Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Yet Another Ranks System Details »
Yet Another Ranks System
Mod Version: 4.1.4, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (12 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 167
Released: 28 Jun 2011 Last Update: 30 Oct 2012 Downloads: 1320
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

* CREATE A BACKUP OF YOUR FORUM AND DATABASE BEFORE INSTALLING !

I've had quite a few PM's in regards to this and seeing as how once upon a time I administered a gaming tournament forum it came in handy... we had virtual armies in battlefield games with Generals, LtCol's, Captains, squads of 6 and enjoyed a rank structure along with our awards so we converted the Awards mod into a Ranks mod, many also had a need for it and now we have it for 4.x. This is a complete re-write of the 4.x Yet Another Awards System by CypherSTL and Xanlamin ( http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=232684 ) with updates including one fix by another community member for the profile tabs (noted in Changelog.txt). I hope everyone enjoys it who finds a use for it .

DESCRIPTION:
This is a Medals/Ranks system. Admin can give members ranks, and rank icons will be displayed in member's profile, posts, as well as in a rank list.

FEATURES:

In AdminCP
  • Can Create/Edit/Delete/Reorder categories/sub-categories in ACP (with category name and description)
  • Can Create/Edit/Delete ranks in ACP (with Rank Name, Description, Icon URL, Image URL)
  • Can Move one (or all) rank(s) from one category to another
  • Can set some ranks un-classified (not displayed for public)
  • Can re-order ranks in ranks showcase
  • Issue ranks to members, based on username or userid, with Issue Reason
  • Remove ranks from members

In ModCP
  • Issue ranks to members, based on username or userid, with Issue Reason
  • Remove ranks from members

Front page & other
  • Display ranks list in with: Rank Name, Description, Icon, Image, and Members who get each rank.
  • Display ranks showcase in profile, with Rank information, Issue time and reason
  • Display rank icons in postbit (showthread, showpost, announcement, private)
  • Separate Rank Request/Recommendation Forms
  • CSS Customizable
  • Points System *Requires MySQL 5.0+


Attention:

If you do not properly setup this modification you will see errors such as:

Originally Posted by faraz_hamza View Post
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I am getting this error when i recommend or issue rank request?

how to fix it ?
Basically here's the short on this:
  • Edit your usergroups, for each usergroup set whether they can request and recommend ranks.
  • Setup the mod options in AdminCP > Ranks System > Rank System Settings.
  • If your having the requests or recommendations posted as a New Thread OR New Post within a existing thread please ensure that the members usergroup has permission to do so, in other words they can't post a new rank request into a private admin-only forum or a new post in a admin only thread correct? Bingo . You can create a new forum and only allow viewing to normal members .
  • If your having users requesting ranks every min or two, adjust your minimum time between posts to be one minute.
  • Try disabling the Points System, do you still have a issue?

Other issues:
  • What is the minimum version of MySQL Required?
    - The core of the ranks sytem will function on MySQL 4.1. However, in order to use the Points System you must be running at least MySQL 5.0+
  • I'm seeing output like "-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: ranks_rankusers_bit -->" before it displays members. Why?
    In your AdminCP > Settings > Options > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments = OFF
  • Styling issues? - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...58&postcount=2
  • If you have any other issues, post them however I need to know if this was the 2nd, 3rd or 4th request, what was done before the error and if issuing to another user worked afterwords! Thanks!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	RankAdmin.png
Views:	2059
Size:	158.9 KB
ID:	130475   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankPostbit.png
Views:	3127
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	130476   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankPrivateMessage.png
Views:	2633
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	130477   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankProfile.png
Views:	3471
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	130478  

Click image for larger version

Name:	RankAdmin2.png
Views:	4010
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	130479  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions Innovative Ranks System TheLastSuperman vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 163 20 Mar 2011 10:25
Major Additions Innovative Ranks System TheLastSuperman vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 30 24 Mar 2010 23:57

  #46  
Old 26 Aug 2011, 20:42
odie3 odie3 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
also, when I got my PM the
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 27 Aug 2011, 05:58
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by odie3 View Post
Hi my ranks are not showing up in the profile tab (like my awards are). Also, there is a extra tab floating around but I think that is from your awards MOD... guess I need to ask over that about that bit.
Hmm... that could be the Awards mod itself, I fixed the floating tab when I converted it over to the Ranks mod along with sorting some other things etc etc. - Check out the Awards mod thread for a fix, it's there .

Originally Posted by odie3 View Post
also, when I got my PM the [img] tag was missing my web address - it only had [img]images/medals/gd/ranks/usmc-o8.gif[/img]
Not sure why that is, have you tried entering in the full url for the image location?
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 27 Aug 2011, 17:07
odie3 odie3 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Hi TheLastSuperman,

I'll check the other thread for the "Floating Tab" issue. Not sure if that will correct my ranks not showing up on my Profile but here is additional information: I just gave a rank to a user that I have not assigned any awards to. His profile does not have a floating tab but his rank is showing under the "Rank" tab. Where as mine has a floating tap, my "Awards" are showing but not my "Rank". All related to "floating" tab fix you think? Just thought I pass this along just in case!

Yes, my paths are good, if I add http://ghostdogs.net to the path all is good.


From PM (other than added * to break the img tag here)
Major General
[*img]images/medals/gd/ranks/usmc-o8.gif[*/img]


I added a * to the start/end of the tag - could it because it is missing the starting "/" (Slash)?


*Edit Summary:
Ok, I did the profile updates from the Awards MOD Page.
1. Floating Tab corrected in Profile
2. Missing ranks in Profile corrected

New Issue:
Now I have two tabs for "Awards" and for "Ranks"!

Old issue:
PM does not show rank graphic

Last edited by odie3; 27 Aug 2011 at 17:46.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 27 Aug 2011, 19:17
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Sounds like something has become mucked up while you've been trying your best to sort the issues initially encountered.... if you just now installed either mod, it might be best to completely uninstall - afterwords you need to install one at a time, testing each this way you sort any issues in the first one installed before installing the second mod and you can then differentiate between the errors from both .

Edit: Also no, with BB Codes it starts as [EXAMPLE] and the contents in between i.e.

[EXAMPLE]Code that interacts w/ BB Code to render properly here[/EXAMPLE] so it only needs a ending tag i.e. the / to tell it "Hey we started reading this code now stop reading and show the output on screen" more or less.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 27 Aug 2011, 22:35
odie3 odie3 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Hmm, not sure then. I'll send myself another rank to see what happens.

Oh, after doing the full bits to sort out the "floating tab" in YAAS I still have two tabs for YARS -so I think that fix from that MOD is effecting this one in some way. Because now I am getting my ranks now but getting two tabs (once again only on this MOD not in Awards).


EDIT:
perhaps I misunderstood how that was supposed to work. that's clickable link, when I click it takes me to my rank, which is this: http://ghostdogs.net/ranks.php?do=viewrank&rank_id=38
Attached Images
File Type: png ranks x 2.png (21.7 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by odie3; 27 Aug 2011 at 22:45.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 27 Aug 2011, 23:48
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Question

Originally Posted by odie3 View Post
Hmm, not sure then. I'll send myself another rank to see what happens.

Oh, after doing the full bits to sort out the "floating tab" in YAAS I still have two tabs for YARS -so I think that fix from that MOD is effecting this one in some way. Because now I am getting my ranks now but getting two tabs (once again only on this MOD not in Awards).


EDIT:
perhaps I misunderstood how that was supposed to work. that's clickable link, when I click it takes me to my rank, which is this: http://ghostdogs.net/ranks.php?do=viewrank&rank_id=38
Ahh do you use any DB Tech mods, anything other mod using the word "Rank" because this mod uses the "My Ranks" wording not "Ranks" so it could possibly be conflicting w/ another mod or vice-versa .

Edit: In the xml file the YARS - Profile Tab plugin is disabled, ensure while you were making those edits to your Yet Another Awards System mod due to the double-tabs, that you did not accidentally turn that back on etc.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 29 Aug 2011, 14:06
odie3 odie3 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
You nailed it, YARS "YARS - Profile Tab" got enabled. Now I have one tab each both are showing their graphics properly.

The only question is if the Rank Graphic is suppose to show in the PM Message or just be a hyperlink that takes you to the rank.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 31 Aug 2011, 15:35
Badhabitz Badhabitz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
TheLastSuperman,
Thanks so much for transferring this over, it has been of great use to my community. We had over 200 usergroups with more on the way so we could display different ranks in each of the games we support.

My question is this,we currently use a roster and I could put in this code here {vb:raw userinfo.rank} And it would show up the usergroup ranks images. What code can I put in to display the image ranks from this plugin and possibly even the awards images from the original plugin as well. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 10 Sep 2011, 23:35
Delazar Delazar is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Hi,

is there a possibility that the medals have to import the users in YAAS to YARS?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 19 Sep 2011, 12:31
Mobo Mobo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Keith Upton
A couple of questions:

1. Is it possible for the system to give out medals based on length of site membership automatically? I'd like to give all my members anniversary medals, but there are too many to check this daily and manually award them.

2. What are the points used for? I assume that as a member is awarded a rank/medal/award, that they get the points associated with those awards. But what do they use those points for?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 20 Sep 2011, 04:47
MalluParadise MalluParadise is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
It's working perfectly in 4.1.6

Last edited by MalluParadise; 20 Sep 2011 at 04:54.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 29 Sep 2011, 17:33
odie3 odie3 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I have "Unregistered" users requesting Ranks - is there a way to keep Unregistered from doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 29 Sep 2011, 19:29
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Delazar View Post
Hi,

is there a possibility that the medals have to import the users in YAAS to YARS?
You can via phpmyadmin however at this time there is no built-in option or "easy button" for that matter .

Originally Posted by Mobo View Post
A couple of questions:

1. Is it possible for the system to give out medals based on length of site membership automatically? I'd like to give all my members anniversary medals, but there are too many to check this daily and manually award them.

2. What are the points used for? I assume that as a member is awarded a rank/medal/award, that they get the points associated with those awards. But what do they use those points for?

Thanks!
Yes however it will need to be added in at some point in the future .

Points, so you can have Ranks and those have points... making it a real Rank system per say... I would imaging a Lt.Col rank would have more points than a Private First Class rank follow? .

Originally Posted by MalluParadise View Post
It's working perfectly in 4.1.6
Awesome

Originally Posted by odie3 View Post
I have "Unregistered" users requesting Ranks - is there a way to keep Unregistered from doing this?
Usergroup manager, now in the usergroups permissions scroll to the bottom and look for the option, set request to No .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 30 Sep 2011, 16:20
SN1PERCITY SN1PERCITY is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
will you be converting this to 4.1.6
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 02:34
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by SN1PERCITY View Post
will you be converting this to 4.1.6
Go up... four posts i.e. post #56 ^

.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: