Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] vB Optimise v2 (vB4) Details »
[DBTech] vB Optimise v2 (vB4)
Mod Version: 2.7.1, by DragonByte Tech (Coder) DragonByte Tech is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (35 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 294
Released: 23 Jun 2012 Last Update: 16 Feb 2017 Downloads: 1754
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

vB Optimise Lite

Professional version & feature list available @ www.DragonByte-Tech.com
Priority support for Lite version is handled at the Developers Website.


What does it do?

vB Optimise is intended to optimise vBulletin software by integrating several PHP "cachers" and handling data before vBulletin. This works by encountering and handling data prior to vBulletin in order to skip the arbitary execution that would be more server intensive.

Real-Life Statistics

We've teamed up with some Big Forums to show you the impact of vB Optimise, you can view this public chart which shows both our statistics and theirs:

View Public vB Optimise Resource Statistics

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified by us whenever new updates are available.

*
For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps us know how many people are using our work, giving us extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

We appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Features - Lite
  • Supported Extensions
    • APC
    • eAccelerator
    • Memcache
    • XCache
    • WinCache
    • Filecache
  • Style Cacher
    Caches style data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Template Cacher
    Caches template data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Datastore Cacher
    Forces custom datastore items from modifications (including those from vB's blogs) to use your configured Datastore Cache method instead of being forced into the database. This reduces page queries by where affected.
  • vB CMS Template Caching
    (Automatic) Corrects many uncached templates within vB CMS to reduce upto 20+ queries on CMS pages (number varies based on content).
  • [DBTech] Advanced Post Thanks / Like statistics Caching
    Caches statistics page for the Advanced Post Thanks / Like mod by DBTech.
  • [DBTech] Advanced User Tagging statistics Caching
    Caches statistics page for the Advanced User Tagging mod by DBTech.
  • Optimal Settings Check
    Provides a quick interface to identify possible settings which can be changed on your forum for further optimisation.
  • Self-System Tester
    Provides a relatively straight-forward system check to ensure your vB Optimise installation works fully.
  • Automatic Cache Flusher
    Automatically flushes cache within the Admin CP based on specific triggers to make sure content does not remain stale on your forum.
  • XCache Authentification
    Supports XCache Admin Authentification by allowing you specify the username/password in a configuration if needs be.
  • Forum Resource Statistic
    Shows off vB Optimise resource saving statistics directly within forumhome statistics.
  • Statistical Resource Savings
    Ability to see just exactly how many queries per day vB Optimise has saved your database. You'll be surprised at the numbers.
Features - Pro
  • Notices Cacher
    Caches users dismissed notices to reduce a near-global query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Showgroups Cacher
    Caches the showgroups query which becomes more intensive as your user-base grows.
  • Forum Display Query Enhancement
    Enhances a stock vBulletin query within Forum Display to speed up the page.
  • Forum Home WOL Cache
    Caches Forum Home "Who's Online" to remove an intensive query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • "Who Has Read Thread" Cache (4.2.0+)
    Caches Show Thread "Who Has Read Thread" to remove a query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • "Who Has Visited Forum" Cache (4.2.0+)
    Caches Forum Home "Who Has Visited Forum" to remove a query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • vB Cache Override (Feature not available on vBulletin 3)
    Ability to override vBulletins new built-in database cacher for the CMS / Forum Sidebar Blocks to remove anything from 1 to 20+ queries based on your content.
  • Full Guest Caching
    Ability to cache entire pages and serve them saving not only hundreds of queries but upto 90% of CPU processing towards Guests.
  • CDN Integration
    vB Optimise now integrates with popular CDN systems: Amazon S3, Origin Pull or Mirror, Rackspace Cloud, Remote Server (custom CDN) and Windows Azure.
  • Plugin Cache
    Stores all plugins in a PHP file, improving performance for plugin execution
  • ....and more!
Support

Priority support will be handled at DBTech.

FAQ

Q: I have WinCache installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: WinCache only introduced OpCode support in version 1.1, if you're using version 1.0.x you will need to upgrade.

Q: I'm using the XCache method, flushing doesn't work?
A: If you have XCache authentification, turn the admin option on within vB Optimise Settings, then edit ./vboptimise/config.php and specify your XCache username/password. Alternatively you can disable XCache authentification within php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Q: I have eAccelerator installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: eAccelerator does not provide the caching extension by default, you will need to recompile PHP with additional flags. For more information read eAccelerator documentation located here: http://eaccelerator.net/wiki/CompileConfiguration (Specifically look at: with-eaccelerator-shared-memory)

Q: It says my opcode cacher can't store data?
A: Check to see you're using a supported Apache handler if you're using Apache: http://www.thecpaneladmin.com/wp-con...phandlers2.png

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This mod displays a copyright notification in the footer of all pages which includes:
  • 1 Link to DragonByte Technologies homepage
  • 1 Link to Product Description page of this modification

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_optimal.jpg
Views:	1350
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	139287   Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_options.jpg
Views:	1008
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	139288   Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_selftest.jpg
Views:	853
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	139289  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 09 Jul 2012, 23:22
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Did you remember to turn the modification on via Main Settings, and configure a cache system (or Filecache if you have nothing else installed)?


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 01:43
tsptom tsptom is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech View Post
Did you remember to turn the modification on via Main Settings, and configure a cache system (or Filecache if you have nothing else installed)?
Yes, both are set (online and memcache).

Anything else I should check? ty
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 12:27
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Turn on debug mode and see if vBOptimise adds itself to the drop-down of report items. If it does not, please try disabling all other mods (it's fine to turn your forums off for this process if you don't want others seeing this info, your page loads alone should generate stats) and see if vBO appears there then.

If it still doesn't appear (don't rely exclusively on the stat counter as it recounts every 10 minutes) then please PM me with a link to your issue post, an FTP account and an AdminCP account so that I can find out what's going on


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 14:00
tsptom tsptom is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
OK, thanks. I will try this during a slow period later. In the interim, I have 2 issues... I am embarrassed to say I don't know how to turn on debug mode, nor do I know where the drop-down report items are found.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 14:11
glen290's Avatar
glen290 glen290 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Will this directly overwrite v2.0.1 that i have installed now, or do i need to remove and replace ?
__________________
Bowl Uk The Bowlers choice for bowling chat
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 22:26
hugh_ hugh_ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I bought the full version of this mod a couple of days ago and my homepage stopped working (blank screen) although all the diagnostics are green. Also despite the savings stats in the admincp I'm seeing no change in MYSQL statistics. Where have I gone wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 22:30
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by glen290 View Post
Will this directly overwrite v2.0.1 that i have installed now, or do i need to remove and replace ?
It should overwrite

Originally Posted by hugh_ View Post
I bought the full version of this mod a couple of days ago and my homepage stopped working (blank screen) although all the diagnostics are green. Also despite the savings stats in the admincp I'm seeing no change in MYSQL statistics. Where have I gone wrong?
Please post Pro support questions in our Pro support forum


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 02:27
hugh_ hugh_ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I can't access it. All I get is a blank page...
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 16:01
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Try manually going to /forum.php then


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 22:02
hugh_ hugh_ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
That's it, the links in this thread point to www.DragonByte-Tech.com/forum

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 22 Jul 2012, 19:14
TheAllusionist TheAllusionist is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
This plugin seems to not allow me to save changes in the backend as far as plugins go, but I could disable it and make the changes. So I updated to 2.5 and now I can't disable or uninstall it or make changes to it's setting to enable xCache authentication or even shut it off. It also seems if I manually remove the files my site just has white screens front end and back end.

Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 22 Jul 2012, 19:21
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Add
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to config.php directly beneath <?php then you can correct the configuration issues


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 24 Jul 2012, 17:04
TheAllusionist TheAllusionist is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Thank you, that allowed me to make changes.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 24 Jul 2012, 23:19
tsptom tsptom is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by tsptom View Post
I have had this installed for a few weeks and I just noticed this on my forum home page...

MySQL Queries vB Optimise has saved this forum 0
Does this ever get reset or is it possible that vboptimise has not saved us any queries? All settings are showing as optimal and all test complete successfully.

Also, it may be a coincidence, but since installing, the number of guests has jumped 5 X (hundreds) at any given time. I thought that was strange. For the record I did install a few mods around the same time.

Thanks
A little follow up. I finally decided to uninstall and re-install and it is working now. In just 2+ days I now see:

MySQL Queries vB Optimise has saved this forum 2,012,918
I haven't noticed any positive difference in performance but I have to assume that 2 million saved queries is doing something positive.

Last edited by tsptom; 24 Jul 2012 at 23:38. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 24 Jul 2012, 23:28
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
It won't really provide a noticeable difference in performance unless you have a very high concurrent users count, I'm glad you got it working


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: