Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
User Postbit Template Selection Details »
User Postbit Template Selection
Mod Version: 1.00, by WhSox21 (Member) WhSox21 is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 Beta 3 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 106
Released: 30 Jun 2005 Last Update: 08 Jul 2005 Downloads: 211
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

I'm just getting back into the swing of things with vBulletin 3.5. Here's my first plugin being released (Others are still in progress).

What this does:
This allows users to select which postbit they wish to use via their control panel.

Installation
Upload the plugin and create a new user profile field by following the directions below.
Once you complete the top two steps you must edit the plugin and find: field5
Then change that to your user profile field number.

Add a New User Profile Field

Profile Field Type:
Single-Selection Menu

Title: Postbit Template Selection

Description:
If you prefer the old-style postbit, using two vertical columns rather than the new horizontal layout, you can switch back to using that template with this switch.

Options:
Horizontal Postbit
Vertical Postbit (Legacy)

Set Default:
Yes, but no First Blank Option

Display Order:
This is your choice.

Field Required:
No

Field Editable by User:
Yes

Private Field:
Yes

Field Searchable on Members List
No

Show on Members List
No

Allow user to input their own value for this option
No

The rest does not matter.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 04 Oct 2005, 01:09
The Wise One The Wise One is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
works good on 3.5.0

nice and easy and especially nice with the add on.

installed.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 01:32
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Everybody considering to use this should use this Code: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=25

The default Code of this Hack causes additional queries due to uncached Templates.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 02:49
The Wise One The Wise One is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Everybody considering to use this should use this Code: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=25

The default Code of this Hack causes additional queries due to uncached Templates.
the code you link to works great if you have the legacy postbit set as default in options...but how can that code be reworked to work with the horizontal postbit when set as default so that the additional queries can be eliminated?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 16:24
Loony BoB's Avatar
Loony BoB Loony BoB is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Aye, that is also what I'm interested in doing. My website uses non-legacy by default but has legacy as an option, and we can't upgrade until we can figure out how to do this (using our test board).
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 21:02
jtallen123 jtallen123 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
So is there a version of this that works properly with the horizontal, non-legacy, as the default yet? I seemed to read conflicting reports in this thread.
__________________
www.racerplanet.com
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 21:17
The Wise One The Wise One is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Originally Posted by jtallen123
So is there a version of this that works properly with the horizontal, non-legacy, as the default yet? I seemed to read conflicting reports in this thread.
from what i gather...the original code functions just fine as is...except its not cached causing extra queries?

the code Kirby linked to resolves that issue but legacy postbit needs to be set in ACP as default.

hopfully a version of that code is released to work with horizontal as default and without the extra queries. i tried playing with the plugin code, reversing and switching the code around...but was unsuccessful (no surprise there though...dont know a whole lot about php yet).
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 05:19
Samira's Avatar
Samira Samira is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I did this, with the regular postbit as default:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=25

I did away with the else portion and only used the first part. Works fine with legacy as an option but not default. I also made sure to set in the profile field for the 'Top' option to be the default selection, if that makes any difference.

Last edited by Samira; 06 Oct 2005 at 05:22.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 07:48
shungo shungo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by acidburn0520
Try going into the ACP -> vBulletin Options -> Style & Language Settings -> Set "Use Legacy (Vertical) Postbit Template" to "No".

That's i did exactly. But still not working on gold version even replacing by right field profile in module
__________________
Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 15:44
jtallen123 jtallen123 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
hmm - I think I'll eventually use this on my forums if we ever get a confirmed version that works with 3.5.0 and horizontal as default.
__________________
www.racerplanet.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 00:35
Samira's Avatar
Samira Samira is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Works for me, jtallen.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 01:48
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Originally Posted by The Wise One
hopfully a version of that code is released to work with horizontal as default and without the extra queries. i tried playing with the plugin code, reversing and switching the code around...but was unsuccessful (no surprise there though...dont know a whole lot about php yet).
Hmm, works fine for me on gold no matter if legacy is default or not?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 14 Oct 2005, 23:40
The Wise One The Wise One is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Everybody considering to use this should use this Code: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=25

The default Code of this Hack causes additional queries due to uncached Templates.
another question about this. the code you recommend to use in the link above. is the caching done because of the code change or is it because of the hook it belongs to?

as it is now...it works great. when i add the add on, using the option to switch postbits (in the thread display mode menu) doesnt change the postbit. rather...it does, but it requires a refresh after clicking the option. if i use the code in the post you linked to...but change the hook to postbit_display_complete the refresh is no longer required and using the thread display mode menu option changes the postbit accordingly.

i guess what im trying to figure out is...are the additional queries you refer to being caused because of the hook used or the code used...
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 16 Oct 2005, 12:39
Mika Mika is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Hmm, works fine for me on gold no matter if legacy is default or not?
Here as well (3.5 gold).
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 17 Oct 2005, 18:33
WhSox21 WhSox21 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
If anyone with spare time wants to take over this hack's support and functioning please let me know. I'll give you full credit to this hack and if the vb mods want to they can switch the thread starter via the database.

I just don't have time to update this at the moment. Too many things going on in my life.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 22 Nov 2005, 21:22
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by Andreas
Everybody considering to use this should use this Code: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=25

The default Code of this Hack causes additional queries due to uncached Templates.
Ok Andreas...the code below is the correct code to use to not get those additional queries, is that right? I just want to be sure, cause it works just fine

global $vbulletin;
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field9'] == "Vertical Postbit (Legacy)")
{
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 1;
}
else if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field9'] == "Horizontal Postbit")
{
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 0;
}
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: