Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
gWoWChar - World of Warcraft Character Menu Details »
gWoWChar - World of Warcraft Character Menu
Mod Version: 1.3.0, by Gryphon (Coder) Gryphon is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (25 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 257
Released: 08 Mar 2007 Last Update: 30 Jan 2008 Downloads: 1321
Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files  

What is it?

gWoWChar is a modification for vBulletin which allows you to display popup World of Warcraft character information in your forums posbit.

If you use this mod, please Mark as Installed, and if you really enjoy this mod, please Nominate for MOTM, and if you really really enjoy this mod, feel free to Support Developer! Thank you!

Support

I use my released mods daily, if I find an issue with them or add features for myself I will release updates. If there are significant bugs or simple feature requests I will do my best to release fixes. Some of my mods rely on fetching data from 3rd party websites, due to the unreliable results, my mods will require users to troubleshoot for themselves if they find the addon is not working for them specifically. I am offering my personal mods that work ok for me for you to use, I am sorry I do not have time to troubleshoot many user specific issues. Thank you for your understanding.

Features

  • Allows your users to enter multiple servers and characters
  • Links to either US or EU WoW Armorys.
  • Templated so you can direct links somewhere other than the Armory if you wish.
  • Manually place menu in postbit with $wowchar_menu
  • Optionally automatically add to postbit*
  • Shows formatted links on user profile profile.
  • Unified profilefield compatible with gWoWEvents and gWoWRoster
*Automatic addition of menu may not work with all templates.

Installation

  1. Download the latest version and upload all files.
  2. Install the product.
  3. Create a Multiple-Line Text Box User Profile Field.
    • /admincp/?loc=profilefield.php%3Fdo%3Dadd
    • Multiple-Line Text Box
    • Continue
    • Title: World of Warcraft Characters
    • Description:
      Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
      Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    • Default Value: Leave Blank
    • Max length of allowed user input: 1000
    • Field Length: 50
    • Text Area Height: 6
    • Field Editable by User: Yes
    • Other options are optional.
    • Save
    • Look and see what the field name is for World of Warcraft Characters, example field25.
  4. Fill in the gWoWChar configuration options.
  5. That is all, instruct people to fill in their profile.

Changes


v1.3.0 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Fix for vBulletin 3.7

v1.24 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Maintenance release for vBulletin 3.7

v1.23 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Added option to limit posbit menu to specific forums
  • Memberinfo display now lists characters in two columns

v1.22 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Attempt at encoding url's properly

v1.21 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Small update for new Armory urls

v1.20 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Now hooks $template_hook[postbit_userinfo_left] for automatic postbit insertion
  • Removed profile overhaul changes, it is too prone to breaking things.

v1.10 - Import product with Overwrite
  • Added links in member profile page.
  • Added option to clean up the user profile display.

v1.00 - Upload all files import product.
  • Initial Release

Copyright

gWoWChar, Copyright Ryan Snook (www.gryphonllc.com)
Please do not redistribute this script without my consent. While updates may not be made to this product regularly, I still maintain it. If you have fixes, improvements or other additions to make to this mod, please contact me at rsnook@gmail.com for collaboration. I appreciate your consideration.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	1_gwowchar.png
Views:	2158
Size:	6.3 KB
ID:	61669   Click image for larger version

Name:	2_profile.png
Views:	2007
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	61670  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
PB-WoW World of Warcraft 1.01 For VB 3.7.x tuaguild Modification Graveyard 7 19 Jun 2008 01:47

  #91  
Old 15 Sep 2007, 16:01
GekkoPixie's Avatar
GekkoPixie GekkoPixie is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Cassie
Originally Posted by Gryphon View Post
Look for $wowchar_menu in your posbit or turn off automatic insert in the options.
Turns out I had something installed or switched on that forced it to show up in the postbit in text format. All set and working loverly. ^^
__________________
Worlds Away RP - Let your imagination out for some air.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 15 Sep 2007, 20:23
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Originally Posted by GekkoPixie View Post
Turns out I had something installed or switched on that forced it to show up in the postbit in text format. All set and working loverly. ^^
Thank you for the update, I am glad it is working ok for you.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 08 Oct 2007, 19:50
BFMax BFMax is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanks for the mod, installed. It would be great if we can make the person's character(s) only display in the postbit if the post is in a certain forum.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 18:17
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Originally Posted by BFMax View Post
Thanks for the mod, installed. It would be great if we can make the person's character(s) only display in the postbit if the post is in a certain forum.
Added option
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 28 Nov 2007, 04:19
jdunsworth jdunsworth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
For some reason when I submit Dark+Iron it changes the + to it's code %2b and gives an error.. I believe this is the same error as the guy above.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 28 Nov 2007, 15:02
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Originally Posted by jdunsworth View Post
For some reason when I submit Dark+Iron it changes the + to it's code %2b and gives an error.. I believe this is the same error as the guy above.
Try just entering plain text, Dark Iron, it is urlencoded later by the plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 28 Nov 2007, 15:13
jdunsworth jdunsworth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Actually.. that works great for this specific addon but then breaks your Raid Calendar since it isn't in the correct format.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 29 Nov 2007, 17:21
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
Well the raid calendar is by someone else, however, I am surprised that it doesn't work for that.

*Edit: I looked at his code and it appears there is a discrepency in his code.

Try editing the event calendar options and include the + in the server choice there.

-----
Or, open the event calendar product xml and on line 744 change:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 08:43
Andaas Andaas is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I've got this installed, and the postbit portion is working; however, there seems to be a problem with the Armory links. When clicking on the drop-down menu of a character, I get the following message:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With the URL showing in the address bar as:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any ideas?

This is on vB 3.6.8.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 30 Dec 2007, 00:06
Eneswar Eneswar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Nice, can you possible make this so its working on 3.6.2 aswell please?
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 03 Jan 2008, 14:44
Caerydd's Avatar
Caerydd Caerydd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Does this require a port to 3.7.x, or does it work out of the box? Any testers?
__________________

http://www.aelyria.com
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 07 Jan 2008, 17:24
Gryphon's Avatar
Gryphon Gryphon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Ryan Snook
It should be working ok on 3.6.* It will not work on 3.7, I will release an update when 3.7 gold is released. Possibly prior if time permits.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 12 Jan 2008, 02:13
Dan's Avatar
Dan Dan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Daniel
Just installed it on beta 3 and it seems to be working fine.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Guildhead | Torhead | Wowhead
Please do not Private Message, Email or Instant Message me for Support with vBulletin or help with any Modifications to vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 12 Jan 2008, 02:31
Eneswar Eneswar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
This doesnt work on 3.6.2

It says:
This product is not compatible with version 3.6.2 of vBulletin. (Compatible starting with 3.6.7)
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 01 Feb 2008, 11:55
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Hi Gpryhon,

is it possible to change the hack a little bit. I want to use the hack for my guild
and currently have the following.

1. One Textfield where the mainchar name is stored
2. One Multiple Textfield where the Twinks are stored. Each name in a single line.

Because all the guild chars are on the same server and realm I want like to see something like this:

Change:
Location|Realm|Faction|Playername

to:
Fixed Location|Fixed Realm|Fixed Faction|field1+field2

Example:
EU|Frostwolf|Alliance|content singleline text field + content multiline text field.

I hope you got it.
Is this possible for you?
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: