Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Follow Us Widget/Forum Block Details »
Follow Us Widget/Forum Block
Mod Version: 1.00, by crazyace (Member) crazyace is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (20 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 172
Released: 25 Mar 2010 Last Update: 25 Mar 2010 Downloads: 702
Not Supported Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

I was asked to create a widget and forum block from a few users so after doing some testing, I was able to come create them.

Install CMS Widget:
  • Upload the image files
  • Go to admincp and select vBulletin CMS >> Widgets
    Press Create New Widget
  • At Widget Type select Static HTML
  • At Title type: Follow Us
  • Now click Save
  • Select Follow Us Widget and then click Configure
  • Select and Delete any white space
  • Copy and paste HTML code below and then save config ( Edit each line of code with the settings you want where you see the "XXXX" also you can edit the margins as well )

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • Go to admincp and select vBulletin CMS>> Layout Manager
  • Select your layout (eg: Default Layout)
  • Edit>> Go
  • At Widgets Select Follow Us and Add to the right by pressing the (>) button
  • Move the widget to the area in your CMS that you want it



Install Forum Block:
  • Upload the image files
  • Go to admincp and select Forums & Moderators >> Forum Blocks Manager
    Press Add Block
  • At Add new block select Custom HTML/PHP
  • At Title replace Custom HTML/PHP with: Follow Us
  • Under Block Config>> Click HTML
  • Copy and paste HTML code below and then save config ( Edit each line of code with the settings you want where you see the "XXXX" also you can edit the margins as well )

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • Now click Save


**Note: With this MOD the image files path will be set to ""images/misc/95x56/" That way if you have the other versions installed, it won't cause issues. Also if you want to use even the smaller images, edit the HTML to point at 48x28.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	follow us widget.PNG
Views:	2532
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	114680   Click image for larger version

Name:	forum block.PNG
Views:	1924
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	114681  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 25 Mar 2010, 17:46
crazyace's Avatar
crazyace crazyace is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Originally Posted by gyaronn View Post
never mined my mistake fixed it works grate thank you
I started to say.. I just looked at it and it looked in line. If you want some spacing you need to add to the top margin of the pics.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25 Mar 2010, 23:47
SuperGLS SuperGLS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
gyaronn, do you mind if I use the images you have on your site?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26 Mar 2010, 19:10
GONUMBER6's Avatar
GONUMBER6 GONUMBER6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Lisa
This is a dumb question I know, but I just want to make sure I do it right!

What do I need to put where the red X's are?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26 Mar 2010, 19:27
crazyace's Avatar
crazyace crazyace is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Originally Posted by GONUMBER6 View Post
This is a dumb question I know, but I just want to make sure I do it right!

What do I need to put where the red X's are?

Thanks in advance!
Not dumb at all.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace the X's with your Twitter ID


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace the X's with your facebook address. Example: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Ban...1493616?ref=ts


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace the X's with your Myspace ID


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace the X's with your youtube group ID


Now for the other X's that you see after images is to adjust the height or width. Also you can adjust the margins if you need to. But if you leave them as X's it will keep the pictures default values
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26 Mar 2010, 20:07
GONUMBER6's Avatar
GONUMBER6 GONUMBER6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Lisa
awesome thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 31 Mar 2010, 17:35
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I found something strange.
http://www.gamerperfection.com

If you go to the home page and look at the Follow Us widget in the bottom left corner using FF it appears fine. 4 icons for Facebook, Twitter, MySpace and YouTube.

However when I view it through IE 8 (using compatibility view) the widget appears with 4 dots where the images are meant to be. The links are still there to the relevant accounts, it's just that the PNG images do not appear using IE. Why is this?
__________________
Gamer Perfection
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 09:18
alawee.blawee's Avatar
alawee.blawee alawee.blawee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IraQ
Real name: Ali Hilli
what about that lovely tweet button in the left side of your snapshot?
__________________
The Biggest Software Bug I Ever See ---> Here
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 11:44
Jabong82 Jabong82 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thank you for this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01 Apr 2010, 15:24
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by clarkey25 View Post
I found something strange.
http://www.gamerperfection.com

If you go to the home page and look at the Follow Us widget in the bottom left corner using FF it appears fine. 4 icons for Facebook, Twitter, MySpace and YouTube.

However when I view it through IE 8 (using compatibility view) the widget appears with 4 dots where the images are meant to be. The links are still there to the relevant accounts, it's just that the PNG images do not appear using IE. Why is this?
It's ok I solved the problem.
IE doesn't like the XXXXXX in the settings. So although the icons are 60px by 60px and FF showed them at that size, IE decided to show them at 1px by 1px.

So i just replaced the XXXXXX with 60px.
__________________
Gamer Perfection
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05 Apr 2010, 01:11
crazyace's Avatar
crazyace crazyace is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Originally Posted by alawee.blawee View Post
what about that lovely tweet button in the left side of your snapshot?
You can use vBSEO or This mode Tweetboard Integartion (Forum + CMS)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 19 Apr 2010, 03:19
trackpads's Avatar
trackpads trackpads is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Jason
Thanks! Installed
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 20 Apr 2010, 04:53
jauction2010 jauction2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: tony
Is there a way to do this for vBa CMPS via a module?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20 Apr 2010, 05:07
crazyace's Avatar
crazyace crazyace is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Originally Posted by jauction2010 View Post
Is there a way to do this for vBa CMPS via a module?
I'm not really sure. I don't have vBa installed I'm sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 24 Apr 2010, 07:04
mitbar mitbar is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I must have done something wrong, The pictures dont show, yes i uploaded them.

EDIT: nvr mind bone head mistake on my part, thanks works great.

Last edited by mitbar; 24 Apr 2010 at 07:10.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19 May 2010, 15:34
thunderclap82 thunderclap82 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
It was just brought to my attention that the nothing is showing up in the widget on IE, yet it displays fine in Firefox (which I use). Any idea why IE is having trouble?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: