Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Mark Threads As "Solved" Details »
Mark Threads As "Solved"
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Eric (Coder) Eric is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (34 votes - 4.56 average) Installs: 303
Released: 04 Feb 2010 Last Update: 30 Jul 2010 Downloads: 1367
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

My time is very limited these days, with my full time job. I have marked this mod as re-usable code, if any other coder wishes to continue work on it. I may still try to support this mod as time permits.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, and consider Nominate for MOTM and Support Developer <<


What is this!?
This modification will allow you & your members (based on usergroup permissions) to mark a thread as "Solved". It will add the prefix "[SOLVED]" to the thread title, and if set in the admincp - it will also close the thread.

Current Version
2.0.1.

Features flagged for future version(s):
  • Thread starter can choose to solve a thread, and input the username of who solved it - that user would receive rep. points. (admin-configurable amount of rep. points)
  • Given the above - include count of threads a user has solved in postbit & profile
  • Option to move the thread to a specific forum when a thread is "Solved"
  • Possibly figure out a way to automate everything on install - so there are no template edits.
And anything else that is suggested

Will this work on x.x.x ??
Unless otherwise stated, this will work on all 4.0.x versions. This will not work on 3.x.

Sounds cool. How do I install?
  1. Extract the zip, you should have the following directories/files:


    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  2. Upload: (in the below instructions 'yourforum' would be where you have vBulletin installed)
    • /upload/solved.php to /yourforum/solved.php
    • /upload/images/buttons/marksolved.gif to /yourforum/images/buttons/marksolved.gif (upload to each style folder, if you have more than one style)
    • /upload/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml to /yourforum/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml
  3. Import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml by going to: AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]
  4. Make the following template edits to all of your installed styles:

    SHOWTHREAD

    Find:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Add after:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  5. Set options in AdminCP > Settings > Options > Solved Threads
  6. Edit Solved Threads Permissions > Can Mark Threads as Solved for each usergroup.
  7. To setup the forums it can be used in, follow the instructions in this post.

Upgrade
  1. Re-import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml, with "Allow Overwrite" set to yes
  2. Upload the files/folders in the "upload" folder, allowing it to overwrite the old files.

That's it! Enjoy!

Changelog
2.0.1 - July 30, 2010
- Changes to solved.php, to check for errors while saving thread, changed how threadinfo is pulled.
- Changes to bitfield_solvedthread.xml, removed the "install" attribute, doesn't seem to work anyway.
- Changes to product-solvedthread.xml, install process. Gave the install a small delay between rebuilding prefix datastore (after adding prefixset), and creating prefix.
- Changes to product-solvedthread.xml, plugin. Removed check for can_use_prefix function, as vB 3.8 + includes it, and this mod is for 4.0

2.0.0 - February 3, 2010
- Updated to vBulletin 4

1.1.2 - January 15, 2010
- Updated the product file, permissions, and phrases. This should, hopefully, resolve the blank page problems, along with the permission not showing up for usergroups.

1.1.1 - July 21, 2009
- Updated the product plugins and phrases, this should solve the blank page problem, and the problem of the option not showing in Admincp for ug permissions.

1.1.0 - April 14, 2009
- Small updates to xml file, no version # change. If it works for you, no need to do anything.
- If you have problems uninstalling, please see this post.

1.1.0 - April 12, 2009
- Updated for 3.7 & 3.8
- Now uses the built-in Thread Prefix system
- Instead of 'excluding' forums, since using the Thread Prefix system, you can choose which forums this will be shown in.

1.0.1 - July 12, 2007
- Added the ability to unsolve a thread.
- Added the ability to exclude this in certain forums
- Added the ability to change the prefix in that acp

1.0.0 - June 8, 2007
- Initial release.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, and consider Nominate for MOTM and Support Developer <<



NOTE: This mod is marked "unsupported", but I'll try my best (as time permits) to help those who have marked as installed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_edit_prefix_forums.jpg
Views:	1702
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	111606   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_options.jpg
Views:	1271
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	111607   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_thread_prefixes.jpg
Views:	1085
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	111608   Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp_ug_perms.jpg
Views:	1379
Size:	136.2 KB
ID:	111609  

Click image for larger version

Name:	showforum_solvedthread.jpg
Views:	3217
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	111610   Click image for larger version

Name:	showthread_marksolved.jpg
Views:	2939
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	111611   Click image for larger version

Name:	showthread_markunsolved.jpg
Views:	2572
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	111612  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #166  
Old 04 Jun 2013, 01:13
venom2124's Avatar
venom2124 venom2124 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Hey guys,

I need this or something similar in one of my forum sites to be used only in a site support sub-forum. I have not read every single post in this thread so excuse me if this has been covered.

I understand it uses usergroup permissions. This is fine and I suppose it would not be hard to add a conditional for forums as well. Has anyone done this? I do not want moderators and admins to have the option to mark solved all over the site.

I would also like to know if anyone has this working successfully on 4.2 with a custom theme. if so did you have to customize? Does this use existing css or it's own?
If you could supply a link so I can test that would be awesome.

Thanks,
Rich
This mod will allow you to specify which forums the mod will work on. It should also not be affected by custom styles.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 11 Jun 2013, 16:54
findingpeace's Avatar
findingpeace findingpeace is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Great mod, works perfectly on 4.2.1! Be sure to set Usergroup permissions first, otherwise the Prefixes settings won't give you the option for forum permissions
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 08 Aug 2013, 15:47
Wolver2 Wolver2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Guys how can I add it as a new button "Solved" beside the +Reply to thread.. because the button where it is now isnt very seen.. no one will notice

I would gladly donate to someone who could do this for me

Last edited by Wolver2; 08 Aug 2013 at 16:41.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 13 Sep 2013, 18:28
Tim Wheatley's Avatar
Tim Wheatley Tim Wheatley is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by findingpeace View Post
Great mod, works perfectly on 4.2.1! Be sure to set Usergroup permissions first, otherwise the Prefixes settings won't give you the option for forum permissions
I'm a new installer onto 4.2.1. Have set permissions in usergroup, permissions for the prefixes, and selected which forums to show in... and it doesn't show in the dropdown. Yes, template edited as instructed, files uploaded, and product installed.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 13 Sep 2013, 18:45
Tim Wheatley's Avatar
Tim Wheatley Tim Wheatley is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Super... I tried to remove the product, got a fatal error. so I installed it again, overwriting. Now when I try to set usergroups to yes:
MySQL Error : Unknown column 'solvedthread_permissions' in 'field list'
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 13 Sep 2013, 18:51
Tim Wheatley's Avatar
Tim Wheatley Tim Wheatley is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Had to alter the uninstall code to get it to uninstall without the fatal error.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 15:29
karel1985 karel1985 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Karel B.
Hi Eric,

As user of your mod since the beginning, i'm wondering if you are working on a vb5 version? I would really need to have this working in vb5...

Without this mod, we will never upgrade i guess, we can't live without...
__________________
Dutch Pc Helpforum - www.pc-helpforum.be
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 15:59
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
I believe another developer would have to pick up work on the mod to port it to vB5 as Eric said, he is very limited with time as of now.
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 18 Feb 2014, 18:53
PrivateFTA PrivateFTA is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
let me know if I can do several way to use a new place to settle and accepted our
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 01 May 2014, 09:53
djvj djvj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Does this work on 4.2.2?

NM, just tested and it works fine.

Last edited by djvj; 01 May 2014 at 10:14.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 01 May 2014, 11:02
john7911 john7911 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I install it on 4.2.2 but I don't see it in the list.
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 27 Jun 2014, 08:10
aminp30 aminp30 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Hi
thank you Eric. very nice hack

would you please tell me is that possible to use this hack as a button?
I need to add a button in first post of thread to let starter set solved or not.

best regards
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 02 Aug 2014, 08:08
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Originally Posted by aminp30 View Post
Hi
thank you Eric. very nice hack

would you please tell me is that possible to use this hack as a button?
I need to add a button in first post of thread to let starter set solved or not.

best regards
maybe you didn't read whole main post...

from there, this code you need to add it to your showthread template to see the button:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Shoot me a PM if I didn't reply in your post when you needed help. I can't remember things easily
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 23 Aug 2014, 14:01
majickal majickal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I can confirm this is working on 4.2.2 Patch Level 1

Last edited by majickal; 23 Aug 2014 at 14:11.
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 24 Aug 2014, 09:55
majickal majickal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Question A way to remove the PreFix option on Q & A threads

Is there anyway to remove the following prefix option when starting a new thread in a Q & A forum?



I guess, I'm wondering if there is some form of identifier I can test against to hide this option when a forum is detected that is running the solved feature.

I found this:



But am currently unsure how it is evaluated when the newthread template is evaluated.

The following code block shows the section in the section I am referring to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'll keep digging and if I find a solution, I'll post it, else if someone else knows, please let me know.

Cheers

M

update

I have had some success with this:

Starting @ line 45 in the newthread template, find the code noted above and replace with the one below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

you will note in the following line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You will need to change the number 16 for whatever your Q & A forumid is.

To find this out, you can execute the following SQL against your DB:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This will provide you a list of all forums where you have selected them as Q & A type forums as shown below: (I'm using mysql workbench in this example)



Hope this helps someone.

Next I'll see if I can get an array of forums based on the table forumprefixset

SQL will be something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Once I can get this into an array and register that array as a variable vBulletin can accept, perhaps I can test against that array in the template and not have to manually code the forum ids in. This would mean a one time change in the newthread template and any forum could have this feature.

Any help with this would be really awesome as I am really unfamiliar with the vBulletin codebase and have just started looking into it.


I'll report back as I make progress.

Cheers

M

Update

Can select from an array now


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Update

So I got this working,

I created a new plugin by using the Add New Plugin in the Products & Plugins section as shown below. The only reason I went down this route is to avoid changing any of the original plugins code. So I hope this method for extending the plugin is OK.



Then I added the following PHP code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Finally in the newthread template, as noted in the above template edits, the following change was made:

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The core bit of information I was missing, was the method used to return variables from PHP in a way that they can be used in conditional statements in vBulletin templates. This eluded me for a while but was the key to making the changes I required work. See below for the exact code I used to register the PHP variable for use in the template system:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As soon as this variable was registered, everything fell into place.

You could easily modify the original Plugins PHP code to return this information. It is probably the best way forward too, as the method outlined in this post does add an additional query, which is not really required, as the same query exists in the original plugin. As stated previously, I did this to:
  1. Separate the test/modification code from the actual plugin code
  2. Avoid changin the plugin code as I am not 100% sure if this is an OK thing to do?
  3. Teach myself and provide an example to others how to accomplish such modifications to the original plugin without changing any of the core plugin code.

I hope this helps someone else understand how this system works. I'll continue to extend this plugin via the separate plugin code.

Unless anyone has an issue with it, I'll keep posting updates on my progress.

Hope you have found this useful.

Cheers

M
Attached Images
File Type: png prefix.png (4.0 KB, 103 views)
File Type: png forumprefixset.png (3.4 KB, 191 views)
File Type: jpg QandA Solved Prefix.jpg (48.2 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by majickal; 24 Aug 2014 at 23:38.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: