Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Geek Advertising Banner system RC1 Details »
Geek Advertising Banner system RC1
Mod Version: 1.00, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 118
Released: 11 Apr 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 132
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

HowdA All.

From the makers of Hydrogen comes the latest mack - GAB (Geek Advertising Banners).

This has come about by needing an advertising system that no other hack seemed to totally fulfill. Personally - I really didnt want to burden myself with supporting another hack - but I felt it was significantly better than other hack systems out there so I thought many would be able to benefit from it.

Whats so freaking cool about it?

1- use flash, normal, text based (google adsense) or rotating banners
2- Decide which scripts run the banners
3- Define which forums run the banners
4- define which usergroups can turn off the banners
5- Make ads stop at x amount of hits
6- Make ads stop at x amount of views
7- Make ads start/stop at certain times
8- track views and/or hits
9- Wipes your bum

Why am I releasing this now? It seems to be hip and trendy to release Banner hacks. In all reality - this has been a very long work in progress that is finally rounding the finsihing stages. The current RC pacakge is considered complete except for the show stats segment (its recording stats, but you cant browse them easily yet).

LIke with any hack (especially a Beta) back up you DB and files needing change (global.php,admincp/index.php).

Known issues:
  • Flash ads can not appear on same page as a rotating banner ad.
  • After installing for the first time, you will most likely need to edit a phrase (any phrase) and click save to rebuild phrases
  • Flash banners hide drop down menus!!! Be careful where you put them or dont use them!
Basic install instructions:
  • Upload all files to relevant locations
  • chmod the gab and gish folders to 777 (or change the owner of the folders to whatever account your PHP process runs under).
  • Run the gab_install.php file in your admincp folder.
  • Follow the steps.
  • On the file changes - pay close attention to see if certain changes couldnt be made. If any changes could not be made, you need to manually make those changes.
  • When complete, move changed files from gish/gab/rc1.0 to their respective locations
  • Ad a new cron job to run daily (file: GAB_cron_daily.php)
  • Edit each gab category to include the forums you want the ads to appear in.
  • Ad $GAB_ads[x] to your templates where ever you want ads to appear (x represents the ad number depending on how many ads are set to run on that script. $GAB_ads[0] is the first ad block, $GAB_ads[1] would be the second, etc...)
  • Read The Freaking README!!!!!!!
Quick Upgrade instructions

For users of GAB Beta 2, uninstall it and then install this version. In all reality, you could just revert the file changes and delete the GAB_ tables from yur DB (heck, you dont even need to do that).

To upgrade from RC1.5 to RC1.6, just replace existing files with the latest from the downloaded package and run the template portion of the installer (you can skip the rest of the install steps). You may have to revert your GUSH_main and GUSH_ad_row

Donations

I have never asked for donations for any of the macks I have done - however since I have spent well over 60 hours coding this - I thought I would stick my neck out there. If you like my mack, it brings you some money and you want to keep my fridge stocked with beer and Cheetos, then feel free to drop some cash in my paypal account: [email protected]
If youre having difficulty keeping beer in the fridge yourself - fill yours before you fill mine.
If you think the mack sucks, or youre just a tight git then please dont bother

nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ad.jpg
Views:	1048
Size:	127.6 KB
ID:	31397   Click image for larger version

Name:	category.jpg
Views:	1010
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	31398   Click image for larger version

Name:	settings.jpg
Views:	913
Size:	132.6 KB
ID:	31399   Click image for larger version

Name:	showtherad.jpg
Views:	2156
Size:	88.7 KB
ID:	31400  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Geek Article System 3.5 RC2 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 111 16 Mar 2005 20:17

  #601  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 03:07
skinwalker skinwalker is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
found the fix "edit advertising.php and search for sheader then change to header"

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #602  
Old 19 Sep 2005, 00:04
vbhack vbhack is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I get that 400 line eror of gab

move_upload_file():SAFE MODE Restirction in effect. Script whose uid is 504 is not allowed to access /home/****/public_html/gab/0 owned by uid 99 in includes/gab_class_admin.php on line 400.

Soemthing alongst those lines
Reply With Quote
  #603  
Old 19 Sep 2005, 08:47
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by vbhack
I get that 400 line eror of gab

move_upload_file():SAFE MODE Restirction in effect. Script whose uid is 504 is not allowed to access /home/****/public_html/gab/0 owned by uid 99 in includes/gab_class_admin.php on line 400.

Soemthing alongst those lines
Your server has safe mode on. You will have to manually put your banners in place
Reply With Quote
  #604  
Old 22 Sep 2005, 06:03
Cancorp Cancorp is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
This is weird. I got it working, sort of.

I put a $GAB_ads[0] in showthread and forumdisply, but it only shows up in the very first forum on our site (forum id=2). It shows in both forumdisplay and showthread as expected. However in all the other forums, nothing.

Ideas? I'm stumped?!?!

vb 3.0.8
Reply With Quote
  #605  
Old 22 Sep 2005, 07:49
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Cancorp
This is weird. I got it working, sort of.

I put a $GAB_ads[0] in showthread and forumdisply, but it only shows up in the very first forum on our site (forum id=2). It shows in both forumdisplay and showthread as expected. However in all the other forums, nothing.

Ideas? I'm stumped?!?!

vb 3.0.8
Id put $GAB_ads[0] in your header or navbar template... something thats global. Then make sure that all scripts are set to use the master script config.
Then you need to make sure that the banner is set to show in all forums.

HTH's
Reply With Quote
  #606  
Old 22 Sep 2005, 07:54
Cancorp Cancorp is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Originally Posted by The Geek
Then you need to make sure that the banner is set to show in all forums.
Ok, I was with you until that part? There is a setting for that? I must be REALLY tired..... :tired:

**EDIT** /me going to bed..... found the setting I missed.

Great hack and great support. Thanks so much

Last edited by Cancorp; 22 Sep 2005 at 08:01.
Reply With Quote
  #607  
Old 22 Sep 2005, 18:28
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Michael Benson
This is a Geek production, aka, class. I am currently running most of your 3.0 modifications, because i find them accessible and most of simple yet powerful to use. I am sure this will yet another helpful addition.
Reply With Quote
  #608  
Old 23 Sep 2005, 22:03
dennisuello dennisuello is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Denis
Is there a way to remove the "Please visit our sponsor" and "want to advertise with us?" from above and below the banner? I need to compact the upper header, so it fits better with a new logo.
__________________
OverlandHUB.com
Reno4x4.com
Reply With Quote
  #609  
Old 24 Sep 2005, 05:06
Underlab's Avatar
Underlab Underlab is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Hey I have tried to install this hack like three times already. I know you are aware of an issue where some users are unable to get to anything on the control panel. My site is www.underlabstudios.com . It is an artist community site. In it I have installed an arcade (ibarcade, photopost gallery, vb journal, gblink, vba, and Battle Rap System. ) Is it possible that any of these are conflicting with your hack? I just dont understand why I get this white screen, and I find others have had the problem, but no resoultion has been posted. Can you help me please?
Reply With Quote
  #610  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 09:52
DivisionByZero's Avatar
DivisionByZero DivisionByZero is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Chris
Hi.

I'm running vb 3.5.0 and am looking for a hack that will allow users to purchase "clicks" (like a pay per click) banner ad service and have their uploaded banners rotate on my site. Is this possible with your hack?
Reply With Quote
  #611  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 10:23
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
If I understand correctly - you want to provide banners on a maximum impression/clickthru rate (ie. they but 1000 clicks and then it stops showing) - yes.

However this version is not for vb3.5 - the vb3.5 version will not be released on vbulletin.org

HTH's
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 01 Oct 2005, 03:40
DivisionByZero's Avatar
DivisionByZero DivisionByZero is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by The Geek
If I understand correctly - you want to provide banners on a maximum impression/clickthru rate (ie. they but 1000 clicks and then it stops showing) - yes.
Yes, That's correct. I'd like them to be able to use a paid subscriptions like checkout feature and then they get X number of click credits for all their banners.
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 12:41
Hanif Hanif is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire
Real name: Hanif
The Geek,

Anmy idea dude when a release for 3.5 is going to be made available???

Kind regards,

Hanif
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 12:49
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Hanif
The Geek,

Anmy idea dude when a release for 3.5 is going to be made available???

Kind regards,

Hanif
It will be released next weekend on www.thevbgeek.com as it is commercial
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 13:13
Hanif Hanif is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire
Real name: Hanif
Look forward to it Geek, it worked great on 3.08 but looking forward to it on 3.5 any idea how much it will be???

under 50 notes???

Let me know if you need testing for the product.

Kind regards,

Hanif
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: