Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Mar 2010, 16:10
klynch10 klynch10 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Modifying recent posts widget

Hello, I was wondering if anyone knows how to edit the Recent Forum posts widget (vbcms_searchresult_post) so that only the Post title shows up and not the actual post.

Here is my site
www.AAPreps.com

This is how I would like it to look
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/conte...-vBulletin-com, (Click on first screen shot)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Jul 2010, 01:30
isurua isurua is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Would also like to know the answer to this..


Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Sep 2010, 12:11
tycoel tycoel is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I would also like to know..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Sep 2010, 14:45
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Edit the template and remove the part that spits out the page text and anything else you don't want. OR, create your own template and put that template name in place of the default one when you click Configure for your widget.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Sep 2010, 01:01
pjkcards pjkcards is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Here is the template, which parts do I remove so I don't show the text of the post? Thanks

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Sep 2010, 04:35
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
This is the preview text here -

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 May 2011, 07:17
Duncan Idaha Duncan Idaha is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I have tried this

My (unedited, original VB) Recent Post widget shows this as template being used for it: vbcms_widget_recentposts_page

However, using the description above, I created a custom template: vbcms_searchresult_post_notext

As template/coding I used the content of: vbcms_searchresult_post and removed
<p class="cms_widget_post_content">{vb:raw post.previewtext} </p>
Next, I configured the Recent Post Widget and entered vbcms_searchresult_post_notext in the template entry box. However, on the home page, the Widget now only shows an empty/grey avatar and 01-01-1970, 01:00 AM >> which directs me to this message "No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator"

Here is the code of the vbcms_searchresult_post_notext


<div class="cms_widget_post_bit widget_post_bit">
<div class="cms_widget_post_userinfo widget_post_userinfo">
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['avatarenabled']">
<div class="cms_widget_post_useravatar widget_post_useravatar">
<a class="comments_member_avatar_link" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}}">
<vb:if condition="$avatar">
<img src="{vb:raw avatar.0}" {vb:raw avatar.1} alt="{vb:raw post.username}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/unknown.gif" alt="{vb:raw post.username}" />
</vb:if>
</a>
</div>
</vb:if>
</div>
<div class="cms_widget_post_comment<vb:if condition="!$vboptions['avatarenabled']">_noavatar</vb:if> widget_post_comment<vb:if condition="!$vboptions['avatarenabled']">_noavatar</vb:if>">
<vb:if condition="$post['posttitle']">
<h4 class="cms_widget_post_header widget_post_header">
<a href="{vb:link thread, {vb:raw threadinfo}}">{vb:raw post.posttitle}</a>
</h4>
<vb:else />
<h4 class="cms_widget_post_header widget_post_header">
<a href="{vb:link thread, {vb:raw threadinfo}}">{vb:raw post.threadtitle}</a>
</h4>
</vb:if>
<a href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}}">{vb:raw post.postuserid}{vb:raw post.username}</a> {vb:date {vb:raw post.postdateline}, {vb:raw vboptions.dateformat}}<vb:if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">, <span class="time">{vb:date {vb:raw post.postdateline}, {vb:raw vboptions.timeformat}}</span></vb:if> <a href="{vb:link thread, {vb:raw threadinfo}, {vb:raw pageinfo_post}}#post{vb:raw post.postid}"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/lastpost-{vb:stylevar right}.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase go_to_last_post}" /></a>

<vb:comment>
<div class="cms_widget_views">{vb:raw post.replycount}&nbsp;{vb:rawphrase replies}</div>
</vb:comment>
</div>
</div>

As you can see, I only removed
<p class="cms_widget_post_content">{vb:raw post.previewtext} </p>
and made no other edits.

Why does it not work and how can I make it work?

Note: to make sure the coding was correct, I copied the code of the original vbcms_searchresult_post to a word doc, copied it to the entry box and removed that one line.

Last edited by Duncan Idaha; 15 May 2011 at 07:26.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 May 2011, 17:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You can't just replace the content of one template with that of another. The call to create the avatar is different between the two templates. There is no $threadinfo variables available for use in the original template, so you can't just add it into the template now. You need to compare the two templates and change the variables used to be those of the original template.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 May 2011, 20:55
Duncan Idaha Duncan Idaha is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Apologies, Lynne, I am just skittish to adjust the original templates. I have checked again and the original Recent Post Widget configuration box tells me it uses this template:

vbcms_widget_recentposts_page

Which has the following coding (looks similar to the one klynch10 posted, be it as “vbcms_searchresult_post” )


<div class="cms_widget">
<div class="block">
<div class="cms_widget_header">
<h3><img alt="" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_cms}/widget-forum.png" /> {vb:raw title}</h3>
</div>
<div class="cms_widget_content widget_content">
<vb:each from="posts" key="postid" value="post">
<div class="cms_widget_post_bit widget_post_bit">
<div class="cms_widget_post_userinfo widget_post_userinfo">
<vb:if condition="$post['username']!='guestuser' AND $vboptions['avatarenabled']">
<div class="cms_widget_post_useravatar widget_post_useravatar">
<a class="comments_member_avatar_link" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw post}}">
<vb:if condition="$post['avatarurl']" >
<img src="{vb:raw post.avatarurl}" alt="{vb:raw post.username}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/unknown.gif" alt="{vb:raw post.username}" />
</vb:if>
</a>
</div>
</vb:if>
</div>
<div class="cms_widget_post_comment<vb:if condition="!$vboptions['avatarenabled']">_noavatar</vb:if> widget_post_comment<vb:if condition="!$vboptions['avatarenabled']">_noavatar</vb:if>">
<p class="cms_widget_post_content widget_post_content">{vb:raw post.previewtext}
</p>
<vb:if condition="$post['posttitle']">
<h4 class="cms_widget_post_header widget_post_header">
<a href="{vb:link thread, {vb:raw post}}">{vb:raw post.posttitle}</a>
</h4>
<vb:else />
<h4 class="cms_widget_post_header widget_post_header">
<a href="{vb:link thread, {vb:raw post}}">{vb:raw post.title}</a>
</h4>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$post['username'] == 'guestuser'">
{vb:raw post.username}
<vb:else />
<a href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw post}, null, 'userid', 'username'}">{vb:raw post.username}</a>
</vb:if>
{vb:raw post.date}<vb:if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">, <span class="time">{vb:raw post.time}</span></vb:if>
<a href="{vb:raw post.url}">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/lastpost-{vb:stylevar right}.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase go_to_last_post}" />
</a>
</div>
<vb:comment>
<div class="cms_widget_views">{vb:raw post.replycount}&nbsp;{vb:rawphrase replies}</div>
</vb:comment>
</div>
</vb:each>
</div>
</div>
</div>

Am I to understand that if I remove the “<p class="cms_widget_post_content widget_post_content">{vb:raw post.previewtext}</p>” from this template, I will have the Recent Post Widget working, but without it showing the text of the post?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 May 2011, 21:34
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Look at the difference between the two templates in just the call for the avatar.

Original:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The one you replaced it with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

One uses the variable $post[avatarurl], the other uses just $avatar. You need to use the variables used in the original template or it's not going to work.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22 May 2011, 20:00
Duncan Idaha Duncan Idaha is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Hi Lynne,
Sorry for the delay but I have now tried this on the template which my Recent Post Widget uses: vbcms_widget_recentposts_page
I removed the " <p class="cms_widget_post_content widget_post_content">{vb:raw post.previewtext} </p>" and it works perfectly, Same for the template used by the Recent Threads Widget.
Thanks for the assistance!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Mar 2012, 12:26
goycarden goycarden is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
is there a way to let it look like search.php?do=getnew or like the What's New Tab ?
__________________
Politopia - Das Europa-Forum
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Widget/General Search Template Modification - Recent Posts sqzdog vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 4 10 Jul 2010 03:22



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: