Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
New Image Tag to reduce Imagesize
utw-Mephisto
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 648

by utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline 14 Aug 2005

I had this done with Deaths with version 3.0.7 but it applies here as well of course.

This is not really professional but ey, it works for me

To post an image you usually use [IMG].

You can create another tag, let's say [IMGO] for oversized images.

Go to your admincp

Admincp => Custom BB Codes => Add New BB Code

Title : Whatever you want
Tag : imgo
Replacement : <a href="{param}" target="_blank"><img border="0" width="400" alt="Thumb resize." src="{param}" /></a>
Example : [imgo]http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/7499/gibraltar12804sx.jpg[/imgo] (you need an example otherwise it will displays only the link)
Description : Whatever you want
Use {option} : No
Button Image (Optional) : Well, optional

As I said, it is not the best, professional one, but usefull. The dark side of that one is when using with picture smaller than 400 pixel width It'll be resized also ....

Original Post / Version 3.0.7
Views: 6795
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Aug 2005, 01:07
TCM TCM is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 3.6.8
Uh.... the height remains, so the image will be disorted. 'cause it's client-side, they'll still download the full filesize of the full image, which defeats the purpose of thumbnails in many applications. What's the point?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Aug 2005, 07:27
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
The point is to avoid the forum being disorted (optic wise) ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Aug 2005, 17:50
Jenta Jenta is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by TCM
Uh.... the height remains, so the image will be disorted. 'cause it's client-side, they'll still download the full filesize of the full image, which defeats the purpose of thumbnails in many applications. What's the point?
ive been using something similar for years and the images dont distort at all without a height attribute


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by Jenta; 23 Aug 2005 at 17:53.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Aug 2005, 08:50
Brinnie's Avatar
Brinnie Brinnie is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
It's "Dimensions"... Not filesize. Get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 Aug 2005, 16:01
ggiersdorf ggiersdorf is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by Jenta
ive been using something similar for years and the images dont distort at all without a height attribute


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
where do you put that Jenta?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Aug 2005, 16:04
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by ggiersdorf
where do you put that Jenta?
At "Replacement" ....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Aug 2005, 17:22
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Wayne
Originally Posted by TCM
Uh.... the height remains, so the image will be disorted. 'cause it's client-side, they'll still download the full filesize of the full image, which defeats the purpose of thumbnails in many applications. What's the point?
Actually, this is a common technique. If you only specify one dimensional attribute, the browser will automatically scale the other to match.
__________________
Wayne Luke
Get started with your own social network. Purchase and download vBulletin today.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11 Sep 2005, 20:42
ricker ricker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Cool! Thanks for sharing.
__________________
:cheeky: My Jeep Rocks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11 Sep 2005, 22:58
Allan's Avatar
Allan Allan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Real name: allan
Thanks you for sharing
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Administrator vBulletin-Ressources.com, French vBulletin Resources.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:07
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Actually, this is a common technique. If you only specify one dimensional attribute, the browser will automatically scale the other to match.
Really? That's useful, and I didn't know that
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Oct 2005, 06:46
Ryan McBain's Avatar
Ryan McBain Ryan McBain is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Ask your mother
So what's the right way to do this step by step? I can't get this to work. When I do it, all I see is broken code and red X.
__________________
Ryan McBain
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14 Oct 2005, 23:17
Ryan McBain's Avatar
Ryan McBain Ryan McBain is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Ask your mother
anyone?
__________________
Ryan McBain
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15 Oct 2005, 02:12
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I put all the details in the first post which are running since vb3.5 RC1 on ut2007world.com ...

Be sure you have also insert an example, otherwise it won't work ..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15 Oct 2005, 03:13
PennylessZ28 PennylessZ28 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
How can I just replace the standard IMG tags with this?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: