Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
New way to force guests to register Details »
New way to force guests to register
Mod Version: 2.00, by dszuecs (Designer) dszuecs is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (63 votes - 4.83 average) Installs: 391
Released: 18 Oct 2011 Last Update: 05 Jan 2012 Downloads: 742
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  

ABOUT THIS MOD

My idea was to place a fix characater on the bottom right, wich forces guests to register an account, because i was sick of those standard "hello guest, register" mods.

So with this little modification, you are able to display a nice and flashy character to all guests - forcing them to register

All examples on the bottom are free to use.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LIVE-DEMO: http://www.srowned.org

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IF YOU RUN VBULLETIN 3.X.X CHECK THIS THREAD

1. Upload your desired image to "/images/misc/register.png" (if you want my symples, feel free to use them, they are all attached below)

2. Open your "additional.css" and add the following lines:

div.forcetoregister {
background:url(images/misc/register.png);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
width:300px;
height:200px;
padding:0 5px 3px;
position:fixed;
right:1px;
bottom:0px;
z-index:1;
}
3. Open your "header" template and add the following line on top:

To show it on EVERY PAGE add this:
<vb:if condition="$show['guest']"><a href="/register.php"><div class="forcetoregister"></div></a></vb:if>
To show it only on FIRST PAGE (forum home) add this (thx @ Whity):
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">
<vb:if condition="$show['guest']"><a href="/register.php"><div class="forcetoregister"></div></a></vb:if>
</vb:if>
To show it on every page EXCEP THE REGISTER PAGE, add this code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'register'">
<vb:if condition="$show['guest']"><a href="/register.php"><div class="forcetoregister"></div></a></vb:if>
</vb:if>
If you want the image to show up only for SPECIFIC USERGROUP(S), for example User who need to verify their e-mail adress - use this code:
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 3)"><a href="/register.php"><div class="forcetoregister"></div></a></vb:if>
Make sure to check your Usergroup ID in the ADMINCP as these may differ!



4. Mark as installed

5. You are done!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEW FEATURE: RANDOM IMAGE ON EVERY PAGERELOAD


Since some one at the forum came up with the wish, to have random images on every pagereload, i can now provide you a solution:

1. Add this code to your "additional.css" instead of the code provided on top:

div.forcetoregister {
background:url(rotate.php);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
width:300px;
height:200px;
position:fixed;
right:1px;
bottom:0px;
z-index:1;
}
2. Download the file "rotate.php" wich is attached below

3. Upload the file "rotate.php" to your FORUMROOT

4. Open "images/misc" via FTP and create a new folder called "ftr" (Complete path should look like this: /images/misc/ftr)

5. Upload your desired images to the "ftr" folder (supported file extensions are: PNG, GIF & JPG)

6. Your done!

SPEND ME A BUCK

If you like my Mod feel free to check my fiverr.com gig: http://fiverr.com/dszuecs/create-a-c...d-implement-it

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	register.png
Views:	2292
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	133931   Click image for larger version

Name:	registerv2.png
Views:	1557
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	133935   Click image for larger version

Name:	registerV3.png
Views:	2055
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	133936   Click image for larger version

Name:	registerV4.png
Views:	1692
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	133937  

Click image for larger version

Name:	registerV5.png
Views:	1350
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	133938  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #256  
Old 26 Jan 2013, 22:33
Spadow Spadow is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hi there,

I've been looking for something like this, but is there a way to add an 'x' to close the image?

Thanks,
Spadow
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 26 Jan 2013, 22:55
Alibass's Avatar
Alibass Alibass is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Originally Posted by Spadow View Post
Hi there,

I've been looking for something like this, but is there a way to add an 'x' to close the image?

Thanks,
Spadow
Dunno why you would want to close image, the mod was designed to stare your guest in the face with a constant reminder so they will join.
__________________
Alibass
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 26 Jan 2013, 23:04
Spadow Spadow is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Alibass View Post
Dunno why you would want to close image, the mod was designed to stare your guest in the face with a constant reminder so they will join.
That is correct, but this modification can be used in forum events as well, which I'm sure of that my registered members don't want to see the same image every single time they visit a certain page. Because it might be annoying for them.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 01 Feb 2013, 08:51
dszuecs's Avatar
dszuecs dszuecs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by Spadow View Post
That is correct, but this modification can be used in forum events as well, which I'm sure of that my registered members don't want to see the same image every single time they visit a certain page. Because it might be annoying for them.
It wouldn't be a problem at all to add a close button to the image with jQuery. The problem is, that the image will reappear on every page reload.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 21:13
whitetailworld whitetailworld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
OK, I have never claimed to be a "programmer". I have installed VB myself and it works. I am REALLY trying to get this mod in and am having NO luck.

I have done the following...
1. placed my register.png file in the images/misc/ folder

2. placed this code in (what was my empty) additional.css file:

div.forcetoregister {
background:url(images/misc/register.png);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
width:300px;
height:200px;
padding:0 5px 3px;
position:fixed;
right:1px;
bottom:0px;
z-index:1;
}

3. Included the code in bold to my header file. This is not all of the header file, but just the top part...

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'register'">
<vb:if condition="$show['guest']"><a href="/register.php"><div class="forcetoregister"></div></a></vb:if>
</vb:if>

<div class="above_body"> <!-- closing tag is in template navbar -->
<div id="header" class="floatcontainer doc_header">
<vb:if condition="$stylevar['titleimage']"><div><a name="top" href="{vb:link forumhome}" class="logo-image"><img src="{vb:stylevar titleimage}" alt="{vb:rawphrase x_powered_by_vbulletin, {vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle}}" /></a></div></vb:if>
<div id="toplinks" class="toplinks">
<vb:if condition="$show['member']">
<ul class="isuser">...
.
.
.
.

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 21:30
whitetailworld whitetailworld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
it appears the link is there when you hover over, but the image does not show...

www.forums.whitetailworld.com is the link btw...

also, thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 21:46
Alibass's Avatar
Alibass Alibass is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Try it on every page except registration page and see if it works. That is how I have mine set and it works fine.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Alibass
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 22:29
Alibass's Avatar
Alibass Alibass is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Originally Posted by whitetailworld View Post
it appears the link is there when you hover over, but the image does not show...

www.forums.whitetailworld.com is the link btw...

also, thanks in advance!!!
Is your forum setup as a sub forum? You may have to change your background url to direct to where you have it saved[http://forums.whitetailworld.com/forum.php]

You might try putting forums/image/misc/register.php

The problem is the image is not in your root correctly from the way the mod is written.
__________________
Alibass
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 22:47
whitetailworld whitetailworld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
problem solved...oh how I wish I knew what I was doing...
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 07 Feb 2013, 22:54
Alibass's Avatar
Alibass Alibass is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
glad you got it work out...
__________________
Alibass
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 11 Feb 2013, 00:01
Expat Expat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Excellent mod. I went with a non-anime theme that works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 21 Feb 2013, 12:41
vimarc's Avatar
vimarc vimarc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I tried to add but not working on my forum: www.talkinwebforum.com
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 22 Feb 2013, 12:03
dszuecs's Avatar
dszuecs dszuecs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by vimarc View Post
I tried to add but not working on my forum: www.talkinwebforum.com
I can check it if you want me to. Just let me know user/pwd via PM.
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 25 Feb 2013, 21:53
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm trying to get this to work in version 4.2.0 without any luck.

I've pasted the code into additional.css


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and I've pasted this into my header template file this is just the top part :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've used the full URL to check the links are correct, both work when pasted into the browser.

No image shows when I am logged out, I know I am missing something, but I can't think what.
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 25 Feb 2013, 21:58
dszuecs's Avatar
dszuecs dszuecs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
I'm trying to get this to work in version 4.2.0 without any luck.

I've pasted the code into additional.css


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and I've pasted this into my header template file this is just the top part :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've used the full URL to check the links are correct, both work when pasted into the browser.

No image shows when I am logged out, I know I am missing something, but I can't think what.
Please create a temporary admin account and send me the credentials via PM so i can check your setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: