Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Mark Threads As "Solved" Details »
Mark Threads As "Solved"
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Eric (Coder) Eric is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (34 votes - 4.56 average) Installs: 303
Released: 04 Feb 2010 Last Update: 30 Jul 2010 Downloads: 1367
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

My time is very limited these days, with my full time job. I have marked this mod as re-usable code, if any other coder wishes to continue work on it. I may still try to support this mod as time permits.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, and consider Nominate for MOTM and Support Developer <<


What is this!?
This modification will allow you & your members (based on usergroup permissions) to mark a thread as "Solved". It will add the prefix "[SOLVED]" to the thread title, and if set in the admincp - it will also close the thread.

Current Version
2.0.1.

Features flagged for future version(s):
  • Thread starter can choose to solve a thread, and input the username of who solved it - that user would receive rep. points. (admin-configurable amount of rep. points)
  • Given the above - include count of threads a user has solved in postbit & profile
  • Option to move the thread to a specific forum when a thread is "Solved"
  • Possibly figure out a way to automate everything on install - so there are no template edits.
And anything else that is suggested

Will this work on x.x.x ??
Unless otherwise stated, this will work on all 4.0.x versions. This will not work on 3.x.

Sounds cool. How do I install?
  1. Extract the zip, you should have the following directories/files:


    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  2. Upload: (in the below instructions 'yourforum' would be where you have vBulletin installed)
    • /upload/solved.php to /yourforum/solved.php
    • /upload/images/buttons/marksolved.gif to /yourforum/images/buttons/marksolved.gif (upload to each style folder, if you have more than one style)
    • /upload/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml to /yourforum/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml
  3. Import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml by going to: AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]
  4. Make the following template edits to all of your installed styles:

    SHOWTHREAD

    Find:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Add after:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  5. Set options in AdminCP > Settings > Options > Solved Threads
  6. Edit Solved Threads Permissions > Can Mark Threads as Solved for each usergroup.
  7. To setup the forums it can be used in, follow the instructions in this post.

Upgrade
  1. Re-import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml, with "Allow Overwrite" set to yes
  2. Upload the files/folders in the "upload" folder, allowing it to overwrite the old files.

That's it! Enjoy!

Changelog
2.0.1 - July 30, 2010
- Changes to solved.php, to check for errors while saving thread, changed how threadinfo is pulled.
- Changes to bitfield_solvedthread.xml, removed the "install" attribute, doesn't seem to work anyway.
- Changes to product-solvedthread.xml, install process. Gave the install a small delay between rebuilding prefix datastore (after adding prefixset), and creating prefix.
- Changes to product-solvedthread.xml, plugin. Removed check for can_use_prefix function, as vB 3.8 + includes it, and this mod is for 4.0

2.0.0 - February 3, 2010
- Updated to vBulletin 4

1.1.2 - January 15, 2010
- Updated the product file, permissions, and phrases. This should, hopefully, resolve the blank page problems, along with the permission not showing up for usergroups.

1.1.1 - July 21, 2009
- Updated the product plugins and phrases, this should solve the blank page problem, and the problem of the option not showing in Admincp for ug permissions.

1.1.0 - April 14, 2009
- Small updates to xml file, no version # change. If it works for you, no need to do anything.
- If you have problems uninstalling, please see this post.

1.1.0 - April 12, 2009
- Updated for 3.7 & 3.8
- Now uses the built-in Thread Prefix system
- Instead of 'excluding' forums, since using the Thread Prefix system, you can choose which forums this will be shown in.

1.0.1 - July 12, 2007
- Added the ability to unsolve a thread.
- Added the ability to exclude this in certain forums
- Added the ability to change the prefix in that acp

1.0.0 - June 8, 2007
- Initial release.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, and consider Nominate for MOTM and Support Developer <<



NOTE: This mod is marked "unsupported", but I'll try my best (as time permits) to help those who have marked as installed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_edit_prefix_forums.jpg
Views:	1703
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	111606   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_options.jpg
Views:	1271
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	111607   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_thread_prefixes.jpg
Views:	1085
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	111608   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_ug_perms.jpg
Views:	1379
Size:	136.2 KB
ID:	111609  

Click image for larger version

Name:	showforum_solvedthread.jpg
Views:	3218
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	111610   Click image for larger version

Name:	showthread_marksolved.jpg
Views:	2940
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	111611   Click image for larger version

Name:	showthread_markunsolved.jpg
Views:	2573
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	111612  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #136  
Old 01 Dec 2011, 23:44
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Just installled.

On 4.1.7 pl2 and works perfectly. Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 06 Dec 2011, 18:17
Ellendway Ellendway is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
After I upgraded my forum to v4.1.8 it's not working anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 06 Dec 2011, 18:56
karel1985 karel1985 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Karel B.
Originally Posted by Ellendway View Post
After I upgraded my forum to v4.1.8 it's not working anymore.
This is strange, i have also v4.1.8 and its still working without any problem. Can you describe your problem?
__________________
Dutch Pc Helpforum - www.pc-helpforum.be
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 07 Dec 2011, 14:39
Ellendway Ellendway is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by karel1985 View Post
This is strange, i have also v4.1.8 and its still working without any problem. Can you describe your problem?
Sure. I tried to disable all plugins on the forums and it's still not works. I did all things from the first post.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg problem.jpg (53.4 KB, 30 views)
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 10 Jan 2012, 17:27
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I would like to have this installed twice on my forum

1. To say Solved or Unsolved.

2. To say Scrapped or Unscrapped.


Is it possible to run 2 instances of the modification and if so how would I achieve that?

Many thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 19 Feb 2012, 21:29
paulket paulket is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Does anyone have this working with 4.1.10? I tried installing it on a test site and can't see anything in the "Thread Tools" drop-down menu to mark threads as "Solved".

EDIT: Should have checked the user group permissions... it's working fine on my test site.

Last edited by paulket; 19 Feb 2012 at 21:56.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 19 Feb 2012, 21:38
whitedd's Avatar
whitedd whitedd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
...4.1.10 ...working perfect...
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 19 Feb 2012, 21:57
paulket paulket is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by whitedd View Post
...4.1.10 ...working perfect...
Thank you for replying, Whitedd. I've got it working now.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 20 Feb 2012, 06:54
venom2124's Avatar
venom2124 venom2124 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by Trevor Matthews View Post
I would like to have this installed twice on my forum

1. To say Solved or Unsolved.

2. To say Scrapped or Unscrapped.


Is it possible to run 2 instances of the modification and if so how would I achieve that?

Many thanks for any help.
I run this on my site with two different variations, but you have to recode it to make it different. So you would have to go back through it and change all the solved and unsolved to what ever you are looking for. I use solved/unsolved and sold/unsold on my site.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 20 Feb 2012, 15:26
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Hi
Many thanks for that.
I will have a look and see if I can do that.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 01 Mar 2012, 09:11
w1z8it w1z8it is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Nevermind.

Last edited by w1z8it; 01 Mar 2012 at 09:54.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 05 Mar 2012, 17:02
whitedd's Avatar
whitedd whitedd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
4.1.11 working
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 11 Mar 2012, 10:29
beansbaxter's Avatar
beansbaxter beansbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Not working in 4.1.11

I installed everything as instructed. I made the template edit to SHOWTHREAD but it's not showing in the drop-down menu. Permissions are good in the Usergroup. What else can I do to troubleshoot this?
__________________
PNW Moto - Motorcycle riders in Washington, Oregon, Idaho
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 12 Mar 2012, 00:38
venom2124's Avatar
venom2124 venom2124 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by beansbaxter View Post
Not working in 4.1.11

I installed everything as instructed. I made the template edit to SHOWTHREAD but it's not showing in the drop-down menu. Permissions are good in the Usergroup. What else can I do to troubleshoot this?
And the prefix has been selected for the forum in question?
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 12 Mar 2012, 23:08
Rabby Rabby is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Works perfectly with version 4.1.11
Just make sure that you upload all files, install the xml file, set the forum options and usergroup permissions
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: