Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Unsupported Styles Dirs Details »
Unsupported Styles Dirs
Mod Version: 1.0.7, by gizmo4321 (Member) gizmo4321 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.8 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 7
Released: 31 Jan 2006 Last Update: 10 Feb 2006 Downloads: 15
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Purpose of this product
vBulletin supports the ability to use multiple styles or 'skins' for your web site. As long as all of the styles use the same basic color schemes, this is great, but what happens if you want to have several drastically different color schemes? Now you've got problems, because the various icons that are used either have harsh edges because they aren't anti-aliased into the background color properly, or else they have ugly looking edges for the same reason. vBulletin allows you to handle this to a degree by allowing you to specify different folders for the item status and attachment icons, the text editor controls, and the miscellaneous , polls, ratings, reputations, and buttons images in the StyleVars settings for each style. However, there is no provision for setting style specific folders for the rank or smilie icons, or icons that come from the 'icons' folder. In addition, although you can specify a title image for each Style, if you are like most sites, your title is actually composed of several images pasted together. This pasting of images requires you to make fundamentally the same change in every style even though the only thing that changes in each style is simply the path to the stored image, again, based on the style that you are using.

Capabilities
UnsupportedStylesDir now gives you the ability to have rank, smilie, and icon images per style. It also adds a new global variable ($USDHeaderImageStylePath) that you can use in your templates to set the path to your title graphics. Now you have the capability to have multiple styles with vastly different color schemes that can all inherit the same base template; no more template modifications to support what are essentially trivial changes.

Where Can I See It In Action?
The current version is running at www.aoaforums.com, if you want to see it. I hope you find it useful. As this is freeware, I cannot be expected to provide on-demand support. However, if you have a problem or need something added, I will do my best to try to help.

It was developed on vBulletin 3.5.1, and should work on newer versions (we are currently on 3.5.4)

Usage
To use, simply install the product from the AdminCP Plugins|Manage Products menu, then find the USD_INIT plugin from the AdminCP Plugins|Plugin Manager menu. Edit the plugin code, find the section near the top with the comment "User Configurables" and change your settings as necessary. The comments in the code should make everything clear (I hope).

Upgrade Instructions
To upgrade from a previous version, you'll need to go the the USD_INIT plugin, and copy everything between the
/*******************User configurables****************/

and the

/****************** End User Configurables**************/

markers. Once you've done that, import the updated product, go to the USD_INIT plugin, and paste what you copied from the old plugin back to this plugin, in the same spot.

Update History
1.0.5 - Initial Public Release
1.0.6 - Fixed minor bug with arguments to strncmp function
If you don't want to go through the upgrade process, go to the USD_INIT plugin and find the line with the strncmp statement, which will look like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace it with this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

1.0.7 - Added style support for message editor icons

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vB FTP 2.1 - Download, Upload, Edit, Rename, Delete, CHMOD Files or Dirs in Admin CP Erwin vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 174 08 Jan 2004 21:52
Recycle Bin Hack v0.1b *UNSUPPORTED* FlyingDutchman vBulletin 2.x Beta Releases 17 30 Sep 2002 05:54

Comments
  #2  
Old 31 Jan 2006, 18:42
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Ta! The first one to install... thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Jan 2006, 23:20
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Cool! Let me know how it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Jan 2006, 23:39
LincolnForums LincolnForums is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
i dont get it,

I thought you could change the path to different sets in the Style options?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 03:04
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
As I mentioned above, most you can, but a few you cannot. In particular (and the reason I wrote this), the Ranks, Smilies, and certain of the general icons (such as the ones used for threads) do not give you the ability to change paths for different sets.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 11:19
IrPr IrPr is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: MoOZ
Originally Posted by gizmo4321
As I mentioned above, most you can, but a few you cannot. In particular (and the reason I wrote this), the Ranks, Smilies, and certain of the general icons (such as the ones used for threads) do not give you the ability to change paths for different sets.
Now i got this

Installed

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 13:28
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Great! I hope it works for you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 15:04
Bad Bunny's Avatar
Bad Bunny Bad Bunny is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Where does it add the new dir options?
__________________
My cat's breathe smells like cat food!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 16:43
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
You have to edit the USD_INIT plugin code. The comments contained in the code explain how to set the variables.

I though about adding a configuration setting in the AdminCP, and I may still do that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 23:05
LincolnForums LincolnForums is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by gizmo4321
As I mentioned above, most you can, but a few you cannot. In particular (and the reason I wrote this), the Ranks, Smilies, and certain of the general icons (such as the ones used for threads) do not give you the ability to change paths for different sets.

thanks for explaining, i was just a little confused
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Feb 2006, 18:25
Onimua Onimua is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by gizmo4321
You have to edit the USD_INIT plugin code. The comments contained in the code explain how to set the variables.

I though about adding a configuration setting in the AdminCP, and I may still do that.
That would probably be easier.

Thanks though. Installing...

EDIT: Sorry for the double post, but I'm not sure if you know about this:

When making a new thread, or posting a new post, the icons/smilies still show the default images rather than following the new directory. It appears as it should everywhere else though.

v3.5.3

I also get the following errors when viewing a thread:

Warning: Wrong parameter count for strncmp() in /global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 180

Warning: Wrong parameter count for strncmp() in /global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 180

Last edited by Onimua; 04 Feb 2006 at 20:09.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 14:57
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Onimua
That would probably be easier.

Thanks though. Installing...

EDIT: Sorry for the double post, but I'm not sure if you know about this:

When making a new thread, or posting a new post, the icons/smilies still show the default images rather than following the new directory. It appears as it should everywhere else though.

v3.5.3

I also get the following errors when viewing a thread:

Warning: Wrong parameter count for strncmp() in /global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 180

Warning: Wrong parameter count for strncmp() in /global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 180

My apologies; I only just now looked at my e-mail (I'm a bad boy ). I'll look into this. Thanks for the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 04:26
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Onimua
When making a new thread, or posting a new post, the icons/smilies still show the default images rather than following the new directory. It appears as it should everywhere else though.
Can you give me some more details on this? When I tested it, I went to an existing thread and posted a new message, and the icons showed properly.

Are you using your forum default style, or a user-selected style? Is there anything special you are doing when you post? Any other details you can give me would be helpful.

BTW, I found the strncmp bug. Turns out to be quite harmless, but I've got it fixed. Once we get to the bottom of this issue, I'll post up the patched code.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 04:40
Onimua Onimua is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Of course.

I was doing this with both custom skins and the default one; when making a new thread or post (not the quick reply or something) but viewing the actual newreply.php and newthread.php pages, the images (in the Icons section and in the Smilie box) I see still come from the default images rather than the ones in the new directory they should be coming from.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 05:22
gizmo4321 gizmo4321 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I am unable to reproduce your problem. Perhaps my little bug caused more issues than I thought. Could you download the updated code and apply to your system?

Alternatively, you could go to the USD_INIT plugin and find the line with the strncmp statement, which will look like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace it with this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and then let me know how that affects your issue?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: