Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sidebar: Activity Stream Block (4.2 only) Details »
Sidebar: Activity Stream Block (4.2 only)
Mod Version: 1.0, by rellect (Coder) rellect is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.2.0 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 34
Released: 26 May 2012 Last Update: 26 May 2012 Downloads: 172
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

Sidebar: Activity Stream Block

If you installed this mod, please "Mark as Installed".

Description:

Shows the latest activity in your forum home!

Compatibility:
Compatible only with 4.2.X and newer.

Installations:
you don't have to change anything in the templates/files,
just upload the plugin and that's all.

- Import XML file (as product): AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]

History:
  • [26-05-12] v1.0:
    First Release
Enjoy.


The mod removed since there are some problems of stability that need to be fixed and I don't have time to fix them. For who need this kind of feature, just wait for 4.2.1 that will have it build-in.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ss.jpg
Views:	902
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	138718  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5 BirdOPrey5 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 428 03 Jun 2020 19:18

Comments
  #2  
Old 26 May 2012, 10:23
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Awesome, thanks for this! Makes me wonder why this wasn't build in the core of vB 4.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26 May 2012, 11:09
BlessedFWI's Avatar
BlessedFWI BlessedFWI is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This is a great idea! Although, when I tried to upload it to vB 4.2, I get a database error and it won't upload! Is this happening to anyone else?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26 May 2012, 11:20
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Awesome mod. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 May 2012, 11:40
Lionel Lionel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Lionel
Hi, In your picture I see all kind of activities. I installed it and only blog activities display for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26 May 2012, 11:46
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can you make phots and attachments from the activity stream appear in sidebar as well?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 May 2012, 11:59
qpurser qpurser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thanks for this Mod. Really nice to have the activity stream in the sidebar.
However it seems the stream in the sidebar doesn't get updated automatically when somebody posts something like the Stream page itself does.
Updates only occur when I go into another page or refresh the page.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 May 2012, 12:26
Mr_Running Mr_Running is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Originally Posted by BlessedLAF View Post
This is a great idea! Although, when I tried to upload it to vB 4.2, I get a database error and it won't upload! Is this happening to anyone else?
Yes, I have an error too but I not sure if it's this mod. Checking into it.
If anyone else is getting this let me know. Cheers.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Edit:
Okay, Forum Blocks Manager need to set the Display Order # for Activity Stream the above error message went away.

Last edited by Mr_Running; 26 May 2012 at 12:49.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 May 2012, 12:58
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by BlessedLAF View Post
This is a great idea! Although, when I tried to upload it to vB 4.2, I get a database error and it won't upload! Is this happening to anyone else?
Send me the error.
Currently vbulletin doesn't contain the option save forum blocks in xml files, so I improvised and create the block with sql.

Originally Posted by Lionel View Post
Hi, In your picture I see all kind of activities. I installed it and only blog activities display for me.
It shows only the latest activities.
Post a reply or open a thread and check again.
Maybe at the time you've checked all the latest activities were related to blogs.

Originally Posted by meaters View Post
Can you make phots and attachments from the activity stream appear in sidebar as well?
You mean show its images?
I removed (kind of, it just hidden by css) the images to save space, and make it more compact.

Originally Posted by qpurser View Post
Thanks for this Mod. Really nice to have the activity stream in the sidebar.
However it seems the stream in the sidebar doesn't get updated automatically when somebody posts something like the Stream page itself does.
Updates only occur when I go into another page or refresh the page.
The activity main page runs by AJAX. My mod isn't, yet..
Next version I will consider that.

Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
Yes, I have an error too but I not sure if it's this mod. Checking into it.
If anyone else is getting this let me know. Cheers.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Edit:
Okay, Forum Blocks Manager need to set the Display Order # for Activity Stream the above error message went away.
The display order caused to your problem?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 May 2012, 13:11
Mr_Running Mr_Running is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Yes, the Display order was my problem by default it was #0
I gave it a display number.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 May 2012, 13:23
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
Yes, the Display order was my problem by default it was #0
I gave it a display number.
Weird, it should accept display order #0.
I checked the plugin serval times and the display order never caused to problem.
I'll look into it later.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 May 2012, 13:52
Robru's Avatar
Robru Robru is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Wow!! One big error when you edit the block in the blockmanager!

Last edited by Robru; 26 May 2012 at 13:59.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 May 2012, 13:58
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Please add:
- auto updating function. Without a flow of new content its not a stream, but a list.
- make the listing much more compact to allow more entries.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26 May 2012, 14:58
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by Robru View Post
Wow!! One big error when you edit the block in the blockmanager!
Copy here the error
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
Please add:
- auto updating function. Without a flow of new content its not a stream, but a list.
- make the listing much more compact to allow more entries.
1. I will add ajax in the next version
2. Its the most compact style I was able to get without remove important information.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 May 2012, 17:21
Aurvandil Aurvandil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Great mod! Would it be possible to make this into a CMS Widget as well?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: