Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 09 Jan 2008, 20:57
azn_romeo_4u azn_romeo_4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
How does one set up multiple servers?

Like one for the website and one for the db.
Also is the db server only for one db or can it house more than one?
When does one want to get a setup like this?
Would you recommend one when you have 1mill+ posts and 10k visits per day.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Jan 2008, 05:55
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
A 2 server setup is fairly simple... right now your forum is connecting to the local server, when you add a second machine for the database, your forum connects to that over an internal ip address. Your database server is just like a local database server, it can serve one db or twenty, although most of the time if you're splitting them out it's because you want more dedicated resources and don't want to be sharing them.

When do you do to this setup? When you need it either because you can see a slow down in services or because you forecast one (and hopefully not because your site is crashing from overload although that's often the case).

The number of visits and pageviews is telling but not the whole story. Sites running a barebones installs with short sessions might be able to do two, three, even four times the traffic of one with more features, addons or visitor activity. If your site runs well at that level there's little reason to make a change... if it doesn't then you should look at optimization options and if those are maxed out, a second server is probably the ideal solution.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Jan 2008, 14:34
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
We moved over to a two server setup when I started noticing that our server loads were constantly over 2 (and often sitting around 4 or 5) and we were noticing a slow down on the site that no amount of server optimization would fix. Oh, and also when we had enough money in the paypal account to afford the move.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 Jan 2008, 00:31
azn_romeo_4u azn_romeo_4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
>_<

Anyone know who I would go to, for a setup like that? <O.O> I don't know much about setting it up myself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 Jan 2008, 15:32
AWS's Avatar
AWS AWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Bob
You need to get 2 dedicated servers. When you order them make sure they are either on the same vlan or are connected to a private switch. Once you get the server you install mysql on one of them and the webpages on the other. You set up the software to connect to the private IP of the server the db is on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11 Jan 2008, 17:54
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by azn_romeo_4u View Post
>_<

Anyone know who I would go to, for a setup like that? <O.O> I don't know much about setting it up myself.
It's really not that difficult. Have your hosting provider configure a second server with the latest version of mysql setup and no other services running (i.e. no webserver, no mail server, no ftp) and link it over a vpn or internal network (something that avoids traffic having to go over any open network). Turn your forum off, copy your database to the new server and point vbulletin to it as well. Run a few tests and you're good to go.

If that's still more than you want to manage, you should be able to find someone in the Paid Requests forum who can assist.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 00:16
klyde's Avatar
klyde klyde is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
And with more than 2 servers????
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 18:44
AWS's Avatar
AWS AWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Bob
With more than 2 you configure mysql to use the other servers as slaves. If you want to distribute the load you use a load balancer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19 Feb 2008, 04:43
IronMountain IronMountain is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by azn_romeo_4u View Post
Like one for the website and one for the db.
Also is the db server only for one db or can it house more than one?
Your database server can house as many databases as the server can handle, there's no limit

When does one want to get a setup like this?
Definitely agree on the Paypal comment. Once you can afford to move and you feel your forum isn't that fast, you probably should...no visitor wants to visit a slow forum. But you should be making money off your forum (ads/donations) before you consider moving)

Would you recommend one when you have 1mill+ posts and 10k visits per day.
The posts might qualify but your visitor count isn't that high yet. It also depends on what kind of server you have now.

Anyone know who I would go to, for a setup like that? <O.O> I don't know much about setting it up myself.
If you don't know much about server setups, you can get "server management" from the hosting company. Or you can go for managed servers (which have the management portion built into the pricing)

Hope that helps.
__________________
iMountain.com - Solar Powered - Clustered vBulletin Memcache Hosting - 25th year Anniversary
ArenaJunkies.com | DallasCowboysCentral.com | Car-Seat.org | Idolbloglive.com
You don't need a VPS or a Dedicated, try our fully managed Luxury Clusters and Clustered Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Feb 2008, 04:34
Amenadiel's Avatar
Amenadiel Amenadiel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I have 50k visitors and 1.6M posts, and I'm fine with one Xeon dual core server, but I switched over from apache to lighttpd.

I'm considering upgrading my server to a quad core one, it's still cheaper than a 2 machine array, but I believe I'd just need to point database in includes/config.php to the new DB server.

What about slave database? Does it relieve server load or it's just for backup purposes?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Mar 2008, 23:29
IronMountain IronMountain is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Amenadiel, you could also consider going with a hybrid setup. Instead of 2 dedicateds, go with 1 semi-dedicated for the web and a full dedicated for the mySQL.

This site here (500 users online avg up to 1000) runs on a hybrid (4GB RAM Apache, 4GB RAM mySQL): ArenaJunkies.com

I think it's the more cost effective way of running a 2 server mySQL setup.
__________________
iMountain.com - Solar Powered - Clustered vBulletin Memcache Hosting - 25th year Anniversary
ArenaJunkies.com | DallasCowboysCentral.com | Car-Seat.org | Idolbloglive.com
You don't need a VPS or a Dedicated, try our fully managed Luxury Clusters and Clustered Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Mar 2008, 23:37
nyunyu nyunyu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
What if I have a download section which files are larger than 100mb.

I have low activity on the site; 120 active and 2++ members.

But often the load get high like 20 something which I need to restart the server.

Please advise.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: