Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
First post on every page of thread. Details »
First post on every page of thread.
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by vBintense (Member) vBintense is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2007 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (10 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 351
Released: 05 Aug 2005 Last Update: 09 Aug 2005 Downloads: 1547
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins  

I had a use for it, so I thought I would share it.

Requires no file edits (Thanks Kirby!).
Adds no quarys when viewing threads

This is something like here on vbulletin.org , it allows you to select forums where the first post of the thread is shown thru out the thread.

It uses stock template looks now , if someone wishes to make a template and share it feel free.

I will offer support as I can.

Ps. If you install this hack please click the install :nervous:

Templates for first post:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=124
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=161

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:35
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
The file edit can't be done via a plug-in?

Last edited by Boofo; 06 Aug 2005 at 12:24.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:37
vBintense's Avatar
vBintense vBintense is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
None that I have found effective. If you look at the showthread.php you will find no hooks inbetween where it 'has' to be called with out adding a quary.

So I went with this option one line of code adding is better then one quary
__________________
Work Hard, Play Harder.
Happy Clients Client 1
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:38
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Maybe Kirby will come to the rescue.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:39
vBintense's Avatar
vBintense vBintense is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
/me hides from the all knowing Kirby

But I still think one line added is not too bad, yet if someone can offer a more viable solution using hooks I am willing to listen.
__________________
Work Hard, Play Harder.
Happy Clients Client 1

Last edited by vBintense; 06 Aug 2005 at 04:42.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:42
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
No, sir, it isn't bad at all. But no file edits are even better.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:43
vBintense's Avatar
vBintense vBintense is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by Boofo
No, sir, it isn't bad at all. But no file edits are even better.
Yes, I agree but no added quary owns all
__________________
Work Hard, Play Harder.
Happy Clients Client 1
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:44
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Did you really think I wouldn't be ready for this? LOL

But no added query and no file eidt is the best!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:46
vBintense's Avatar
vBintense vBintense is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
/me kicks boofo out of my thread until he clicks intall !!!

I did look though , I may be blind but I could not find a way not to edit the file
__________________
Work Hard, Play Harder.
Happy Clients Client 1
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 04:51
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
And there may ne no way around it. But if there is a way, Kirby is the one who will find it.

/me will install when the file edit gets taken care of or Kirby can't find a way to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 05:10
vBintense's Avatar
vBintense vBintense is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
/me looks for the all knowing Kirby to point him into this thread
__________________
Work Hard, Play Harder.
Happy Clients Client 1
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 05:27
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
/me clicks install because I will use this later. File edit or not
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 08:14
chanhlinh chanhlinh is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Thanks a lot! You're my Hero
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 16:10
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Guess what, I hate File Edits

Hook: showthread_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This does show the first Post on all Pages. However, if it has attachments they will only be shown on the first Page.
Don't think there is a way to get this working too without a File Edit, but i'll take a further look.

Last edited by KirbyDE; 06 Aug 2005 at 16:14.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 16:13
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Guess what, I hate File Edits

Hook: showthread_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
KirbyDE to the rescue!!!!!!one

damm, almost
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.

Last edited by Logikos; 06 Aug 2005 at 16:16.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06 Aug 2005, 16:45
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
After looking over the Code for a while, I found a solution that also works for Attachments

Hook: showthread_post_start

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Hook: showthread_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

What it does:
By unsetting $thread['attach'] in showthread_post_start, the original $attachments query will not be executed.
Then the Plugin on showthread_query runs this Query - with the Postid for the First Post and then restores the original Value for further processing.

Last edited by KirbyDE; 06 Aug 2005 at 17:00.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: