Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[rellect] Automatic Products Update Check Details »
[rellect] Automatic Products Update Check
Mod Version: 2.0.0, by rellect (Coder) rellect is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 81
Released: 04 Feb 2012 Last Update: 01 Nov 2014 Downloads: 381
Supported Uses Plugins Translations  

Automatic Products Update Check

If you installed this mod, please "Mark as Installed".

Every forum owner installs quite many mods to improve the system and add necessary functions. What's important is to keep your mods updated to avoid issues and security bugs.
When time pass, you forget to check your mods. Sometimes it just too much effort to check each mod manually.

What's the solution?
An automatic process that will do that for you and inform you when you're running an old version.

Compatibility:
vBulleting 3: 3.6.0 and newer.
vBulleting 4: 4.0.0 and newer.

Installations:
You don't have to change anything in the templates/files, just upload the plugin and that's all.
AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]

History:
  • [04-02-12] v1.0:
    - First Release
  • [17-05-12] v1.5:
    - Added cache
    - New Settings: Enable/Disable, Cache time
    - Fixed the delay to load the admincp (checking for updates is now running in the background)
  • [01-11-14] v2.0:
    - Code optimization, get results from vb.org faster
    - No longer checking updates for disabled products

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp.jpg
Views:	811
Size:	109.7 KB
ID:	136302  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 03 Mar 2012, 15:45
kisanjong kisanjong is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by Emeralda View Post
This mod doesn't show anything if there are no updates either, right? Because I don't see anything.
The mod disappeared from my admin homepage once i updated the available updates.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03 Mar 2012, 15:47
Nirjonadda Nirjonadda is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Real name: Md Tajirul Islam
Installed...working on 4.1.10
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03 Mar 2012, 19:06
w8baby w8baby is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
hmm everytime i reload the front page, it takes well over 1min. is there anyway you can do it once a day?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04 Mar 2012, 07:52
nerowolfe nerowolfe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by w8baby View Post
hmm everytime i reload the front page, it takes well over 1min. is there anyway you can do it once a day?
Me too...uninstalled.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12 May 2012, 11:03
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
This is very useful, but should not be in the home page, it should be a link in the menu.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12 May 2012, 13:02
gremrock gremrock is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Great idea thanks for plug-in
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 17 May 2012, 17:26
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
New Version 1.5
- Added cache for faster loading of the page
- Settings added: hack active, cache time
- Page loaded much faster
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25 May 2012, 20:25
KEKforce KEKforce is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
is this 4.2 compatible?

Pre 4.2 it works just fine.. Now in 4.2 nothing shows up...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25 May 2012, 21:04
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by KEKforce View Post
is this 4.2 compatible?

Pre 4.2 it works just fine.. Now in 4.2 nothing shows up...
Yes it is. I'm running 4.2 and it works fine.
The reason it doesn't show anything may be the fact that all your mods are up-to-date. And remember that there is a cache process which runs once in a while.

To be sure it work:
1. Set the cache time to 0
2. Edit one of your mods and change the version to older value

Refresh the admincp home page couple times and see if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25 Sep 2012, 00:44
Black Tiger's Avatar
Black Tiger Black Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I'm running 3.8.x and not going to upgrade to vb4 or 5.

I've got this mod installed and I'm very pleased with it. However, at this point it's telling me that I've got older versions installed from plugins which are only newer for VB 4 and up.

Could you implement an option to "exclude" certain plugins from being checked?
__________________
Greetings, Black Tiger
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25 Sep 2012, 06:51
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by Black Tiger View Post
I'm running 3.8.x and not going to upgrade to vb4 or 5.

I've got this mod installed and I'm very pleased with it. However, at this point it's telling me that I've got older versions installed from plugins which are only newer for VB 4 and up.

Could you implement an option to "exclude" certain plugins from being checked?
Yes I can, but it probably will take a while till I get the time to work on this.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25 Sep 2012, 12:32
Black Tiger's Avatar
Black Tiger Black Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
That's no problem, thank you already for considering it!
__________________
Greetings, Black Tiger
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27 Sep 2012, 06:33
majjed2008 majjed2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hi

After installing it I get this error , then I tray to uninstall it but I dont fined it in my products at all .

here is the error :
Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in [path]/admincp/index.php(949) : eval()'d code on line 105
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27 Sep 2012, 09:58
rellect's Avatar
rellect rellect is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Refael Iliaguyev
Originally Posted by majjed2008 View Post
Hi

After installing it I get this error , then I tray to uninstall it but I dont fined it in my products at all .

here is the error :
Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in [path]/admincp/index.php(949) : eval()'d code on line 105
Try just refresh, it should fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19 Oct 2013, 21:46
Gadget_Guy Gadget_Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
An update....

It still reports that a plugin has an update even though I have deleted (uninstalled) that plugin.

How do I go about removing that notice from the list?

D.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: