Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Use Google Custom Search In Navbar - Step By Step Details »
Use Google Custom Search In Navbar - Step By Step
Mod Version: 1.00, by rajubd (Member) rajubd is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (11 votes - 4.64 average) Installs: 99
Released: 11 May 2011 Last Update: Never Downloads: 885
Not Supported Template Edits  

This mod will replace vb search in navbar with google custom search.. you can still use advance search from navbar. google search provide much better result when you try to search word under 4 letters..

1. First download google.php upload in your forum root
2. Go to your AdminCP Go to Styles & Templates -> Style Manager
select Style then click Create New Template rename Template to GOOGLE
Paste this code in google Template :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3. Then Open Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates Click Collapse button click navbar Template find <div id="globalsearch" class="globalsearch"> and <ul class="navbar_advanced_search"> remove all code between this with


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note : Replace http://www.mobilephonetalk.com with your won website name
Replace partner-pub-8038994048300561:7c8fy7cujxg with your won adsense code...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	3307
Size:	91.4 KB
ID:	128977  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 13 Jun 2011, 22:34
obmob obmob is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Maybe you need to revert that template. o.o
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14 Jun 2011, 13:18
temsamane temsamane is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
i reverted the navbar page. now i did everything fine, but get a google error

Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14 Jun 2011, 13:24
temsamane temsamane is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by BlueCheri View Post
Hi very nice, installed.

Getting following error;

400. Thatís an error.
Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request. Thatís all we know.


Using 4.1.2 version, Can you help me on this?
i've got the same problem. and the search page layout is messed up (footer not visible).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14 Jun 2011, 14:07
BlueCheri's Avatar
BlueCheri BlueCheri is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Footer is visible in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17 Jun 2011, 13:24
synseal's Avatar
synseal synseal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Ben Dover.
Originally Posted by temsamane View Post
i've got the same problem. and the search page layout is messed up (footer not visible).
Footer visible but same error on 4.1.4

400. Thatís an error.
Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request. Thatís all we know.


Shame .
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17 Jun 2011, 15:51
bosken bosken is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Works fine on 4.1.4

BUT is there a way, how and where to change/remove the "google custom search gif" in the search field. Users THINK that its ONLY a regular google search.... I would like my own text like "Search the forum"

"<input type="text" class="textbox" name="q" value="" style="border: 1px solid rgb(126, 157, 185); padding: 2px; background: url(&quot;[url]http ://www.google.com/cse/intl/en/images/google_custom_search_watermark.gif&quot; ) no-repeat scroll left center rgb(255, 255, 255);">"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg google.jpg (37.4 KB, 93 views)

Last edited by bosken; 17 Jun 2011 at 16:04.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 17:14
ARSamo ARSamo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Error:

404. Thatís an error.
The requested URL /cse?cx=partner-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
was not found on this server. Thatís all we know.

what can i do now....?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 17:48
ARSamo ARSamo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
another error:

400. That’s an error.
Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request. That’s all we know.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 18:17
rajubd rajubd is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
did you activate AdSense for search from www.google.com/adsense ?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22 Jun 2011, 13:06
synseal's Avatar
synseal synseal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Ben Dover.
Originally Posted by rajubd View Post
did you activate AdSense for search from www.google.com/adsense ?
How do you do this, this is not mentioned in the modification, if you mean do I have adsense set up then yes I do, but I wasn't aware that you had to activate AdSense for search?.

TIA.

Last edited by synseal; 22 Jun 2011 at 13:12.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 22 Jun 2011, 20:48
rajubd rajubd is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
in AdSense main dashboard you will find AdSense for content
AdSense for search
AdSense for feed etc

go to AdSense for search complete all step then do this modification
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 23 Jun 2011, 22:05
synseal's Avatar
synseal synseal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Ben Dover.
Done all that now, thanks for your help but this unfortunatley does not work with 4.1.4.

All I get is this (pic).

the closest I get is if I replace the pub ID with the actual snippit from google but then I have 2 search boxes.

I am pretty good when it comes to installing template mods so I dont know why this isn't working for me?.
Attached Images
File Type: png 404.png (30.5 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05 Jul 2011, 15:29
synseal's Avatar
synseal synseal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Ben Dover.
Got it working, I was putting the wrong pub id in.

I was using the one in the top right hand corner when signed into adsense instead of the one in the code given

Installed.
Attached Images
File Type: png pubadd.png (41.9 KB, 118 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06 Jul 2011, 21:49
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
While looking at your site as a demo (http://www.mobilephonetalk.com), I did a search but results on pages past the first tended to have buggy results.

I'm using Google Chrome, and there were gaps and white spaces between results but then I highlighted the text and it appeared. kinda wonky?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07 Jul 2011, 00:45
radiofranky radiofranky is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
the search result should be blend in with forum style, not as a google page.


cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: