Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 12 Apr 2006, 17:36
MrLister's Avatar
MrLister MrLister is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Dual Xeon to DC Dual Opteron Move

Old server
Dual Xeon 3.2GhZ
4GB Ram
4x75GB SCSI on Raid 0 + 1

&

Dual Xeon 2.8GhZ
2GB Ram
75GB SCSI
New Server
Dual Core Dual Opteron 270
8GB Ram
4x150GB Raptor on Raid 10
Difference: Two of those servers put together into the opteron and the opteron still has a dramatically lower server load then any of the two servers.

Conclusion: Never get anything other then a opteron!
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Apr 2006, 22:52
Erwin's Avatar
Erwin Erwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
You're running both web and db on the same server?

I'm moving from Xeons to Opterons too. Should be interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13 Apr 2006, 19:28
kerplunknet kerplunknet is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
MrLister: We have a server similiar to that:

dual opteron 270 dual core
8gb ram
4x74gb 15,000 rpm hard drives, raid-10

It is AMAZING to say the least. We have three or four (maybe five) Intel Xeon servers and even though I used to be a huge fan of them, there is just no comparison between Xeon and Opteron.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Apr 2006, 21:40
FlyBoy73 FlyBoy73 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Kerplunknet,
I can't wait until mine arrives tomorrow. Sounds like it is very closely spec'd to what you have. Running RAID-10 w/4x 15k drives for data & it has 2x Opteron 270 DC's and 8 gigs of ram also. I just can't wait. Should be a huge improvement over the 2x dual xeon 2.0 or 2.4 (can't recall) servers we have now with a gig each.. Not even a fair comparison between the two.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Apr 2006, 04:23
Erwin's Avatar
Erwin Erwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Where are you hosting? That's an awesome config.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Apr 2006, 05:13
FlyBoy73 FlyBoy73 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by Erwin
Where are you hosting? That's an awesome config.
I have been doing almost as much research on colo's as I did on servers. So many choices and so many variables.

I think I have decided on www.Colo4Dallas.com . They are more expensive than some but their bandwidth is top notch and I have yet to find any report of an outage in their facility going back years. They are also very central in the USA and ping times are great. Another long time vBulletin forum owner that could be considered a "big board" is also going there after much research.

I was also looking at www.DedicatedNow.com (colo) because of their great rates on cPanel and a good network, however I would rather pay a bit more for colo'ing at a center that comes with rave reviews (and is closer to me - driving up this week to check out the DC) than worry about anything.

Colo fee's for 1 server @ 1000 gigs of bandwidth per month is $169.00 for a 1u/2u server or mini-tower. A couple of us are touching on possibly going in on either 1/2 or full rack space and unentered premium bandwidth. If you are running multiple servers, that can bring the price down considerably.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Apr 2006, 16:55
Martin64's Avatar
Martin64 Martin64 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Moved from Dual Xeon a while ago to Opteron, the Opteron performs so much better.

MrLister: That's some insane specs, congrats
__________________
/dev/null
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Apr 2006, 22:44
Odysseus's Avatar
Odysseus Odysseus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Opteron CPUs are way more efficient than Xeon CPUs when it comes to simple I/O tasks, such as serving web pages or querying a database.
It is obvious that Opterons are the better hosting server CPUs than Xeons.
__________________
It's never too dark to be cool.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: