Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 Sep 2017, 08:52
tinuz tinuz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Question Forum loads slow

Good day,

I think i need some help here...

Yesterday out of the blue my forum keeps on loading and loading.... When i disable all the modules using the define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true); line in my config.php all is working fine. But when i remove it the forum loads very slow. So i decided to disable all the modules one by one from the admin panel to see which module is causing the problem but the forum is still slow. Even with all the modules disabled the problem is still occurring and when i add define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true); to my config.php the problem is gone.

Running VBulletin 4.2.5

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Sep 2017, 17:07
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
You should set up built in Vbulletin logging or check your server logs.

What plug ins do you have? There are some that can gather a large amount of data and really slow things down.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Sep 2017, 19:23
tinuz tinuz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Thanks for the reply, here's a list of all the pluginins i use. all the plugins are disabled at this moment, i tried to remove the DragonByte Tech Super PM's Lite plugin but i can't remove it.

Add additional css to your style 1.0 This just adds a new additional_css.css template to your pages for custom css

Chiplove.9xpro - Thread Thumbnails 2.2.9 2.2.9 Show first image/file attach or youtube thumbnail of thread in forumdisplay

Digital Point Spy 1.1.1 System To Show What's Going On In The Forum

DragonByte Tech: Super PM's (Lite) 1.2.2pl1 A complete private message management system.

DragonByte Tech: vBShout (Lite) 6.2.16 vBShout by DragonByte Technologies: Allow your forum members to chat with eachother in real-time with this AJAX-powered Shoutbox!

Easy Forms 4.3.0 Create Forms without any hassle or fuss. Form list at forms.php?do=forms

MarkFL: Fluid Youtube/Vimeo Video BBCodes 1.6 Auto-creates fluid Youtube/Vimeo video BBCodes.

Post Thank You Hack 7.85 Post Thank You Hack

SevenSkins Image Resizer 1.6 Resizes EXTERNAL images in posts, posts preview, signatures, blogs, articles, private messages, visitor messages and vBadvanced CMPS.

vB Optimise Lite 2.0.1 Optimises the stock vBulletin software to reduce load and potentially improve max capacity and load times.

vFCoders - Hide Hack 4.0 This MOD gives users in selected forums the ability to use a BBCode to hide content.

VSa - Sub-Forum Manager 3.1.4 VSa - Sub-Forum Manager

[AJAX] Live Search 4.0.6 Search without reload pages

[OzzModz] Advertisement Inside First/Last Post 1.1.1 Allows admins to place a ad inside of the first/last post in a thread.

[OzzModz] Default Member Avatar 1.1.1 A avatar to use for members that don't have one

[OzzModz] Exclude Forums From Activity Stream 1.1.2 Exclude threads / posts from activity stream, based on forum id

[OzzModz] Exclude Forums From New Posts Search 1.0.1 Exclude threads / posts from new posts search, based on forum id

[Ozzy47] Post Icons Per Row 1.2.1 Set the amount of post icons per row.

[Ozzy47] Post New Thread Button In Posts 1.0.1 This mod adds a Post New Thread button to posts

[Ozzy47] Separate Sticky Threads 1.5.3 Separate sticky threads from normal threads

--------------- Added 21 Sep 2017 at 21:13 ---------------

for those who have the same problem... it seems that the vbulletin license servers are down so the license check can't be complete because the connection can't be made... it sounds weird but when disabling the License in the Plugin System my forum runs like a charm...

problem solved and RichieBoy67 thanks for helping me m8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Sep 2017, 08:36
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by tinuz View Post
for those who have the same problem... it seems that the vbulletin license servers are down so the license check can't be complete because the connection can't be made... it sounds weird but when disabling the License in the Plugin System my forum runs like a charm...
I'm having a similar problem. How do you "disable the License in the Plugin System"?

Note: I do have a valid license, actually several, but something is slowing down my forum page loads significantly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 Sep 2017, 01:45
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Glad you got it worked out but I am not sure what you are talking about regarding license checking or Vb servers being down.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Sep 2017, 19:55
Stingray27 Stingray27 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
He is (possibly) talking about the fact that IB seem to be blocking a lot of IP addresses.

This means the vb call backs hang - I have this problem on some sites of mine running on several servers.

I ended up having to add some records to the server hosts file to null route vb.com.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Sep 2017, 19:59
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by Stingray27 View Post
He is (possibly) talking about the fact that IB seem to be blocking a lot of IP addresses.

This means the vb call backs hang - I have this problem on some sites of mine running on several servers.

I ended up having to add some records to the server hosts file to null route vb.com.
Can you explain how you did that please?

I am experiencing intermittent slow downs as well and have not been able to identify the reason yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Sep 2017, 20:17
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I've never seen or heard of vBulletin 3/4 doing a license check to their server in the code. As far as I know, there's only a check during the installation/upgrade process.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27 Sep 2017, 20:33
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I've never seen or heard of vBulletin 3/4 doing a license check to their server in the code. As far as I know, there's only a check during the installation/upgrade process.
Well we now have two people saying that blocking something linked to vBulletin.com has resolved the problem for them.

I'd really like to know more about this to see if whatever it is may be contributing to my problem.

--------------- Added 28 Sep 2017 at 11:35 ---------------

I've heard back from some former and current vBulletin support members and coders and it would appear that Dave is basically (although perhaps only partially) correct.

The gist if the additional information is that any callbacks to vBulletin occur only in the AdminCP and for that reason cannot affect the functioning of the forum itself.

So I guess that whatever resolved those issues for tinuz and Stingray27 were unrelated to callbacks. Either the issues were server related and resolved themselves on their own, or other changes made to plugins or something else were responsible for the improvement.

That's good to hear on the one hand. On the other hand, it means back to my research in trying to track down the intermittent slowdowns on my forums.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 11:43
tinuz tinuz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
i now and then activate the plugin and when active the forum starts to load very slow again until i disable it again. When going to Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager i have the following plugin listed

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 12:18
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
That's not standard vBulletin.

Do you have any other vBulletin products installed? The mobile app maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 12:46
tinuz tinuz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
i only use the forum and the only mobile app is used was the tapatalk plugin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 12:55
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Where are you located?

I have no category called "vbulletin corp" and no such plugins on my vbulletin 4 forums.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 13:20
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Yea the hooks in the picture displayed by tinuz looks very much like malware (backdoor).
Can you post a screenshot of the code in one of those hooks perhaps?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Sep 2017, 17:04
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Get rid of those right away!
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: