Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Image Status Checker / Dead Image Finder Details »
Image Status Checker / Dead Image Finder
Mod Version: 1.02, by bairy (Member) bairy is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.7 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 33
Released: 16 Aug 2006 Last Update: 27 Dec 2006 Downloads: 176
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files  

Note this hack works with vb3.6


What does this do?
It scans all your posts, extracts all the img tags, and scans each of the images to see if they're still valid.


Why?
I had a look at all the images on my site and was alarmed at how many were now gone - deleted from photobucket accounts etc. Since the only way you can check the images on your board is to manually read every post, I decided to come up with a better way... and this is it.


How does it work?
The first part: In the AdminCP, under Maintenance and Update Counters... right at the bottom is this hack. It works by looking up every img tag, then requesting the image, and reading the http status code. So code 200 means 'image ok', 404/410 means 'image gone' etc. That then gets stored in a database table. A server has 15 seconds to reply to the request or the status is labelled as "Unknown"
The second part: The browsing element, imagestatuscheck.php (original filename huh!). This allows you to browse all the images found in the last scan using some powerful filtering (statuses to display, search, order by).


Hack features
  • General
  • Fully phrased.
  • Templates are grouped. Who's online handled.
  • Part 1 - Admin
  • Reads the post table, scans all the [img] tags on demand and records the actual http status code returned.
  • If it gets stuck during the scan, you can restart the section it's currently doing.
  • If an image appears in more than one post, it's only checked once.
  • Start from, per page and timeout options for scanning.
  • Part 2 - Browser
  • Status codes are put into one of three descriptions for simplicity: Working, Dead, Unknown. Unknown is if the server didn't respond or similar - on the basis that a temporary timeout doesn't necessarily mean the image has gone.
  • In the browser, image urls are force wrapped. Unless people post using all caps, you have a low screen resolution, or the font size is big, the table should never stretch.
  • Filtering allows you to show just the working/dead/unknown images, and there's a search facility for a variety of fields.
  • Convenient link to edit the post (if a dead link is found). This works by can_moderate - edit links only appear for people who own the post, or can moderate the forum it's in.
  • Works by canview - if someone can't view a particular forum (e.g. staff forum) normally, they can't view the images within it.
  • Uses css for common stuff to reduce the size of the outputted pages.


Bad Things
It's far from a perfect hack, there are many things to do. Please be aware that I won't be doing them, but if anyone else wants a crack, feel free!
  • Only supports http://, not https://
  • Can only handle replies like: HTTP 1.x 200 as the first line.
  • Only supports [img] tags. If you have HTML turned on in any forums it won't see <img src=> images.
  • Biggie: There's no way to update a single post or image without a full re-scan. That means if someone edits their post to update or remove a dead link, it will not change on the browser until a full re-scan is done. I did play with various update methods but most are flawed in one way or another. A planned feature will be to update the table dynamically whenever a post is made, edited or deleted, and on demand using a link.
  • No cron job.
  • No session variables. (People without cookies will be logged out a lot).


Footnotes
Originally I planned to throw something together quickly just for me to use but it turned into a "I may as well make a nice interface... oh and I may as well put some filtering controls in and I ..."


A [url] link checker can be found here


Installation
Upload imagestatuscheck.php to your vB directory. Install the product, set overwrite to yes.


Customizing
  • By default it's set to only allow moderators, super-moderators and administrators to view the browser. This can be changed with the setting in AdminCP > vB Options.
  • The phrases all start with ics_ if you want to change them.
  • You can add a link to imagestatuschecker.php on the navbar (or anywhere) if you want your members to be able to view it.


Screenies
Shot 1 is AdminCP during scan
Shot 2 is a typical Browser section output
Shot 3 is no results output


Changelog
See attached file for specific changes.
1.00 - 16th August 06
1.01 - 17th August 06
1.02 - 27th December 06

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	807
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	52233   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	726
Size:	83.6 KB
ID:	52234   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	520
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	52235  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 20 Nov 2007, 03:50
mystic10 mystic10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
This Might Be Silly But I Am Confused On What To Do I Have Installed Everything And Clicked On Scan Links...after It Did Scan It Took Me Back To Scan Links..but Where Did The Data Go And How Can I Correct Broken Links Or Dupicated Links...please Guide
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 18:54
compuminus compuminus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
This image link checker is a wonderful idea and framework, but it does not work at all right now in vB 3.8. I've tried to tweak the settings to get it to work, but had not success with the following errors:

(1) All status fields beyond the first group defined by GPC['percycle'] are listed as "duplicate / dealt with" and a status code of "000" is entered into the imagestatus database

(2) If GPC['percycle'] is set larger than the number of imageurl entries, then all status codes are entered into the imagestatus table correctly. However, at the very end of the scan nearly all status entries are somehow reset to "000"

(3) If the update counters maintenance script is terminated just prior to completion (and GPC['percycle'] is set larger than the number of imageurl entries), then the imagestatus database has correct status entries in all fields (except those which were not yet checked prior to script termination). However, upon visiting the imagestatuscheck.php page and searching for dead links, all status codes in the imagestatus database are again reset to"000".

Overall, something is happening at the end of the code that inadvertently resets all status fields to "000" in the database. It seems like a very simple code change would fix all of this. If anyone can help diagnose this it would be great.

Last edited by compuminus; 14 Feb 2009 at 04:49.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 03:19
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
This would be great to have working on vb 3.8
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 12:02
ForYou ForYou is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hello ,

Is there a possibility to delete the image directly without reference to the post ,

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 17 Feb 2009, 12:20
ForYou ForYou is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hello ,

There are a lot of pictures, starting with WWW, but not with http and this indicates that it does not exist Is it possible to fix this
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 13 Mar 2009, 10:04
RedHacker RedHacker is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
This work in 3.8.1....?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07 Feb 2011, 11:43
Kolbi's Avatar
Kolbi Kolbi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Matthias
Is the possibility given that someone can update it to get it workable with vB4?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 20 Sep 2013, 04:33
TundraSoul TundraSoul is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Originally Posted by Kolbi View Post
Is the possibility given that someone can update it to get it workable with vB4?
Agreed this so needs to be updated for vB4!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: