Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rank Ordering Details »
Rank Ordering
Mod Version: 1.2, by MarkFL (Coder) MarkFL is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 46
Released: 29 Jul 2015 Last Update: 25 May 2017 Downloads: 247
Not Supported DB Changes Code Changes Translations  

This product will, upon installation, add a column to your "ranks" table labeled "rankorder" and will edit your "/admincp/ranks.php" and "/includes/functions_ranks.php" files so that you may assign display ordering for your defined ranks. The original code is stored as "/admincp/ranks_orig.php" and "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" respectively. When uninstalled, your database and files are restored to their original condition.

This add-on utilizes code written by DragonBlade and n8td as posted here:

where do I change the order of rank images?

This add-on simply automates all of the file edits and the database change into one easy step.

When you go to your "User Rank Manager" you will see a new field titled "Rank Order" associated with each defined rank:



And when you edit a rank, you will find a new field on the form into which you can set the rank order:



Rank ordering can be used to control the order in which your various ranks are displayed in user postbits and profile pages. The smaller the number, the higher in the stack a rank will be displayed.

For example, suppose you have a rank for the forum owner(s) and you want this to be on top regardless of the other ranks the owners might have. You could assign this rank a rank order of 0. Then you may have several ranks which indicate a user's position in your staff, such as administrators, global moderators, forum moderators, etc. No one user would have more than 1 of these ranks, and so you could assign these a rank order of 1. This way any of the owners who are also an admin/global mod/mod would have the site owner rank on top and then their staff position rank next.

In this manner, you can assign rank orders to completely control the order in which all of your ranks are displayed:



Note: Once you edit your ranks to assign the rank order, you must run "update user titles and ranks" in order for the ordering to take effect.

Update: version 1.1
  • Added missed file edit which allows for new ranks to be successfully added after installing this add-on.

Update: version 1.2
  • Reads path to admin control panel folder from config.php.

Note: If you have not renamed your "admincp" folder, then you don't need to update to v. 1.2. If you edited the v. 1.1 .XML file to use your renamed "admincp" folder, then you also don't need to upgrade to v. 1.2. If you do decide to upgrade to v. 1.2 anyway, then you need to uninstall v. 1.1 first. If you wish to keep the rank ordering you've already defined, then you need to edit the product's uninstall code to remove the following db query:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To Install:

In AdminCP go to Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product.

Click on "Choose File" and browse to the product .xml file that was packaged in the .zip file.

Click "Import"

There are no settings to set, once installed, the product is active.

Note: When updating your vB, please follow these steps after completing the upgrade:

First, delete the files "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" and "admincp/ranks_orig.php".

Next, edit the "Rank Ordering" product to remove the uninstall code completely and save it.

Then, uninstall the product.

Lastly, reinstall the product, and the new PHP files will be backed up and then edited, and you'll be back in business.

Support for this product can be found here:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderlist.png
Views:	1277
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	153032   Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderedit.jpg
Views:	1260
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	153033   Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderpost.png
Views:	1273
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	153036  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #76  
Old 12 Mar 2017, 05:12
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Snowhog View Post
Thank you. And it's the simple things that often are the most complicated!
Yes, and that issue sure caught me when I first defined user ranks at MHB...and I know several folks who were caught by it too.

It's a shame that information/link is expertly hidden right at the top of the "User Rank Manager" page.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 21 May 2017, 19:10
WindVoice WindVoice is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Is it possible to make it work with vB 4.2.5, it stopped working after I did an upgrade.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 21 May 2017, 19:19
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by WindVoice View Post
Is it possible to make it work with vB 4.2.5, it stopped working after I did an upgrade.

Thanks!
The issue is that your PHP scripts naturally got overwritten with newer files when you did the upgrade.

What you need to do is as follows:

First, delete the files "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" and "admincp/ranks_orig.php".

Next, edit the "Rank Ordering" product to remove the uninstall code completely and save it.

Then, uninstall the product.

Lastly, reinstall the product, and the new PHP files will be backed up and then edited, and you'll be back in business.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 21 May 2017, 19:28
WindVoice WindVoice is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
The issue is that your PHP scripts naturally got overwritten with newer files when you did the upgrade.

What you need to do is as follows:

First, delete the files "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" and "admincp/ranks_orig.php".

Next, edit the "Rank Ordering" product to remove the uninstall code completely and save it.

Then, uninstall the product.

Lastly, reinstall the product, and the new PHP files will be backed up and then edited, and you'll be back in business.
Working again

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 21 May 2017, 20:02
Snowhog's Avatar
Snowhog Snowhog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Real name: Paul L
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Next, edit the "Rank Ordering" product to remove the uninstall code completely and save it.

Then, uninstall the product.

Lastly, reinstall the product, and the new PHP files will be backed up and then edited, and you'll be back in business.
If one removes the uninstall code, how then does one uninstall the product?
__________________
"It is a capital mistake to theorize in advance of the facts." - Sherlock Holmes
Kubuntu Forums . Net | ZB BLOCK | StopForumSpam
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 21 May 2017, 20:06
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Snowhog View Post
If one removes the uninstall code, how then does one uninstall the product?
A product can still be uninstalled, it's just that when you remove the uninstall code, then that code won't be executed when you uninstall the product.

In this case, we primarily don't want the database to have the added columns removed, this way the rank orders previously defined will remain intact.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 21 May 2017, 20:10
Snowhog's Avatar
Snowhog Snowhog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Real name: Paul L
Ah. Okay. That's sensible. Thank you.

This information will be handy when we update to vBulletin 4.2.5.
__________________
"It is a capital mistake to theorize in advance of the facts." - Sherlock Holmes
Kubuntu Forums . Net | ZB BLOCK | StopForumSpam
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 21 May 2017, 20:17
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Snowhog View Post
Ah. Okay. That's sensible. Thank you.

This information will be handy when we update to vBulletin 4.2.5.
I've added the steps to follow when upgrading vB to the product description to make it easier to find.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 24 May 2017, 20:30
alcazarx's Avatar
alcazarx alcazarx is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Nice Addon, but works only if you havent renamed the admin-dir.
Else you have to adjust the *.xml to make it work (like we did)
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 25 May 2017, 02:14
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Update - Version 1.2
  • Reads path to admin control panel folder from config.php.

Note: If you have not renamed your "admincp" folder, then you don't need to update to v. 1.2. If you edited the v. 1.1 .XML file to use your renamed "admincp" folder, then you also don't need to upgrade to v. 1.2. If you do decide to upgrade to v. 1.2 anyway, then you need to uninstall v. 1.1 first. If you wish to keep the rank ordering you've already defined, then you need to edit the product's uninstall code to remove the following db query:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 16 Feb 2019, 09:22
AwesomeShark305 AwesomeShark305 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Rank order

Is their a way to get an updated version for Vbulletin 5.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 16 Feb 2019, 17:18
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by AwesomeShark305 View Post
Is their a way to get an updated version for Vbulletin 5.5.0
Not unless someone ports it to that version.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: