Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[OzzModz] First Post On All Pages Per Thread/Forum Details »
[OzzModz] First Post On All Pages Per Thread/Forum
Mod Version: 1.1.1, by ozzy47 (Member) ozzy47 is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (16 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 69
Released: 27 Dec 2013 Last Update: 14 Oct 2014 Downloads: 227
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Translations  

Another mod brought to you by,


Here is a small modification you can use to the first post on all pages, per forum or by thread id.

It is a simple installation, just import the product XML, ozzmodz_firstpost_display

You can edit the options under the settings, [OzzModz] First Post Display Settings

Complete Feature List
  • Option to disable the mod completely.
  • Option to choose which forums, will show the first post on all pages.
  • Option to set which thread ID's, will show the first post on all pages.
  • Option to use the default postbit template, or use a custom one, which will allow you to add different styling to the elements.
  • Option to select which usergroups this mod will affect.
Frequently Asked Questions.

Q. Why do I need such a thing, you ask?

A. You may have a thread that has tens or hundreds of pages, and this will allow you to see the original post on all pages, much like you see here on vB.org in the modification threads.

Q. How do I use the custom template?

A. Note: Make sure you know what you are doing if you attempt this!
This may be a bit tricky for some users.

You can copy what ever template you are using, ( postbit or postbit_legacy ) into the template, ozzmodz_firstpost_display_postbit.
Now once you have done that, you can change the styling of the post, by adding css to the elements.
For example, if you want the first post to have a different background, when it is on any other page except for the first page, you can look for this in the template,

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and change it to this,

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That will give the first post a dark grey background on any pages other than the first page.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified whenever new updates are available.

* For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps me know how many people are using my work, giving me extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

I appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* History (Changelog) *
-------------------------
v1.0.0 (December 27, 2013)
- Initial public release
v1.0.1 (December 28,2013)
Fixed a issue where you could only choose one forum, now you can choose multiple forums.
v1.1.0 (January 26,2014)
Fixed a issue where the custom option would not work in some instances.
v1.1.1 (October 14,2014)
Fixed a incorrect phrase in one of the settings.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	first post 1.jpg
Views:	584
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	147672   Click image for larger version

Name:	first post 2.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	147673  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements [OzzModz] Post New Thread Button In Posts ozzy47 Modification Graveyard 36 05 Feb 2015 11:38
Mini Mods [OzzModz] Welcome Thread / Post For New Users ozzy47 Modification Graveyard 293 22 Dec 2014 09:22
Mini Mods [OzzModz] Welcome Thread / Post For New Users ozzy47 Modification Graveyard 27 13 Sep 2014 18:32

  #46  
Old 03 Apr 2014, 04:17
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Glad ya like it, and thanks for marking as installed.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08 Apr 2014, 13:49
KTAS KTAS is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Hi Ozzy, it's me again...

While it's a plugin idea, it's based on same purpose of your plugin.

Let's say i need to keep first post along with some other important posts always on top ? Like a moderation tool. You select some posts in xx pages of thread and keep them always on top like first first idea.

I'm happy with the plugin, but it'd be cool to select some posts in thread and keep them at top instead of merging posts of different users.

Cheers and Best Regards
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 18 Apr 2014, 09:01
krimznheidiz krimznheidiz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
There is an error show " The following dependencies were not met:
This product is not compatible with version 5.3.28 of PHP. (Compatible starting with 5.4.0)"
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 24 Apr 2014, 14:13
HM666's Avatar
HM666 HM666 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Real name: Len Kaiser
It works fine for me but I have one problem. I cannot make the first post have a different color no matter what I do. I've tried using the postbit template code, I've tried using the postbit_legacy template code, I've tried adding my own div class in the additional.css template and then changing it in the ozz template to no avail.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 15 Jul 2014, 14:40
vietdotseo vietdotseo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
How about duplicate meta descriptions in page 1 and another pages when use first post all page?
//sorry my english
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 12:19
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by vietdotseo View Post
How about duplicate meta descriptions in page 1 and another pages when use first post all page?
//sorry my english
Not really sure, I have not looked into that at all.

But I doubt it hurts, as on this site, all the mod threads and style threads have the first post on all pages.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.

Last edited by ozzy47; 19 Jul 2014 at 13:12.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 13:16
vietdotseo vietdotseo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Not really sure, I have not looked into that at all.

But I doubt it hurts, as on this site, all the mod threads and style threads have the first post on all pages.
On vbulletin.org, descripton at page 2:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

at page 3
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

....

You can see in attachments (at your webiste)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (39.3 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (39.7 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 7.jpg (42.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 14:07
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Same thing happens on all threads in vBulletin, look at this thread, http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=162335

First page of the thread:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Last page of the thread:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 14:39
vietdotseo vietdotseo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Same thing happens on all threads in vBulletin, look at this thread, http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=162335

First page of the thread:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Last page of the thread:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
their meta description are different!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 14:42
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Only difference I see is the page number in the description.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 15:07
vietdotseo vietdotseo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Only difference I see is the page number in the description.
Because vbulletin use title for description, not use post content. But, they different, and google like that!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 15:09
BasicGreatGuy BasicGreatGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I just installed. I have the forums set that I want it to show in, along with the appropriate user groups to be able to view, and none of the existing threads are showing first post.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 15:13
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by BasicGreatGuy View Post
I just installed. I have the forums set that I want it to show in, along with the appropriate user groups to be able to view, and none of the existing threads are showing first post.
Not sure why, if you pm me a admin account, I can try and troubleshoot it on your site.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 15:15
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by vietdotseo View Post
Because vbulletin use title for description, not use post content. But, they different, and google like that!
Not to sure what I could change in the mod to make it different.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 19 Jul 2014, 15:36
BasicGreatGuy BasicGreatGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Not sure why, if you pm me a admin account, I can try and troubleshoot it on your site.
Thank you for the reply. The powers that be (above me) would not like me issuing temp admin account, unfortunately.

Our site uses postbit legacy. Does that make a difference?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:29.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: