo.php) throws me a 500 error with "premature end of script headers".

I've no idea what to do at this point, I don't think it's really vBulletin - just something triggered and I've no clue what. Any pointers in the right direction would be fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:32
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Have you tried to revert all work you done before this messed up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:33
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
I have, no change. Even a phpinfo.php on a completely different domain (on the same host) throws the same error, so I don't think it's related to vB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:34
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
did your host change something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:37
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
Nope. It's not a managed server. Nothing changed, no auto-update, nothing. :\
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:41
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
This see what others say very late here cant think
Do check server error logs might give more information
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 01:49
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
I see tons of this in suphp_log:

[email protected] [/usr/local/apache/logs]# tail suphp_log
[Sun Mar 22 21:49:17 2015] [info] Executing "(my server path)/public_html/forum/showthread.php" as UID 508, GID 504
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 02:03
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Have enabled mod_userdir I believe your problem is with Suphp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 03:00
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
It's permissions related. No idea why they changed, or how, but here's where I'm at...

I have a phpinfo.php that's 755, owner/group is the apache user. It works. I have a WAP plugin for my site that works, with the whole folder structure 755 with the same owner/group.

I figured "hey, it worked there", so I 755'd my whole forum folder, and set the owner/group to the apache user again, but I still get 500s on all of my vB pages.

I'm making some progress but my eyeballs are starting to bug out... If anyone has any ideas I'll try just about anything at this point. I've chmodded my face off for the last several hours and am running out of ideas.

--------------- Added 23 Mar 2015 at 03:29 ---------------

Just to keep it updated - I rebuild apache, disabled suexec and suphp, still no dice.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 03:46
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
If you google the error you have it comes up with some fixes
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 03:51
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
I've been doing nothing but google for the last 4 hours unfortunately. :\

I rebuild apache, re-uploaded all of the vB install files, and even went as far as to refresh my database from this morning's backup. Now my pages just drop the connection, and my log is full of this:

[Sun Mar 22 23:49:39 2015] [notice] child pid 19537 exit signal File size limit exceeded (25)
[Sun Mar 22 23:49:39 2015] [notice] child pid 19542 exit signal File size limit exceeded (25)
[Sun Mar 22 23:49:39 2015] [notice] child pid 19544 exit signal File size limit exceeded (25)
Google tells me that it means that my log files are over 2GB, but I've done a find on all files and there are no files on my server at all that are even near 1GB, let alone 2GB.

I fear I'm just making this worse, so any other input please let me have it. I'm DOA and up all night until I fix this, ugh.

--------------- Added 23 Mar 2015 at 04:03 ---------------

I'm back up. No clue what actually fixed it. Combination of:

- Rebuild apache / flush all logs
- Disable suphp
- Re-upload everything
- Revert to an earlier DB
- Recompile apache some more
- Rotate logs again
- Magic...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 04:22
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Not sure if it will help check post 6 http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1042477
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23 Mar 2015, 18:17
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Chris-777 View Post
I'm back up. No clue what actually fixed it. Combination of:

- Rebuild apache / flush all logs
- Disable suphp
- Re-upload everything
- Revert to an earlier DB
- Recompile apache some more
- Rotate logs again
- Magic...
Ah, magic.....

I'm glad your site is back up.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24 Mar 2015, 02:21
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2222715

Usually when I've ran into UID errors its permission related (by that I mean USER instead of ROOT not CHMOD). Some folks tend to give developers a certain "ftp" account and in some cases you're uploading files to one users account as another user or sometimes if all files uploaded with ROOT user and you use new username could cause 500 errors however typically its 404 for example uploading an image under one account into another users account (under same domain but they had different user accts setup) so then when you go to visit the forum the logo is not showing but once you upload the file under the correct account OR fix the permission via command line it then shows. I couldn't find the link but there's commands you can type out in ssh to also fix permission i.e. re-associate said folder to the correct account and in-turn permissions are fixed.

More Magic https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzVkA25Qfck
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 24 Mar 2015 at 02:40.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: