Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod) Details »
Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod)
Mod Version: 0.90, by andrefedalto (Member) andrefedalto is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.2 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 85
Released: 21 Dec 2005 Last Update: 23 Dec 2005 Downloads: 367
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Hi you there. I was looking for a really nice Banner Rotator Mod, but i couldn't find one that had what i need. So i decided to code one. Finished it right now and i'll share with you.

So, what does this hack do?
- This mod allows you to add lots of forum banners.
- The banners will be automatically randomized everytime you reload your forums.

How can i work with it?
- It's all controlable through AdminCP.
- NOT NEEDED ftp access to upload banners.
- You CAN upload banners (jpg, gif & png) through AdminCP.
- You can set a description for individual banners.
- You can edit the description easily and individually.
- You can delete the banners through AdminCP (this function delete the banner from the ftp)
- You can activate/deactivate you banners.
- Deactivated banners remains in the ftp, but will not be shown on forum home.

How can i install? (Time to install: 1 minute if you are fast enough )
- Upload all the files contained in the "upload" folder inside the zip to your forum root directory and CHMOD 77 the folder "/image/banners"
- Install product-brotator.
- Go to your AdminCP > Style Manager > YOUR SKIN > Edit HEADER template and find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


You can change banner width and height editing the plugin called "Banner Rotator Generator" and changing the values:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

for your own values.

I really hope you enjoy this hack and, please, if you find any kind of bug, report it to me as soon as possible.
And if you have any suggestions, post here.

Thanks you all!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_add.JPG
Views:	1271
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	39764   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_delete.JPG
Views:	1637
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	39765   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_edit.JPG
Views:	1506
Size:	161.9 KB
ID:	39766   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_show.JPG
Views:	1565
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	39767  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod) **UPDATED** andrefedalto vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 279 29 Aug 2011 16:30
Miscellaneous Hacks Banner Rotator andrefedalto vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 236 11 Mar 2011 01:05

  #31  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 01:00
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by Aerovive1
Got it. Now isn't there an option to insert a URL to the individual banners?
what do you mean? to use banners hosted outside your host?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 01:03
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I mean...when I installed this I thought it would be a banner rotator, where you can rotate different banners and specifiy a different url for each banner...

Right now it's jsut a picture rotating with no url...i want to link to different places with my banners...
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 01:05
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by Aerovive1
I mean...when I installed this I thought it would be a banner rotator, where you can rotate different banners and specifiy a different url for each banner...

Right now it's jsut a picture rotating with no url...i want to link to different places with my banners...
to add a link to the image and another link, so when you click the image you will be redirected to the second link?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 01:18
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
no i just want to add a single link to each individual banner...

Right now I see no field to do this
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 02:35
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by Aerovive1
no i just want to add a single link to each individual banner...

Right now I see no field to do this
just did an update for ya... didnt test, but i dont think anything is wrong..

added field for input link.

Just download the attachement, reupload banner_rotator.php and reinstall product-brotator.xml

that should work for you
Attached Files
File Type: zip brotator.zip (3.4 KB, 43 views)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 02:50
JsnakeJ JsnakeJ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Jake
This reminds me of the Banner & Ads hack for vBulletin 3.0.X, I may try it out and see if I like it.

Just wondering, does this only work in the header?
__________________
My Site: Dungeon Empire
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 02:57
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by JsnakeJ
This reminds me of the Banner & Ads hack for vBulletin 3.0.X, I may try it out and see if I like it.

Just wondering, does this only work in the header?
anywhere you put the code $banner will show up the banner
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 03:08
JsnakeJ JsnakeJ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Jake
Nifty.

* JsnakeJ clicks install.

Can you edit the one with links to allow images that you link to? I don't care for it uploading them to my server much.
__________________
My Site: Dungeon Empire

Last edited by JsnakeJ; 27 Dec 2005 at 03:13.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 03:30
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by JsnakeJ
Nifty.

* JsnakeJ clicks install.

Can you edit the one with links to allow images that you link to? I don't care for it uploading them to my server much.
also didnt tested.
This one allows you to insert a link instead of uploading the banner in your host.

Try it out and tell us if works
Attached Files
File Type: zip brotator.zip (3.1 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 03:58
JsnakeJ JsnakeJ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Jake
Few things need fixed.

Change it to 'Link to Banner'.
Add size forms and remove the part to automatically make it header sized.

Other than that it works perfect.
__________________
My Site: Dungeon Empire

Last edited by JsnakeJ; 27 Dec 2005 at 04:03.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 05:55
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Awesome mate. Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 28 Dec 2005, 23:32
JsnakeJ JsnakeJ is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Jake
Update to this hack where it has the latest replied version just language modified a small bit and set for 468x60 images.
Attached Files
File Type: zip brotator.zip (4.1 KB, 30 views)
__________________
My Site: Dungeon Empire
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 29 Dec 2005, 02:46
kpr's Avatar
kpr kpr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Kevin
So now can this be used as an advertising banner hack for rottating different banners
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 29 Dec 2005, 15:26
lazytown lazytown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Would be nice if this could somehow work with Google Adwords (rotating banners with google)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 16:34
Sinistra's Avatar
Sinistra Sinistra is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
How can you change the forum root directory from forum to your root site directory.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: