Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 27 Sep 2007, 19:36
Defkalion Defkalion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Move post to top of the thread

It is very important for my forums to be able to move a single post from its position in the thread to the very TOP of the thread.

This was the short version. The long version is this;

I am designing a portal that will have movies articles. Let's say that I write an article of a movie and post a new thread. The discussion will continue from there on, but the main thing is that the important info (ie the article) will always be at the top of the thread, for anyone who selects this thread in the future.

BUT: if a member starts a new topic for a movie, just to make a discussion, and I -or someone else- submits an article for this movie in one of my replies, THAT information will be lost inside the multiple pages of the thread. So I need to be able to move this specific post at the start of the thread.


Anyone has any ideas about this one? I've searched the forums quite a lot but I couldn't find any hacks that would help me implement something like this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28 Sep 2007, 00:45
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Without looking into it, it might be enough to just change the post's date to just before the first post's date, and change the firstpostid in the thread table.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 Sep 2007, 06:13
Defkalion Defkalion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Yes but that would require tampering the SQL tables. I want to provide this function to the moderators of my forum, so I need to be able to do it within the forum.

--------------- Added at 11:35 ---------------

Ok I found a way, through the "advanced admin & mod edit options" hack.

Last edited by Defkalion; 28 Sep 2007 at 08:35. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 Sep 2007, 14:52
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Defkalion View Post
Yes but that would require tampering the SQL tables. I want to provide this function to the moderators of my forum, so I need to be able to do it within the forum.

--------------- Added at 11:35 ---------------

Ok I found a way, through the "advanced admin & mod edit options" hack.
Glad you found something that works.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: