Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB3.5 Forum Display Stats Cache Serialized Details »
vB3.5 Forum Display Stats Cache Serialized
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by Boofo (R.I.P.) Boofo is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.5.8 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 21
Released: 12 Sep 2005 Last Update: 13 Sep 2005 Downloads: 54
Not Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes  

vB3.5 Forum Display Stats Cache Serialized
Version 1.0.0
(By Boofo)

What does this product do?
It will display stats about each forum at the top of that forum. (NOTE: The attachments info will NOT show in forums that have no attachments.) Also included in the product is Logician's vB2 "Last Post Minute Hack" (with his permission for the vB2 version, of course) optimized and redone for vB3.5. It now uses NO queries to get the last minute info. This product will display a link the last post and the time the last post was made (i.e. "1 minute" or "2 days", etc.) as well as the name and link to the last poster in the forum. The stats are cached and the cache is only updated at a time set by you. With an option in the Admin CP, you can reset the time between cache updates once this product is installed. This product will add 1 optimized query (for the user's threads and replies stats) on a cache read, but since this product is serialized, the cache read itself will not pull a query. On a cache update, it will add 6 queries to update the cache. And then drop back down to the one query until the next cache update. This product will make a cache in the datastore for each forum you have (with no extra queries), so you don't have to worry about forums getting cross-cached with this product. It has been thoroughly tested on my site, but as we all know too well, sites can, and often do, vary in the way a product performs on it. I forsee no problems of any kind on any site in the way this product functions. It's basically pretty simple and hard to mess up.

Forum Display Stats Update Frequency
NOTE: This is the setting for the time interval (in minutes) that you want the cache to be updated on. The default value is 10 minutes. You can change the setting in the Admin CP vBulletin Options settings under "Forum Listings Display Options > Forum Display Stats Update Frequency".

Credits:
A BIG thank you goes out to eXtremeTim for all of his expert guidance and patience while this product was being converted and tested. This product might never have gotten past the conversion if it wasn't for him. And it definitely wouldn't have been finished by now. Thank you, my friend.

Version Information:
Version 1.0.0 --Initial release

Installation overview:
---------------------------------
Files to edit: (1)
--forumdisplay.php (or config.php)
Products to install (1)

Installation Instructions:
---------------------------------
In forumdisplay.php:

Find:
---------------------------------

'iconcache',

---------------------------------
BELOW it add:
---------------------------------

'forumstatscache',

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you want to save a file edit on upgrades, do the following INSTEAD of the above file edit:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In includes/config.php:

Find:
---------------------------------

$config['Mysqli']['ini_file'] = '';

---------------------------------
BELOW it add:
---------------------------------

// ****** SPECIALTEMPLATES *****
// Add any specialtemplates here for any products or mods that use the datastore, to save
// from re-doing file edits on an upgrade or re-install of vBulletin (until they give us a better
// way to do it, anyway). Thanks to KirbyDE for the how-to on doing this.
if(THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay')
{
global $specialtemplates;
$specialtemplates = array_merge($specialtemplates, array('forumstatscache'));
}


NOTE: You can also add any other specialtemplates from other hacks in here to save those file edits also.

---------------------------------

Go to your AdminCP
Scroll down to 'Plugin System'
Click 'Manage Products'
Click 'Add/Import Product'
Click the 'Browse' button, and locate the product-forumdisplay_stats_bh.xml file on your computer

---------------------------------
Done!
Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vB3 Forumhome Stats Cache Serialize hack v2.2 Boofo vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 432 30 Dec 2005 01:32
vB3 Forum Quick Stats Cache Serialize Hack v1.1 Boofo vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 117 21 Aug 2005 00:10

  #16  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 17:40
Gizmo5h1t3's Avatar
Gizmo5h1t3 Gizmo5h1t3 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: STEVE
Originally Posted by Boofo
Read this in the first post:

Installation Instructions:

And don't forget the install button.
just followed your instructions to the letter, and im tellin u mate it isnt working!!!

Last edited by Gizmo5h1t3; 14 Sep 2005 at 17:45.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 17:56
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Working for me, so you must be doing smth. wrong.
Are you sure you imported the XML as Product and not as Plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 17:58
Huijting Huijting is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Originally Posted by Boofo
Ok, I'll be waiting here then.
Click :-)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 17:59
Gizmo5h1t3's Avatar
Gizmo5h1t3 Gizmo5h1t3 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: STEVE
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Working for me, so you must be doing smth. wrong.
Are you sure you imported the XML as Product and not as Plugin?
if id have done that,it would have told me it was an invalid file..
as it is, ive followed to the LETTER, and i see nothing....
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 18:00
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
No, RC2 doesn't tell that the File is invalid
Anyway, send me a PM with an ACP Login and i'll take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 19:43
Gizmo5h1t3's Avatar
Gizmo5h1t3 Gizmo5h1t3 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: STEVE
no , what im saying is, if i d tried to import it as a plugin, instead of a product, id have got the invalid file type message.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 20:16
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Quoting myself:
RC2 does not give an invalid file type error when you try to import a product xml as a plugin xml.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 15 Sep 2005, 10:44
Living in music's Avatar
Living in music Living in music is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Tuan Hai Pham
I followed your request,this mod is too simple but I cannot understand why I don't see any change at forumdisplay after hacking this.
I uninstalled this but still not be successful.Please help me solve this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15 Sep 2005, 22:19
Bhuwan's Avatar
Bhuwan Bhuwan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Bhuwan
great! any way to add this to the bottom instead of top?

any way to disallow guests from seeing?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 15 Sep 2005, 23:18
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by bchawla
great! any way to add this to the bottom instead of top?

any way to disallow guests from seeing?
To move it from the top, you will have to edit the xml and take out the template string replace and edit the template to add it where you want it.

Guests will only see words in areas where they are allowed to see them.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 15 Sep 2005, 23:21
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by Living in music
I followed your request,this mod is too simple but I cannot understand why I don't see any change at forumdisplay after hacking this.
Did you do the file edit, too? Without that it won't show up.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 16 Sep 2005, 00:24
Living in music's Avatar
Living in music Living in music is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Tuan Hai Pham
Installation Instructions:
---------------------------------
In forumdisplay.php:

Find:
---------------------------------

'iconcache',

---------------------------------
BELOW it add:
---------------------------------

'forumstatscache',

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you want to save a file edit on upgrades, do the following INSTEAD of the above file edit:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In includes/config.php:

Find:
---------------------------------

$config['Mysqli']['ini_file'] = '';

---------------------------------
BELOW it add:
---------------------------------

// ****** SPECIALTEMPLATES *****
// Add any specialtemplates here for any products or mods that use the datastore, to save
// from re-doing file edits on an upgrade or re-install of vBulletin (until they give us a better
// way to do it, anyway). Thanks to KirbyDE for the how-to on doing this.
if(THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay')
{
global $specialtemplates;
$specialtemplates = array_merge($specialtemplates, array('forumstatscache'));
}


NOTE: You can also add any other specialtemplates from other hacks in here to save those file edits also.
ADDED !!!

but this mod doesn't works.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 16 Sep 2005, 01:06
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
No, this mod DOES work. You must be doing something wrong. If you installed the product and did the file edit, there is no way it can't work.

If you want me to check it out, pm me whatever details I need and I will look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 18 Sep 2005, 11:24
Living in music's Avatar
Living in music Living in music is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Tuan Hai Pham
Originally Posted by Boofo
No, this mod DOES work. You must be doing something wrong. If you installed the product and did the file edit, there is no way it can't work.

If you want me to check it out, pm me whatever details I need and I will look at it.

I only edit file and install product,how it can be wrong?I also uninstalled and re-installed one more time but it's not working too. :ermm:
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 18 Sep 2005, 11:28
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Normally, there is no way this Hack could not work.
Only if you had removed the Navbar from FORUMDISPLAY.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: