Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Ldap Authentication Plugin Details »
vBulletin Ldap Authentication Plugin
Mod Version: 1.00, by malcolmx (Member) malcolmx is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.10 Rating: (9 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 41
Released: 31 May 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 474
Not Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

I am using vbulletin for a long time now and before there was the plugin system introduces i hacked every single version of vb to enable ldap authentication. with the introduction of the plugin system i have written a little plugin that works in every version since VBulletin 3.5. This Plugin is the buyable VBulletin Ligh Authentication from http://www.sartori.at. now its FREE.

Since its working and i will not enhance this small plugin anymore, i will make it public. If there are any enhancements, i can put it into my versioning system and update this plugin.

In contrast to the ldap authentication from zemic my board can authenticate against every - already deployed - ldap directory without changeing the encryption type.

If the ldap user is not added in the VBulletin database, the user is automatically added the first time he authenticates against the ldap. if the user already exists then nothing is changed, except the authentication against the directory.

in the admin or moderator panel no user is authenticated against the directory.

Requirements
  • php with ldap support

Installation Notes:
  1. copy ldapAuth directory to your vb forum installation directory
  2. change the path to controller.php directory in ldap-plugin.xml
  3. copy the hooks_ldap.xml to FORUM_ROOT/inclucdes/xml directory
  4. in login.php search for:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    insert below:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  5. activate plugin system (if not done already) in admincp
  6. in admin cp import the product at "Download / Upload" Plugins
  7. in global.php search for:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    and change:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    to:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  8. configure the ldap settings in: ldapconfig.inc.php
  9. test the product


Additional Notes:
If you are running a Microsoft Active Directory as Ldap server you have to change some settings to allow anonymous queries. This is described at
Novell and Microsoft


I would be happy if you support my modification in any way. Install or nominate it or donate some cents at paypal.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks LDAP Authentication Haqa Modification Graveyard 148 10 May 2013 14:50
Integration with vBulletin LDAP Authentication zemic vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 61 08 Mar 2010 23:18

  #16  
Old 10 Aug 2007, 22:01
kthompso kthompso is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
Do you have LDAP support in php?
Yes, LDAP is showing in PHPINFO(). That took a bit of learning too, but the restart of the apache enabled the LDAP in PHP after doing the apt-get on php5-ldap module.

The problem as documented about is that the verify_authentication function is expecting 6 variables , and we are only sending 3 in the controller.php. Should we just send dummy values for the password varibles?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10 Aug 2007, 22:49
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Not that I'm any expert on the subject but password is more than likely required.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 16:41
sbhatia sbhatia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Activate plugin

In step 5, when I am trying to activate the plugin from admin control panel, what do I enter in the field "Plugin PHP Code" ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 20:28
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Turn on the hooks system in the admincp, it should be on if you've imported any other plugins or products.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 20:54
sbhatia sbhatia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
if I goto Admincp >> Plugins & products >> Add new plugin:

I specify:

Product: vBulletin
Hook location: ldap_login_hook
Title:Ldap plugin
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code: <<I dont know what ?>>
Plugin is Active: Yes

I see this to be the only way of activating the plugin, but since I dont have the Plugin PHP Code, it says "Please Complete All Required Fields"

Thanks for the help !
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 21:03
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
You need to add this to the product manager.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 21:30
sbhatia sbhatia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
When I tried importing it from Product Manager, it gives following error message:
"This file appears to be a Plugin, not a Product. Please use the Plugin Manager to add this file."

So, I imported ./ldapAuth/ldap-plugin.xml and now it shows as plugin.........let me update you later.

Thanks

Last edited by sbhatia; 14 Aug 2007 at 18:05.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 14 Aug 2007, 20:46
klabak klabak is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Hi,

i'm really new with this LDAP stuff but the LDAP server at my work does not support anonymous binds. Is that why this plugin is not working for me? I thought that when you put in your LDAP user name and password that you would be authenticating yourself that way.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15 Aug 2007, 02:56
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Originally Posted by klabak View Post
Hi,

i'm really new with this LDAP stuff but the LDAP server at my work does not support anonymous binds. Is that why this plugin is not working for me? I thought that when you put in your LDAP user name and password that you would be authenticating yourself that way.
Additional Notes:
If you are running a Microsoft Active Directory as Ldap server you have to change some settings to allow anonymous queries. This is described at
Novell and Microsoft
Maybe
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 15 Aug 2007, 15:05
klabak klabak is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I'm running Vbulletin on Fedora 7
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 15 Aug 2007, 18:13
sbhatia sbhatia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
It shows as a plugin, within the "Plugin System". But, when I try to login to vBulletin with any credientials (correct or incorrect), it just keeps on waiting for the page to load.

I've made sure that all the settings in ldapconfig.inc.php are correct. Please let me know, what additional changes I should be making !
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 24 Aug 2007, 20:44
upnorth upnorth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
just looking for a little further info as to how this works with vBulletin? What I mean by this how does the security rights within vBulletin work with LDAP? Does LDAP just authenticate the password and then all other security is handled in vB with regards to forum access etc? If that is the case then is it an all or nothing? Just wondering what happens when a user is in LDAP but not setup on the board re access? or setup on the board but not in LDAP? ...hope that makes sense?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 28 Aug 2007, 01:08
Ecordova Ecordova is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I installed everything as directed except when I try to log in on a blank page appears. This is occuring on the admincp panel as well. My company does not allow anonymous queries so I was given a username/pass for this specific project. Where would I use this information?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 28 Aug 2007, 18:23
capbob capbob is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I've been trying to get this mod to work.

I've had to slightly alter it a bit to get it to work without needing anonymous queries. Now I've got it working to the point where it tries to create the user in vBulletin. When it get to this part of the controller.php file vBulletin gives me an error message saying Database error, the database has encountered a problem.

It happens when it tries to run the "$newuserid = $newuser->save();" command. Any ideas as to what the problem might be?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 28 Aug 2007, 22:08
capbob capbob is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Downgrading for MySQL 5 to 4.1 fixed my problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: