Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
SEOvB - Link Canonicalization for vBulletin Stop Duplicate Content NOW! Details »
SEOvB - Link Canonicalization for vBulletin Stop Duplicate Content NOW!
Mod Version: 1.00, by SEOvB (Member) SEOvB is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (2 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 62
Released: 16 Feb 2009 Last Update: 16 Feb 2009 Downloads: 461
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

Squash vBulletin Duplicate Content Completely with Canonical URL's!
Courtesy of SEO vBulletin Services
tags: seo, vbulletin, vbulletin seo, link canonical, canonical

Google, MSN, and Yahoo have just relased a new tag for stopping duplicate content even further. Combining a good and valid vBulletin Robots.txt file along with the new canonical tag can destroy any duplicate content penalty your vBulletin powered forums may have had going on.

Originally Posted by Search Engines
Carpe diem on any duplicate content worries: we now support a format that allows you to publicly specify your preferred version of a URL. If your site has identical or vastly similar content that's accessible through multiple URLs, this format provides you with more control over the URL returned in search results. It also helps to make sure that properties such as link popularity are consolidated to your preferred version
Canonical Link URL Faq
Is rel="canonical" a hint or a directive?
It's a hint that we honor strongly. We'll take your preference into account, in conjunction with other signals, when calculating the most relevant page to display in search results.

Can I use a relative path to specify the canonical, such as <link rel="canonical" href="product.php?item=swedish-fish" />?
Yes, relative paths are recognized as expected with the <link> tag. Also, if you include a <base> link in your document, relative paths will resolve according to the base URL.

Is it okay if the canonical is not an exact duplicate of the content?
We allow slight differences, e.g., in the sort order of a table of products. We also recognize that we may crawl the canonical and the duplicate pages at different points in time, so we may occasionally see different versions of your content. All of that is okay with us.

What if the rel="canonical" returns a 404?
We'll continue to index your content and use a heuristic to find a canonical, but we recommend that you specify existent URLs as canonicals.

What if the rel="canonical" hasn't yet been indexed?
Like all public content on the web, we strive to discover and crawl a designated canonical URL quickly. As soon as we index it, we'll immediately reconsider the rel="canonical" hint.

Can rel="canonical" be a redirect?
Yes, you can specify a URL that redirects as a canonical URL. Google will then process the redirect as usual and try to index it.

What if I have contradictory rel="canonical" designations?
Our algorithm is lenient: We can follow canonical chains, but we strongly recommend that you update links to point to a single canonical page to ensure optimal canonicalization results.

Can this link tag be used to suggest a canonical URL on a completely different domain?
No. To migrate to a completely different domain, permanent (301) redirects are more appropriate. Google currently will take canonicalization suggestions into account across subdomains (or within a domain), but not across domains. So site owners can suggest www.example.com vs. example.com vs. help.example.com, but not example.com vs. example-widgets.com.

Sounds great can I see an example in action
Sure, here is a wordpress blog that has implemented canonical URL's already: http://obamanewssource.com Our vBulletin powered site that has made this implementation is only a test site.

How can I check if its working
Go to your showthread page, and hit view source, and search for "canonical" and you should see it automatically added. If its not automatically added for whatever reason, remove the product file thats attached and make this simple template edit to the end of your vBulletin headinclude template (it's a good idea to do this on all headinclude templates)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Tip: If you allow only access from www, or non-www version of your content, make sure your vBulletin path is set correctly!

Install Instructions
Upload attached product.xml file to your vBulletin forums using the built in product manager

Uninstall Instructions
Sorry to hear the modification isn't working, to uninstall it, simply use the uninstall function of the product manager

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 11:30
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
It isn't necessary if you're using vBSEO since vBSEO already takes care of it.
??

I can´t find any canonical Tags in my Sourcecode - using vBSEO 3.3 PR7.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 16:00
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
??

I can´t find any canonical Tags in my Sourcecode - using vBSEO 3.3 PR7.
vBSEO already concentrates your links to one rewritten URL via .htacess.

Zoints SEO also does this for forum home (and maybe for certain other URLs depending on how you set it up).

If you're using another method, you don't need the tags - they are simply another (and easy) method for use on various types of web pages.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20 Feb 2009, 19:36
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
As announced today Canonical-Tags are integrated with vBSEO 3.3 RC1!

@djbaxter - i know what you mean - but you misunderstand Canonical-Tags - it is not the same it works now with vBSEO 3.3.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20 Feb 2009, 23:32
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
As announced today Canonical-Tags are integrated with vBSEO 3.3 RC1!

@djbaxter - i know what you mean - but you misunderstand Canonical-Tags - it is not the same it works now with vBSEO 3.3.
vBSEO claims that their package already filters duplicate URLs so why do they need the tags?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21 Feb 2009, 02:19
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
As announced today Canonical-Tags are integrated with vBSEO 3.3 RC1!

@djbaxter - i know what you mean - but you misunderstand Canonical-Tags - it is not the same it works now with vBSEO 3.3.
If vBSEO inserts Canonical tags, and you have vBSEO (apparently version 3.3 or greater) will have this feature built in, so there won't be any need for this extra modification what so ever for those forums.
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 21 Feb 2009, 02:20
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
vBSEO claims that their package already filters duplicate URLs so why do they need the tags?
Probably best left to the vBSEO guys, as I'm not sure why it'd be needed either if they already truly had achieved "link consensus" previously.
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21 Feb 2009, 08:25
redlabour's Avatar
redlabour redlabour is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: André
Simple answer :

Enable Canonical URLs NEW!
A canonical URL is the "Preferred" URL for any page. Some pages have more than one accessible URL, creating a duplicate content problem. Google and other search engines now look for a META parameter rel="canonical", and use this as a hint to determine which URL is the correct one to index, i.e. the preferred version.

vBSEO's built in Link Consensus ensures that all pages on your forum are canonical to begin with, allowing for only one URL per resource. vBSEO's native canonical URLs provide advantages including greater crawling efficiency, optimized external linking, maximized link value. This is not provided with the rel="canonical" parameter alone. vBSEO's Application level link consensus is required for these advantages.

However, Google's canonical hints are helpful as a backup for URLs such as custom sorted pages. This level of redundancy will ensure that if search engines ever discover the sorting URLs, they will be instructed of the correct page URL for link consensus the first time they crawl the page. Examples include custom sorted versions of forumdisplay, social group discussions, member and blog lists, etc.

Last edited by redlabour; 21 Feb 2009 at 09:19.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21 Feb 2009, 14:22
MTGDarkness MTGDarkness is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Will this work on 3.7.x?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21 Feb 2009, 14:58
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
Simple answer :
Enable Canonical URLs NEW!
A canonical URL is the "Preferred" URL for any page. Some pages have more than one accessible URL, creating a duplicate content problem. Google and other search engines now look for a META parameter rel="canonical", and use this as a hint to determine which URL is the correct one to index, i.e. the preferred version.

vBSEO's built in Link Consensus ensures that all pages on your forum are canonical to begin with, allowing for only one URL per resource. vBSEO's native canonical URLs provide advantages including greater crawling efficiency, optimized external linking, maximized link value. This is not provided with the rel="canonical" parameter alone. vBSEO's Application level link consensus is required for these advantages.

However, Google's canonical hints are helpful as a backup for URLs such as custom sorted pages. This level of redundancy will ensure that if search engines ever discover the sorting URLs, they will be instructed of the correct page URL for link consensus the first time they crawl the page. Examples include custom sorted versions of forumdisplay, social group discussions, member and blog lists, etc.
That's neither simple nor an answer. That's a sales pitch.

And as FRDS points out above and as I said originally, to get back to THIS thread and THIS add-on, if you're using vBSEO you don't need this add-on. Move along people... nothing to see here...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22 Feb 2009, 12:33
roddy roddy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Ignore, either I messed up, or now it's magically working. Either way, clicking install . . .

Last edited by roddy; 22 Feb 2009 at 12:40.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 22 Feb 2009, 12:44
roddy roddy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Ok, there is a problem here.
showthread.php?t=26237&page=9 > works fine

showthread.php?p=179223#post179223 > doesn't work.

Am seeing if I can figure it out, but probably I can't . . .

Edit: It does work if you paste it in below "$headinclude" in SHOWTHREAD. But not in SHOWTHREAD_SHOWPOST

Last edited by roddy; 22 Feb 2009 at 13:02.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01 Mar 2009, 20:04
abilitydesigns abilitydesigns is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
total vbulletin newbie here.

Pardon my ignorance, but can anybody walk me thro' the process of installing this mod?

i downloaded the file but don't know what to do next? ( there's no read me? )

again sorry for such a basic question

AD
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 00:53
gwerzal's Avatar
gwerzal gwerzal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
good idea.

Will install it later
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 09:59
brandonroy brandonroy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Brandon
Installed. I did the manual edit and I took out this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Because I have my forum index set to /forum.php and it was adding <link rel="canonical" href="http://www.example.com" /> to forum.php which is not what I wanted!

Is that ok?

EDIT:
And also, if a post is on page=2 or page=3, etc - Shouldn't the showpost.php?p= have the canonical URL of showthread.php?t=555&page=2 instead of just showthread.php?t=555 ? Or is that not a big deal?

Last edited by brandonroy; 12 Mar 2009 at 10:09.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13 Mar 2009, 22:24
MTGDarkness MTGDarkness is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
It's working fine with vBulletin 3.7.x. Question-should the canonicals specify which page in a thread you're on? I'm using it with the TFSEO URL Rewrite, and I'm (of course) worried about conflicts. Like, regardless of what page I am on in a thread, it sends me to the first page with the canonical. Should that happen?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: