Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Avenger Blue Style by TheLastSuperman Details »
Avenger Blue Style by TheLastSuperman
Mod Version: 1.00, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (27 votes - 4.96 average) Installs: 164
Released: 28 Aug 2011 Last Update: 28 Jan 2014 Downloads: 2006
Supported Additional Files  

Introducing Avenger Blue

A vBulletin 4.2.1/4.2.2 (Confirmed working on 4.2.3! *Simply select ignore style version when installing style) Suite style from www.innovationbyinstinct.com including some of these features:
  • The forumbits, search and other areas have a mouseover hover effect.
  • Custom statusicons for forum_new and forum_old.png along with custom pagination and other image replacements.
  • Custom toplinks i.e. "Welcome, Username Notifications etc etc" location.
  • Custom Login area w/ hover effects.
  • Custom Sidebar collapse image replacements etc.
  • CMS Widget and Forum & Blog Sidebar styles match 100%.
  • CMS, Forum, Blog compatible this is a Suite style and can also be used on Forum Classic naturally.
  • Fluid and Fixed Width available!
  • Perfect style for resolutions up to 1920 x 1080 or larger!

Demo?
Sure! View Avenger Blue Fixed Width OR Fluid Width Demo.
*Please Note: The Demo site has a custom CMS Layout in place therefor normal CMS layout sites will see a CMS/Articles page resembling the screenshot.

Questions and Answers

Q. So what do we have here?
A. Well that's simple! It's a dark blue style for vBulletin 4.1.4 Suite (or Forum Classic).

Q. Anything in particular that I need to know about this style?
A. Simple - I don't advertise a lot, there are no advertisements shown when I make styles however I do know due to the centering of the logo, if you currently utilize the header ad locations you'll need to make changes if utilizing this style otherwise it will not display properly. *Fix planned for the 4.1.5 version and I'll patch this 4.1.4 version then as well, basically I'll be moving the header ad locations just above the normal below navbar locations to remedy this .

Q. This is 4.1.4 style why did you not release a 4.1.5 version and will you release and keep this updated unlike other styles on here?
A. Yes, unlike some other styles in the past I've released this is branded by our company and we do plan on supporting this style indefinitely.

Q. I see two different downloads available, which one do I use?
A. Simple:

- For vBulletin 4.1.4 through 4.1.7 use the file titled - Innovation_by_Instinct-Avenger_Blue-Compressed.zip
- For vBulletin 4.1.8 use the file titled - Innovation_by_Instinct-Avenger_Blue-vB4.1.8-Compressed.zip
- For vBulletin 4.2.1 and 4.2.2 use the file titled - Innovation_by_Instinct-Avenger_Blue-vB4.2.1-4.2.2-Compressed.zip

Q. I'm using a version for vBulletin 4.1.8 or up, why is the logo not clickable?
A. Well we have navtabs w/ a Home, Forum, and Blog button so why do we need more and more of the same links? Well I know some prefer it so here is a way to make it clickable:

You can utilize the transparent 1x1px transparent image to make the logo clickable again. *Please note this is not a default feature, to make the logo clickable you must edit template header and find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Remove the <comment> codes as shown in red:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is how the code should now look:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

*If you use a different logo than the stock "Avenger Blue" and your making it clickable via the method above, please change the width="#" and height="#" to the correct values i.e. the same width and height as your new logo .

Q. Why is there a .zip inside the .zip?
A. Well the forums here have a max of 3.0MB file size limit on .zip files so I made it a .zip then added that one into another .zip, this reduced the file size from the 3.17MB down to 2.69MB! Now simply extract the main -Compressed .zip then extract the inside Innovation_by_Instinct-Avenger_Blue.zip and your ready to rock and roll!

Q. You have a link to your site in the footer, can I remove that?
A. You are not allowed to remove the link to our site i.e. "branding" unless you pay for a Branding Free Version. If I find someone running this without the copyright in place I will contact your host and file a DMCA complaint period the end. *Furthermore, we will not host discussions nor reply to any sort of inquiries on here in regards to paid or branding free versions so please do not bring up the subject of either in this thread.

*Click on the images below to view in a new tab/window, once in said window you can click the image again to zoom once more and see it clearer, providing a more accurate representation of the style .


Updated Forumhome screenshot for 4.1.8:

ForumHome:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/..._ForumHome.png

ForumHome Mouseover effect:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/..._MouseOver.png

CMS:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/..._Fixed_CMS.png

Blogs:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...Fixed_Blog.png

ForumHome w/ Sidebar Active:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...ctive_Open.png

ForumHome w/ Sidebar Closed:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...ive_Closed.png

Search Input default colors:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...nputColors.png

Search Input active/hover colors:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...olorsHover.png

Postbit colors:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/..._PostStyle.png

New Post icons on forumhome, please note that forums with new posts show a white icon, the old post remains as a grey color:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...umNewvsOld.png

Login Area when logged out:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...eLoggedOut.png

Login Area when logged out Hover effect:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...edOutHover.png

Login Area when logged out Help/Register Hover effect:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...OtherHover.png

ForumHome New Appearance:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...rumHomeNew.png

ForumHome New Category Description Hover:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...ptionHover.png

ForumHome New Hover Effect:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com/...meNewHover.png




Donations from:Thanks for your support, it's certainly not required however I appreciate the sentiment .


Notes & Update Information can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...82&postcount=2

Restrictions:
This style is not meant for use on http://www.carbonracecars.com otherwise have at it!

*IMPORTANT*

To install the style:

1) Upload the contents of the UPLOAD Folder.
2) If for example you want the Fixed style installed then import the file:
*Please note, if you do not use the vBulletin Suite and have the Forum Classic version you only need to install the file vbulletin-style_Avenger_Blue_Fixed-Forum.xml.
a) Import the vbulletin-style_Avenger_Blue_Fixed-Forum.xml file first.
b) Merge in the vbulletin-style_Avenger_Blue_Fixed-CMS.xml (Options when uploading a style allow you to merge into a existing style, choose to merge this into the new style you just created using the Forum.xml.
c) Merge in the vbulletin-style_Avenger_Blue_Fixed-Blog.xml into the style, this has now updated the style for all three major products and the installation is complete!
3) Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Style Style Blue vB 4.1 sonlaol vBulletin 4.x Styles 3 24 Jan 2011 23:30
Black 'n Blue Style - Light Professional Style Winterworks Modification Graveyard 9 16 Apr 2009 13:39

  #511  
Old 22 Jan 2014, 01:52
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Say what? All they have to do is select View Background Image, when they right click, and then they can grab it from there, or am I missing something.
^ That is only if you do the edit to make the logo clickable. I did it so the titleimage var is used in the css in the background: definition so to make it clickable you remove the <vb:comment> code and the image it pulls is in fact a transparent image so if they right click they will be served up that image instead of the logo.

When I made this style I was thinking why make the logo clickable... we have the navbar it has a Forums tab it's right there on every page all the time but some do prefer it that way.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 22 Jan 2014, 21:18
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Any page that is long enough to make the side scroll bar appear, goes wide. (makes bottom scroll appear also).

I thought maybe I could fix it by cutting the background_top.png into narrow strips and change the appropriate code. That didn't work. I went to look at your demo and found that it is the same way. I'm running 1900x1080 resolution if that helps.

To get the desired affect of the glow in the original header, I used that same affect on the blue_avenger_logo.png. It all looks ok so I may suggest that rather than use that really wide header, use a 4 px wide one repeating instead. And place the affect on a blank logo with an additional psd file in your download. Or just make it optional.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 03:51
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
Any page that is long enough to make the side scroll bar appear, goes wide. (makes bottom scroll appear also).

I thought maybe I could fix it by cutting the background_top.png into narrow strips and change the appropriate code. That didn't work. I went to look at your demo and found that it is the same way. I'm running 1900x1080 resolution if that helps.

To get the desired affect of the glow in the original header, I used that same affect on the blue_avenger_logo.png. It all looks ok so I may suggest that rather than use that really wide header, use a 4 px wide one repeating instead. And place the affect on a blank logo with an additional psd file in your download. Or just make it optional.
Actually the idea about the glow on a different image is on par, what a good suggestion because I had added css code before to remove the scrollbar in X but when I resized the browser it would not allow you to move about as-intended so I removed it before release.

So your idea will be in the next revision .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 04:36
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Actually the idea about the glow on a different image is on par, what a good suggestion because I had added css code before to remove the scrollbar in X but when I resized the browser it would not allow you to move about as-intended so I removed it before release.

So your idea will be in the next revision .
Any idea how to get rid of the side scroll?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 05:33
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
Any idea how to get rid of the side scroll?
Do me a favor? See if the Fluid Demo is now fixed for you i.e. no scroll bar at bottom and no extra space on right now when viewing in 1920x1080 and let me know. For me it's fixed but I'd like another set of eyes on it if you don't mind.

If it's now gone then I bloody well fixed it lol and will revise the fluid version tomorrow and release the update .

Edit: Ok onemore revision, now check it. @12:38am GMT-5.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 23 Jan 2014 at 05:39.
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 11:32
glen290's Avatar
glen290 glen290 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Nice style, installed it today, have an issue though, the side blocks have scroll bars on them, how can I get rid of them ?
__________________
Bowl Uk The Bowlers choice for bowling chat
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 13:04
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
That is related to how you've modified the sidebar to show quotes as well quotes, it has nothing to do with this style however let's see if I can't help .

Using the link in your signature and changing styles I now see the issue, it could simply be the stylevar for the sidebar width.

AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Style Variable Editor > *Scroll to find: Sidebar > In that family of stylevars edit the top one which is forum_sidebar_width

Try increasing it from 270 in increments of 5 i.e. next try 275 as width, keep saving and refreshing until the sidebar block scrollbars are gone. The issue is the content within the sidebar blocks is wider than the allowed size (based on current width of 270+padding) and therefor adding in the scrollbar to ensure all content is displayed.

Alternatively you can add this to additional.css which should adjust that custom div class you have going (showing the quotes as quotes in the sidebar is the actual area making it too wide), you can do this by editing additional.css and adding this at the very bottom:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

margin-right is what we are adding here.

Let me know .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 23 Jan 2014 at 13:20.
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 16:46
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Here you go, saved you a bit of space with pnggauntlet.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Innovation_by_Instinct-Avenger_Blue-vB4.2.1-4.2.zip (1.97 MB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 20:31
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by final kaoss View Post
Here you go, saved you a bit of space with pnggauntlet.
I'll check these tonight and reply back once I do, should be good to go though and if so - THANKS .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 23 Jan 2014, 22:42
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Do me a favor? See if the Fluid Demo is now fixed for you i.e. no scroll bar at bottom and no extra space on right now when viewing in 1920x1080 and let me know. For me it's fixed but I'd like another set of eyes on it if you don't mind.

If it's now gone then I bloody well fixed it lol and will revise the fluid version tomorrow and release the update .

Edit: Ok onemore revision, now check it. @12:38am GMT-5.
Your sites fluid version looks good now. I don't run the fluid version. I'm in no hurry. The Grandkids are still here for a few more days so I can't spend much time on the pc anyway
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #521  
Old 24 Jan 2014, 00:15
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
Your sites fluid version looks good now. I don't run the fluid version. I'm in no hurry. The Grandkids are still here for a few more days so I can't spend much time on the pc anyway
Hmm try replacing your .ablogo definition in additional.css with this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

For me it's fixed and on the demo, this should sort yours and will be included in the next revision but let me know if otherwise .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #522  
Old 24 Jan 2014, 09:10
glen290's Avatar
glen290 glen290 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
That is related to how you've modified the sidebar to show quotes as well quotes, it has nothing to do with this style however let's see if I can't help .

Using the link in your signature and changing styles I now see the issue, it could simply be the stylevar for the sidebar width.

AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Style Variable Editor > *Scroll to find: Sidebar > In that family of stylevars edit the top one which is forum_sidebar_width

Try increasing it from 270 in increments of 5 i.e. next try 275 as width, keep saving and refreshing until the sidebar block scrollbars are gone. The issue is the content within the sidebar blocks is wider than the allowed size (based on current width of 270+padding) and therefor adding in the scrollbar to ensure all content is displayed.

Alternatively you can add this to additional.css which should adjust that custom div class you have going (showing the quotes as quotes in the sidebar is the actual area making it too wide), you can do this by editing additional.css and adding this at the very bottom:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

margin-right is what we are adding here.

Let me know .
Tried both of those and still the same, bit strange....
__________________
Bowl Uk The Bowlers choice for bowling chat
Reply With Quote
  #523  
Old 24 Jan 2014, 10:50
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Hmm try replacing your .ablogo definition in additional.css with this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

For me it's fixed and on the demo, this should sort yours and will be included in the next revision but let me know if otherwise .
It closed up the gap quite a bit. Looks like there is approx 15 to 20 pixels left but, shouldn't this issue be fixed so that minimum page width is at least somewhere around 1000 before a side scroll will appear?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #524  
Old 24 Jan 2014, 15:48
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
shouldn't this issue be fixed so that minimum page width is at least somewhere around 1000 before a side scroll will appear?
Yes, why yes it should but I'm being rather stubborn and want it to work my way - in the end I'll give in and do some type of fix .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #525  
Old 25 Jan 2014, 18:19
mitch84 mitch84 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I noticed some slowness on forumhome with scrolling, or it is only on my board?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: