Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 07 Dec 2016, 20:08
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
The change to the PHP file I supplied a couple of posts ago did not fix that? I had the same issue and changing that fixed it for me.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07 Dec 2016, 20:16
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
The change to the PHP file I supplied a couple of posts ago did not fix that? I had the same issue and changing that fixed it for me.
Thanks Dave but no, no change with that. I am not getting an error any more but it is not fixing the issue.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 16 Dec 2016, 02:35
caciquegm caciquegm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Angry

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Thanks Dave but no, no change with that. I am not getting an error any more but it is not fixing the issue.

RICHIE, you finally resolve this issue? i have the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 16 Dec 2016, 03:07
Twixted Chaox's Avatar
Twixted Chaox Twixted Chaox is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
i made a whm/cpanel module for lets encrypt which handles everything for you. just select the domain/subdomain you want to install it on and it handles everything else...

attached a few screens for you to look at....

I switched a long time ago because of this makes it so easy why wouldn't you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg le_screen1.jpg (13.2 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg le_screen2.jpg (47.1 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg le_screen3.jpg (25.5 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg le_cpanel1.jpg (53.3 KB, 23 views)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 17 Dec 2016, 18:13
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by caciquegm View Post
RICHIE, you finally resolve this issue? i have the same problem.
I never did resolve the issue but my work around is to use firefox, click on the yellow triangle warning in the url box and click disable security.. I do this in the admincp only..

--------------- Added 17 Dec 2016 at 18:16 ---------------

Originally Posted by Twixted Chaox View Post
i made a whm/cpanel module for lets encrypt which handles everything for you. just select the domain/subdomain you want to install it on and it handles everything else...

attached a few screens for you to look at....

I switched a long time ago because of this makes it so easy why wouldn't you
I have Plesk.

Internal links still need to be changed, settings, etc. Adding the certificate itself is really easy. I use Cloudflare and their cert so that aspect is even easier.

I think there are still issues with certain areas of Vbulletin itself and some plug ins..

Thanks through..would use your plug for sure if I had cpanel..
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 18 Dec 2016, 18:53
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Those getting mixed content warnings in the admincp, please make the file changes here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/node/4355527

These changes will work for either vB3 or vB4 (not needed in vB5).
They are applied by default in 3.8.11 and 4.2.5.
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 01:34
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Originally Posted by Mark.B View Post
Those getting mixed content warnings in the admincp, please make the file changes here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/node/4355527

These changes will work for either vB3 or vB4 (not needed in vB5).
They are applied by default in 3.8.11 and 4.2.5.
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 04:04
Ashlar217's Avatar
Ashlar217 Ashlar217 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...
Same here... I also use an image importer to fix mixed content warnings in the forums/CMS/Blog etc.. So far I am keeping everything secure with no mixed content warnings by doing nothing other than installing the SSL and adding the image importer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 17:58
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
I actually made the changes to the admincp/index.php and I still have the issues with mixed content.

In addition when I click on those processing links with in the admincp they still show urls that do not have https://..

What version of Vbulletin do you guys have?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 19:42
Ashlar217's Avatar
Ashlar217 Ashlar217 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
I actually made the changes to the admincp/index.php and I still have the issues with mixed content.

In addition when I click on those processing links with in the admincp they still show urls that do not have https://..

What version of Vbulletin do you guys have?
I'm using 4.2.3. Not sure how much help it will be. I hope you get it sorted out Richie
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 19:43
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 20:19
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...
Originally Posted by Ashlar217 View Post
Same here... I also use an image importer to fix mixed content warnings in the forums/CMS/Blog etc.. So far I am keeping everything secure with no mixed content warnings by doing nothing other than installing the SSL and adding the image importer.
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.
Dave, how about a guide for an old installation using cloudflare and customized heavily?

I have actually converted a few sites in the past without a hitch, no modifications needed. The issue here could be related to my cloudflare cert seeing as the way it is done through cloudflare at least with the package I have is to have the ssl cert actually hosted at cloudflare.. This could be the issue even though I cannot understand why it works every where else. I cannot find anything url wise that needs to be changed in the database or the templates.

The fact that I see a non ssl url inside the admincp though is a dead giveaway that something is wrong. I am talking about the links used when you save a setting edit or a plug in change. You get that page that says processing.. Mine shows a non https:// url. I get past that page now though and then get solid white. Clicking those links does nothing.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 20:54
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Dave, how about a guide for an old installation using cloudflare and customized heavily?

I have actually converted a few sites in the past without a hitch, no modifications needed. The issue here could be related to my cloudflare cert seeing as the way it is done through cloudflare at least with the package I have is to have the ssl cert actually hosted at cloudflare.. This could be the issue even though I cannot understand why it works every where else. I cannot find anything url wise that needs to be changed in the database or the templates.

The fact that I see a non ssl url inside the admincp though is a dead giveaway that something is wrong. I am talking about the links used when you save a setting edit or a plug in change. You get that page that says processing.. Mine shows a non https:// url. I get past that page now though and then get solid white. Clicking those links does nothing.
I also run Cloudflare with HTTPS (Cloudflare SSL only) enabled on my forum (about 900k posts) and I don't really have any problems. I only had one problem in the past and that was the HTTP error in the AdminCP which I fixed by modifying one of the PHP files.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 21:34
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.
That would be helpful to a large number of people who never saw the need for https up 'til now. Honestly, if you're not collecting personal data there is no need for encryption but Google is gonna Google.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 19 Dec 2016, 22:28
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
This covers most scenarios:
https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/arti...forum-to-https

--------------- Added 19 Dec 2016 at 22:30 ---------------

Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...
If you're not having mixed content issues in the admincp then there is no need to make the change, as my post says.
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
https://, ssl


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: