Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10 Jul 2009, 08:29
Malceski09 Malceski09 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Links in Postbit based on Profile Fields.

Ill use an example.

With Battrick, each userr has themselves an assigned Team ID number (which is Part of the link to their Pavillion.

In the Postbit, i would like to be able to have it, so we can click the Team Name, and link (in another window) to their Pavillion.

Its somewhat like this.

h ttp://ww w.battrick.org/nl/office.asp?userID=4813 is the link to my Pavillion

4813 is my Team ID (FIELD 1)

St Arnaud CC is my Team Name. (FIELD 2)

Basically, id like it to be set up somewhat like this...
St Arnaud CC

which is
[U RL="http://www.battrick.org/nl/office.asp?userID=4813"]St Arnaud CC[/URL]

Which Therefore is
[U RL="http://www.battrick.org/nl/office.asp?userID=FIELD 1"]FIELD 2[/URL]

Now, my question, can it be done? If so, how?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10 Jul 2009, 10:18
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
That should do it. Trimmed down a mod of mine to do it.

2 plugins, 1 template. Template's cached. Only shows the link if the ID exists. All you have to do is to edit the template (Link In Postbit), change the field IDs to the correct ones, and that's it.

I made it a product and here's a link to it: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=218293

Change the template to below for what you need (specifically a known URL + a profile field).

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net

Last edited by Wired1; 10 Jul 2009 at 10:30.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Jul 2009, 12:22
Malceski09 Malceski09 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Perfect! Cheers

--------------- Added 10 Jul 2009 at 12:25 ---------------

Ahh, one thing, What mod would i need to do, to make it open in new window?

is that just adding target="_blank" after the link?

Last edited by Malceski09; 10 Jul 2009 at 12:29. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Jul 2009, 18:46
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
If I remember my HTML correctly, yes.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Showing Custom Profile Fields On Postbit And Postbit Legacy Attila M. vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 21 21 Jan 2013 18:47



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: